We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground

Certificate of Excellence
Gorge Rd | Nitmiluk National Park, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two couples, 1 night staying in a clean, aircon lovely chalet (cottage) We hadn't stayed in this style of accomodation before and I think we were all surprised in how good this place really was. Good pool with a bar & well cooked meals. Friendly & fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Just spent a night in the chalet at Nitmiluk national park. Great setup there. It was just a little jayco unit with a small living area, small but well appointed bedroom and a nice little ensuite and was spotlessly clean. There was even a little dolce gusto coffee machine. We brought our own BBQ food and had a nice dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

pleasure is destroyed,one of the beautiful gorges in australia, enjoyed in previous visits but visitors now have to share the noise and stench of the million flying foxes who live at the gorge, dining at the main facility and lunch in the picnic area is not pleasant. the caravan park shows there is need for improvement with minimal maintenance the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rebecca M, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with Nitmiluk Tours, located within the iconic Nitmiluk National Park. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologise that the campgrounds made for an unpleasant experience during your stay. Nitmiluk Tours does take your review seriously and your comments will be passed onto the team. We endeavour to make each... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We visited the Nitmiluk Chalets and Campground after the worst of the rainy season when there were very few guests. It's not a great time to visit the park because many of the gorge tours are not offered and the weather can put a damper on things. Having said that, despite the low number of guests, the staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

It's nearly 30 kms from the town of Katherine and doesn't have much to do around it. However, for nature lovers, it's pure bliss. Pretty quiet with regular visits from the local wildlife. Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and are adequate. They kept the air conditioning on just before we arrived. Very thoughtful considering the sricky weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Out of peak season and the chalets (aka Jayco caravan) were air conditioned, basic but comfortable. However, the customer service was excellent, the pool area was great - and close to the gorge canoes / boats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Brilliant weekend stay. Clean and comfortable. The pool is brilliant, with the bar and a small menu available. Chalets are clean and comfortable and of a good size, with cooking facilities and utensils, plus BBQ's nearby. Definitely recommend the gorge cruise also!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nitmiluk1, General Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Claire - we appreciate the time taken and I will certainly pass your comments onto the team! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

We drove to the park to see if we could get a camp site. we could get a site with power but we would be on gravel at $ 45 per night. The site without power was equally bad and dirty We declined and drove the 30 km back to Katherine and booked into big 4 camping park that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca M, Guest Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologise that the camp sites located within Nitmiluk National Park were unsatisfactory. We are working to address these problems for next season; however, it is a process that does take time and can be dependent on the weather. (ie; this season was a bit drier due to... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

2 BR Chalet in beautiful Katherine Gorge Very clean, compact and thankfully had efficient air con with good facilities. Evening meal in pool area exceeded expectations with friendly staff and good food. Breakfast in Visitors center good - if you want buffet breakfast advise them night before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Just left here this morning after 4 very relaxing days as weather was 40 deg +. Chalet was comfortable, clean and tidy although a little too compact in the bedroom and bathroom for an obese person. Having said that it worked well. Meals were ably cooked in kitchen of chalet, washing was done daily in the tub outside the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question