We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OutBack Caravan Park

71 Peko Road, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
OutBack Caravan Park
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    38
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here overnight and whilst the grounds are in need of some maintenance the staff and range of facilities were good. Sites are reasonably shady. A private bar for guests and entertainment are provided. Decent basic vanpark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hello Ozplanman Thank you for the review. The staff are always cheerful and try to help out where ever they can with guests requirements. The shady sites are nice and all of our sites are long enough that you dont have to unhitch in any of our sites. Thanks again Safe travels Leah and Matt More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You will find drive through sites, clean amenities, friendly staff, away from main highway and trucks. Whilst not the newest of parks, this is comfortable, safe park to stay in. Fuel is available and an adequate mini mart is available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi Mumjudy Your review sums us up nicely. We are happy you stopped and checked out Tennant Creek as a community. Thank you for writing a review Safe travels Leah and Matt More 

Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious sites. The amenities were more than adequate. There was a fund-raiser barbecue the night we were there and it was a good opportunity to meet fellow travellers. It is out of town, so was quiet. Jimmy's show, a combination of bush poetry and the sampling bush tucker, was well worth the $5. Unfortunately, few attended on the Friday night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi Dianne Thank you for your review. Jimmy is Great! Our Friday night footy, fundraiser BBQ'S are a good fun. Happy Travels Leah and Matt More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Over our 6 weeks away this was the worst value for money accommodation, we had rooms in 5 star resorts that were cheaper and obviously better appointed. Anyway these are a very basic cabin, clean but only just bigger than a caravan and did we mention $149 per night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Poor value for money compared to other places we stayed at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi John We are sorry we weren't 5 star to you, but we are only 3.5 star rated. But thank you for mentioning that our cabins are clean. Enjoy the remainder of your trip Leah and Matt More 

Seymour, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This park is classed as 4 stars.... and the showers and toilets are plentiful even tho they need updating, the grounds need a lot of work. I know times are dry but there are things that need doing. ............

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hello Sorry we did not meet your expectations this time round. We are currently rated at 3 stars for the caravan park accommodation. We are constantly taking on feedback and improving our facilities for park guests. Hopefully next visit you might have a change of mind Safe travels Leah and Matt More 

Banora Point, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One night stopover in a cabin which was clean and met all of our expectations. Clean, functional and secure. 6 washing machines in laundry and s-steel clothesline and happy hour at the bar shouldn't be missed. The cabin may not be Hilton standard but there's more important things than designer appointments. After being on the road for 2 hours after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi Allan We are happy to help, nobody likes to see holiday's on hold. Thank you for your review, hopefully we will see you both at happy hour again one day. Enjoy the rest of your trip Leah and Matt More 

Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights in peak season. This park is nicely located off the main street although the cabins are a bit cheek by jowl. Also not cheap, and cabin was a bit alarming at first sight, just a box with door and windows. Table and chairs outside in the dust, but verandah or at least an awning would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your detailed review, you have outlined some great points for the Tennant Creek and us.. We like to keep our amenities clean and tidy for our park guests Tennant Creek is most definitely worth a night's stop over! Thank you for taking the time to write a review Safe travels Leah and Matt More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cabin badly needs TLC and some love, it's clean, but shabby No bedside tables,MCW just dumped on luggage rack! No plug other than A/C near it , only soap in Bathroom rules written up all over the walls, Older woman in reception is another person who should not be let near the public. Snapped at question I asked, re... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi. Sorry about your not so great experience with us. Our cabins are always work in progress and are getting some renovations completed as we speak. We try really hard to make every guest's stay a good one but we cant please everybody all the time. Thank you for writing a review Safe travels Leah and Matt More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very appealing park with good amenities for all types of travellers. Located in an ideal spot close to all facilities. Visiting bush poet Jimmy Hooker performance is an experience travellers should not miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi Les Thank you for your review. Everybody loves Jimmy's show his a real character, well worth the $5.00 fee. Our park dose have everything you need to be comfortable for your stay. We hope to see you next time your in the area Kind Regards Leah and Matt More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a month whilst working inTennant. Excellent facilities wonderful staff, happy hour at bar every evening Cabins serviced weekly, fitted out very well, self contained Laundry very clean Well done Han,Leah &Penny

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this review

Hi Ruth Thanks for the review. You are very welcome, we all hope to see you again one day. Enjoy lovely Mackay QLD From all the staff More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
0.5 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#1 of 4 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#1 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities