We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Kakadu Highway | Cooinda, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    188
    131
    49
    19
See reviews for
114
233
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
byron bay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The level of service offered at Cooinda Lodge is best described by real-life examples: having paid $354 per night for a two-night stay with breakfast, we booked the sunrise Yellow Water tour which also includes breakfast, for $9 more than the regular tour. Will you credit us the breakfast (exactly the same one included in the room rate)? "No, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is lovely and we did not regret staying there. Yes, it's bloody pricey but everywhere out there is so you have no choice really. The lay out is great, the pools are a lovely way to cool down and the rooms are what you need after a busy day-a place to shower and sleep! However, the only option... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Mickat12, Thank you for posting your constructive feedback, this helps us to move forward and make improvements so that we could get the 5 star rating as you mentioned. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the time to relax around the pool and unwind after a day travelling through... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were good but facilities very poor for the cost. $48 for a bottle of Annie's Lane! Be careful not to book with breakfast included, then take the Yellow Water Cruise - it includes the same breakie and for just $9. Room not cleaned properly - wet towel left hanging up. Hair dryers not provided in some rooms and admin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Brian, I am happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, though it disappointing to hear about the hair dryer as we do replace items in rooms and I will look into why this was told otherwise to you. I am saddened that there were a few small issues that have tarnished your stay with us... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a powered site here for two nights. Fantastic location with friendlyish staff. Facilities were very good with ample showers/toilets and BBQs. The bar was great but we didn't try the food. As previously reported by others, they really cram people in on relatively small sites. In saying that we had no one next to us and enjoyed being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Steve D, I would like to take the time to thank you for your feedback, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to spread out due to having an area to yourself. We hope to see you again in the future and have another enjoyable time with us at... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

But its the only choice that's only a few mins away from Yellow Water cruises so they charge you $329 PER NIGHT for this and you pay it because theres no other alternatives within 100klms (Kakadu). Arrived at 1.59pm, only to be given attitude by check in staff that I cant check in until 2pm and my room isn't ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Denali68, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on line about your stay, it is disappointing that you had some issues with your room. I will be following this up with our housekeeping team as to why these rooms were released for check-in when the room wasn't up to standard. We do have a couple of... More 

Montreal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Put off by the exorbitant pricing for the regular hotel rooms, I booked an "outback room" through Hostelworld, knowing that it would have shared bathroom facilities. These rooms, it turns out, are cubicles in the kind of mobile structure that is frequently used for mine workers' accommodation in Australia: about 3m square, with a small window, a bed, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello dgqc, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about you time with us, we understand that the lodge rooms are not for everybody and that you were still able to stay with us un one of our outback rooms, these are budget rooms though we are trying to meet our guests requirements with these. I am... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accommodation is very tired and well overdue for an upgrade. As soon as we entered the room we were hit with a strong, stale smell of mildew, dampness, sweat. When we reported this to reception the quick fix was to spray air freshener which simply covered up the smell for 5 minutes. The floor was dirty, the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Carol M, Thank you for your feedback about your time with us, we appreciate all feedback as this helps us to work and improve on areas that are highlighted by our guests that we stay with us, due to the location of the property we do run into heavy costs to get food and products delivered from Darwin along... More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in our. Caravan for 3 nights .... Great pool ,good amenities great bistro ,staff very friendly and helpful, very clean in all areas would definaltey stay here again Would re commend this as a must stay on your to Jabaru

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Nutcracker44, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the 3 days, I will pass the comments to all of the staff and I am glad that you received the friendly and helpful service that we try to provide to all of our guests. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope... More 

Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They do have a great location! We wanted to stay in the heart of the park so we paid for it - the most expensive lodging we had on our whole vacation. It wasn't bad, just, IMHO, not worth what we paid for: We had to prepay everything. My husband couldn't make it and I tried to get a refund... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Ianamom, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our time with us on Trip Advisor, I am disappointed that you had some troubles with your account and how the tours were meant to be paid for, I am glad that this all did work out and that you were able to utilise the funds for... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Cooinda campground (near Cooinda lodge, same management) in an "outback twin room" which was a very small room with 2 bunk beds and nothing else. Kakadu is very crowded during winter (high season) so we had no other choice but even for a budget price be aware that the room is so small that you don't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brett S, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hello Fhinn, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your accommodation while staying with us at Cooinda, the Outback rooms are our budget accommodation and are usually used by campers so that they can relax and take a break from staying in theirs tents. We also have lodge rooms that have more facilities though these do cost more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
0.9 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
22.9 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#1 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crab Claw Island Resort
Crab Claw Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Crab Claw Island
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay