We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Tennant Creek accommodations

Barkly Homestead

Save Saved
You added Barkly Homestead to your Saves list
Barkly Highway, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Barkly Homestead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
37
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we found the caravan park (We had a van ) to be as good as most places we have stayed in the outback. It has drive through, shaded spots and we experienced the normal friendly travelers in the park. It's not 5 star, but with hot showers, bar & restaurant it was restful and relaxing. If you need 5. Star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a Motel room. Wow! This was one of the best motel rooms we stayed in during our trip from Tamworth. Very clean, large and well equipped. Air was on when we arrived which was a great touch by the staff. Price is reasonable as everything is run on diesel generators (500 litres per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nowra, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely camp spot at the Barkly Homestead, sat in the sun outside our campervan enjoying a lovely sunset. had a fantastic hot shower, thanks for good water pressure !! followed by a great meal in the bar with live music. Really enjoyed our stay while we travelled from Cairns to Darwin last month.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I travel extensively by motor home throughout Australia and we stayed here in 2011 and liked the place so much that we know we would be back. The place has not changed at all in 3 years and from our point of view that is a good thing. The staff were and are very friendly and accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It's nice to hear from another return customer. We have made many changes in the past few years. We continue to expand our gardens and many renovations have taken place such as the addition of our beer garden and upgrades to our bar and grill. Our shower blocks have been renovated and there is an... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Van sites are good drive through plenty of room amenities ok. Food was cold drinks were ok. There was no water in morning so toilets were all blocked up had to wait for shower. Trucks and buses leaving wake you up early not enough staff on in morning to server breakfast had to wait log time just to get coffee.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise for running out of water. This is due to a temporary issue we are having with our water treatment infrastructure and we are in the process of rectifying this. In any case, when there is an interruption to our water supply there is a delay of no more... More

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Barkly Homestead was neat and welcoming to the eye with galahs chorusing in the trees. The staff were friendly and the food fine. The motel room looked clean and tidy. I was awoken by what, I think, would have been possums, running up an down on the verandah roof which continued intermittently for several hours. Three helicopters separately passed over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a poor nights sleep and that you were bitten by something. This happens in the outback unfortunately and is out of our control. I am unsure what 3 helicopters would be doing flying during the night, this was possibly road trains passing by on the highway? Due to 2 years... More

Cooma, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have travelled from Sothern NSW to Darwin twice for work. The first trip to Darwin, I was told by a friend to make sure you plan your trip to stay at Barkly, I am glad I took this advice. I have stayed at Barkly four times now and highly recommend it to all travellers. I have stayed in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for recommending us as a good stop over. I am pleased you found everything to be of a high standard. We appreciate the return business and look forward to the next time you stay with us. More

Brisbane
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited Barkly Homestead this week, and were pleasantly surprised! The room slept 4, and it was clean. No smoky smell.... Dinner at the roadhouse was delicious!! Breakfast was delicious too. There are also great books to buy!! The only sad thing was that the merlo coffee beans hadn't arrived as yet!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We apologise for the coffee beans having run out. We had a problem with delivery and the merlot coffee is very popular so unfortunately the date you stayed was very bad timing. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Barkly Homestead a few weeks back and I have to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The food was absolutely delicious and of high quality. I had the atlantic salmon which was cooked to perfection and my husband had the barkly burger which he highly recommends. The front house is currently run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the valuable feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals you had at the bar and grill. I will pass on your compliments to the staff who will be very appreciative. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It had been many years since we stayed at the Barkly, on our way to a wedding in Mt Isa. We were very impressed with the standard and made sure we told everyone we ran into, that this was the pick of roadhouses in the NT. Finally someone has the savvy to cleanup a roadhouse and make the most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic compliments. It is appreciated so much by everyone here at the Barkly who all work so hard to make this a great place for people to stay. While being remote and dealing with generated power, bore water, extreme temperatures etc are not an excuse for poor performance it is really nice that you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Barkly Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Barkly Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkly Homestead

Address: Barkly Highway, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barkly Homestead is situated 220km east of Tennant Creek on the Barkly Highway. The Homestead offers a variety of services including fuel, excellent accomodation and fantastic bar and grill. It is a welcome stopover on the long journey across the Barkly Highway. A true oasis in the desert. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer