We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kakadu National Park hotels

Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 3 more sites!
62%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
LCH1976 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    177
    118
    22
    10
See reviews for
85
190
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Crocodile Holiday Inn is a nice place in the middle of nowhere. It has all basic facilities, but nothing special. The room was clean and spacious. If you love flying foxes (like we do), you'll hear some incredible sounds! But it all looks a bit dated. The restaurant isn't top of the bill, but that's understandable. There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous stylish concept of a croc shape, but very worn out, it's been long time no proper revitalization. Details like odd spots and stain on bed side table lamps, sun-dried frog in the window, leaking fridge. Despite Accor just took HInn over, Old furniture stays mixed with new build-ins, old-styled bathroom don't look as representative as the Mercure brand is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Palmerston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located for accessing the scenic attractions that Kakadu National Park has to offer. As this hotel is marketed as four star, I could only grade it as average as the hotel and rooms are due for a refurbishment. On check in I wasn't asked if I had any bags that I needed assistance in getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We apologized that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Odd hotel. Tries to be upmarket but 220 km from Darwin (a town smaller than some stadiums) it is almost impossible to find competant staff. Hotel is in the shape of a crocodile. Rooms are clean (well, the bathroom floor drain has a perpetual wet spot around it that I cannot figure out) and reasonably modern, and the air conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TypeYourNameHere, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We truly appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here, wanting to get away from Darwin for a weekend. At $190 per night for 2 including breakfast, we expected 4 star service. Whilst the staff try hard.. This was no where near 4 star, the third night we went to supermarket for food. Top tips for holiday inn, if you read this. 1. Free wifi- this goes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel L, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meredith H, Thank you for your honest and in depth review and assessment of the hotel. Hotels around Australia are constantly reviewing how we offer internet connectivity to our guests as we appreciate it is an important aspect of guest travel. The hotel does offer complimentary Wi-Fi to IHG Reward Club members (no cost to join this program) as... More

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
79 hotel reviews
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The crocodile shtick may not be the most convenient for parking and getting around, and the grounds and outdoor hallways are generally pretty scummy in wet season. But inside, the rooms are quite good - modern and large, with a sitting area, overlooking the nice courtyard. Limited free wifi. I had only small complaints about the room, like the temperamental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

At check in I was informed that the pool was unavailable which I wasn't happy about as I go to a resort style place to sit around the pool of an afternoon to unwind and relax because thats what holidays are for. The check in guy seemed very unsympathetic about it but did offer us free passes to the local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotchi63, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback... More

Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Our room was well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and nice furniture. The staff attentive. I was very disappointed that the pool area was being repaved and therefore out of use. I would have not minded if I was told this when I booked by phone 2 days before our arrival. Also the two rooms we booked were directly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kylie252, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you liked our room accommodations, comfortable bed, furnishings and attentive staff. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staying during the wet season the numbers are low but not the prices. The hotel is a bit of a novelty for the children. Where else in the world can you stay in a crocodile shaped hotel. But as soon as we walked in the room the musty smell was off putting. Further, having the indigenous locaks drunk and continuing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hrthb08, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the other patrons of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your... More

Marseillan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and the place was almost empty as the main road from Darwin was flooded. Having stayed in other resort Holiday Inns our expectations were not that high but we were really pleased with what we found. Lovely big well appointed rooms, impeccably clean and with high class fittings and bathroom freebies. The air conditioning was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel L, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gavin B, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations and your stay was enjoyable. This time of year is certainly a fantastic time of year to see Kakadu National Park with the waterfalls particularly spectacular from the air and the scenic cruises... More

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn
Address: 1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.