We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground

Gorge Rd | Nitmiluk National Park, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After weeks of free camping and 1-2 night stop overs thru outback Qld and NT, it was great to arrive at Nitmuluk Camp Ground. We enjoyed a powered site near the pool which was divine. It was such luxury to sit by the pool and sip on a cool beer. There are two caes and both are good. They do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow what a fantastic place. A cool sparkling pool, wonderful helpful staff in a modern location, superb food, terrific camping and caravan sites. As for the tours there is one individual by the name of dave 'oyster' kilpatrick who made the gorge tour one that you would never forget. You will leave this place with memory's that will last a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beckenyon, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Nitmiluk Tours is pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay during your time at Nitmiluk National Park. Our tour guides truly do go above and beyond and really make our tours an unforgettable experience out on the waters of Nitmiluk Gorge. I will make certain to share... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined on freshly cooked barramundi and yummy steak while sitting by the glorious pool, a lovely stop midway to Kununurra.... The only down side was the bed, not the most comfy! Made up for it by lovely staff and the shower which was deceivingly pretty good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beckenyon, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the team and hope to welcome you back in the future. Nitmiluk Tours wishes you safe travels as you journey on to Kununurra. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Too expensive for this campground! - 1/4 toilets, 1/4 showers, 1/2 cooking plates broken - cold shower - washing much more dirty after using washing machine - "free wifi": you can connect but nothing is loading - long way from powered site to toilets - powered site costs 14$ more then unpowered (relation?) - not very creative or beautiful place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca M, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologise that your experience camping within the iconic Nitmiluk National Park was unsatisfactory. I will make certain to pass on your comments to the team and address the issues that have been raised. Please, if you have any further comments or questions don't hesitate to contact us... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We had the best time. The resort is lovely, the staff friendly and helpful,and facilities really good. The permanent tents come with dinner (chefs special), a drink voucher, and pancake breakfast. Unlike one of the previous reviewers, I found the catering staff to be really helpful. I am coeliac, and was able to choose anything from the menu with my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

This is a great park to relax in generally. Unfortunately we came to swim and canoe and the river was closed to those activities. Apparently, Nat Parks are conducting a never ending survey of the river we were told at check in. The pool is an excellent alternative. Maybe the cleaners could get brooms as 2 hours of leaf blowers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

27 kms out of Katherine it is great to experience the gorge over 2 days by staying so near..the chalets are clean and serviced daily with a full kitchen ...bathroom is minute for two people however...air con in both bedrooms and lounge is excellent although rooms small but manageable ...also an ironing board in chalet .....pool area is Ma great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beckenyon, Director of Sales at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Nitmiluk National Park and wish you safe travels on the rest of your journey through the Northern Territory. More 

Inverell, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Great campground. Grassed sites, (unpowered) good camp kitchen and wonderful pool for all. The toilets and showers excellent. Close to katherine gorge and a great visitors centre. A well maintained campground.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beckenyon, Director of Sales at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay within the iconic Nitmiluk National Park. We wish you safe travels on the rest of your journey through the Northern Territory. Cheers. More 

Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

Was enjoying it until tonight when decided to go to pool 's outside restaurant for meal. after asking for a child's meal (from menu) and explaining my medical reasons (no stomach due to cancer) for only wanting child's meal, was refused because I was over 12yo. This made me feel discriminated against and embarrassed. Was planning to stay another day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beckenyon, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will make sure that it is passed on to the team. We apologise for having caused any embarrassment and will look to review how we might be able to handle similar requests in the future to best accommodate our guests staying within the National Park. We do... More 

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Nitmiluk is well worth a visit, but avoid booking the tent accommodation. The 'tents' are small corrugated iron single room 'boxes' with bunk beds. I have enjoyed 'tent' accommodation in other echo style camp grounds and resorts which were spacious canvas tents that could be open to the environment or closed to suit the time of day, privacy requirements etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beckenyon, Public Relations Manager at Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are always interested to hear what our guests have to say so we can continue to improve our offerings and accommodate guests to the highest standards. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the team. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay