We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Kakadu Highway | Cooinda, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Hotel amenities
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Saima G Inverell, New South Wales, Australia
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    156
    114
    41
    14
See reviews for
100
198
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here recently for one night in a Lodge Room, having booked a Yellow Waters Sunset Cruise before we arrived. The resort is set in very pleasant grounds, but if it wants to be a Hotel as well as a campground some serious upgrading is needed. The rooms are more like an American motel than a hotel and dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Good afternoon Tom C Thank you for taking the time to post your informative review. I do agree that the hotel room are based along an American style motel rooms, a quarter of the property has been upgraded to a new look that definitely give the resort more of an updated hotel concept. I hear your point about the seating... More 

Inverell, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A fairly busy campground with pretty good amenities however some were shut during our stay at the end of the wet season. Mosquitoes galore so bring plenty repellent. Very close to Home Billabong which has a small boat ramp.Helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Good afternoon Saima G Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our camping facilities. A portion of the ablution blocks were closed off so that we could complete our intensive upgrade of the facilities. We have gutted and pulled out all the old fittings and brought the facilities into the 21st Century. The mosquitos definitely have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
99 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very basic with tiled floor, basic storage shelves and was dark. There was only one chair in the room (at an old built-in desk) so the second person had to sit on a bed. The bathroom was very tired, repaired with mismatching floor tiles, and the shower area defined by just a curtain. (I understand refurbishment is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to stay here so we could do the boat trip on the river, which worked out well. We stayed in a cottage room set in lush grounds which set a nice ambiance. The room was basic and small with just one chair. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed contrary to what was on the website. "Oh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear JuttaJumbuck Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it is always appreciated to receive constructive feedback. I have taken on board your points about the price of the meals, this will be discussed with our owners and the Food & Beverage team in the upcoming weeks. During our Green & Shoulder seasons we don't run both... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were unable to book accommodation here within our time frame which was a great shame as its location would have been better for us. However, the lodge was the starting point for the yellow water cruise so we ended up having a great breakfast and latter an evening meal. Although limited menu, the food was better than the crocodile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hi Tim P Thank you for posting your 4 star review about Cooinda Lodge, sorry we didn't have accommodation for you. The Sunrise Cruise is always a magical way to start one's day and the buffet breakfast definitely "touches" the spot when you return. We do run a limited menu during our Green & Shoulder season, so I am happy... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had originally planned to camp here but arrived late so we decided to stay in the lodge units. The units are quite old and a bit tired. You could overlook this if they were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Ours had mould on the ceiling and the tiles were dirty. I tried to clean them and it was easy. Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Good afternoon BMM01 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have taken on board your comments about the tiles and mould. I will take this up at the Heads of Department meeting tomorrow. Not making any excuses but mould is a problem in Kakadu during the Green Season. As we are just in the shoulder time... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I got advised about cooinda from a local work colleague after we were going to stay at crocodile lodge in Jabiru. So glad we made the switch, cooinda was just fantastic. Not peak season so not crowded. Pools were sensational, food and bar good service although limited to Tooheys sponsored beers. Rooms are adequate, well serviced and clean. We did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear Juggernaut42, Thanks for posting your positive review...I'm glad your colleague changed your mind for you. Travelling in the Green Season certainly has it's advantages and not having so many people around is a great plus. Yellow Water Cruises really are a wonderful experience & I am always amazed at the variety of birdlife & wildlife that can be spotted... More 

Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place to spend some time in Kakadu, we booked 2 rooms over four nights for Grandad, Mum, Dad & 2 kids. Double and single per room as described, I obtained a discount while making my phone booked with the staff. All staff were very friendly, special note for Stephen the assistant manager was better than some 5 star city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear ac_branden, Thank you for posting your 100/100 review of Cooinda Lodge. It is so encouraging for all the staff to see that their efforts are acknowledged and rewarded. Both Stephen & Kate are over the moon that you mentioned them by name.... You will have to return to to Kakadu national Park later in the year to experience the... More 

Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our recent stay was marred by the very poor toilet facilities at the campsite. Lack of lights plus infestation of mosquitoes and insects, and frogs inside and under the toilet facilities, made them unusable. Management have also been slow to deal with complaints by tour operator. Rest of site probably had some pluses, but left early in the morning, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Good afternoon, thank you for your review, I was not aware that there was a problem with the external campsite ablution facilities until the Operations Manager contacted me. Once I had been informed the Cooinda team were at the facilities and had the problem resolved within 30 minutes. I am sorry that you had substandard facilities but please be assured... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Great camp grounds. Grassed and shady. Great shower and toilet facilities. Outdoor kitchen and BBQ areas were good. Short walk to kiosk, and either of two swimming pools, restaurant and bar. Onsite fuel avaliable and about 10 cents per litre more expensive than major city. The lodge has all sorts of accommodation options and ample parking for boats etc... Centrally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Good morning AkaZulu, Thank you for posting your very informative review of Cooinda Lodge Kakadu. I do hear your issue with the kiosk/shop getting busy, this is more of an issue with the POS system that we have in the area but this is being address within the next 3 months. Please bear in mind the prices we have to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities