We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barkly Homestead

Certificate of Excellence
Corner of Barkly & Tablelands Highways | Barkly Tablelands, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barkly Homestead
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    69
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
67
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We drove here from Mataranka, and unfortunately arrived at peak arrival hour. What a disaster, the staff just could not cope with the influx. Its find your own site, and all are drive through. We parked near the generator, and a small ablution block. The generator was surprisingly quiet, and no trouble at all. There was grass beside the van,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not to be put off by the word "Roadhouse", we stayed overnight and really enjoyed our stopover. Stayed in a Motel Room which was very clean and nicely decorated, restaurant was excellent, food was good plus a good selection and the staff very friendly. Would stop there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This stopover was at the pricey end for a powered site at $35 per night. However the first thing that you encounter at the check-in is a notice explaining that they have to generate their own power which incurs a high cost. This is reflected in everything from accommodation to fuel. Having said this, if you need a break from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed overnight with no expectations as it is the only a com for miles. Great surprise with very neat park layout, a pool, very clean showers and toilets. We dined in for tea and the meals was excellent. Great staff who were friendly and courteous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here twice on our trip to Darwin, once on the way up and once on the way back. Being in a sedan we rely on a motel type set up to get a shower, some dinner and a sleep. We had the same room both times, it was modern and clean. Dinner was very tasty which is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You would have to make some allowances for a place so remote but the motel is really very good. Mozzies are a little problem but apart from that there is little to complain about. The food is good and the atmosphere is too. The only place in our 8,000km trip where we couldn't get a Chia Latte though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are friendly and check-in is easy, good size drive through sites and amenities and the site rates are reasonable. At some time during the evening a very strong sewage smell spreads throughout the whole area, I don't know if this happens daily but it is enough to lower my rating. However with not a lot of choice in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst last night one could hope for in the NT. Staff and food were ok, but the manager after bringing an issue to his attention was little less than an unprofessional bully. After over 30 years in tourism, and 4 in the NT, I was disgusted at his display. I no doubt will expect a similar badly written reply... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Of course I am going to reply to such a horrible review. I think firstly you made no mention of what actually occurred. You were walking your German Shepherd dog at 10pm at night without a lead through our caravan park that was full of guests. You got into an argument with another guest who according to you called you... More 

Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the second time recently, great place for an overnight camp after a long day travelling. We had an unpowered site $24 for 2 adults. Showers and toilets are really tidy. Few mozzies around but overall good place. Will stop there again. Had tea at the pub and the meal was lovely and didn't take long at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your kind review and I am glad you found everything a good standard. There have been a few mozzies this week but they don't usually last long. We hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After hours of travelling we stopped here for fuel which is reasonably priced for where it's is. Front counter staff where very helpful ,friendly and polite. The manager took us to our site also.But after plugging into power we found no power so the manager took us to another site. Abulations where very clean and tidy.Dont about Internet as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am very glad the staff we friendly and polite as they should be. The bollard you plugged into had a faulty breaker so that is now fixed. I hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
106.6 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#1 of 4 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
106.8 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#1 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Barkly Homestead

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities