We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Russell hotels

Commodore's Lodge

4.5 of 5 Motel   |   The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Commodore's Lodge to your Saves list
Commodore's Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Russell
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014
Sue L L New Plymouth, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently had a wonderful week in the Bay of Islands (four on a chartered yacht) every night in a different bay. We spent one night at the Commodore Lodge in Russell, we had an awesome room looking out to the bay, a little expensive but really comfortable and clean, the pool and spa were a welcome change from swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have always stayed at commodores lodge in Russell but this time was a little disappointed as they have new managers looking after the property. The place is no where as tidy as it used to be and the loungers were really moldy from the winter months but has not been cleaned, also the pool was not that clean with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues. If we had known we would have dealt with this matter immediately to rectify the situation. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We used to come here all the time - actually many of our family used to stay here. There has been new owners for the past 2 years or so and it's not the same - it hasn't been on both visits lately. The pool needs a good clean as it's got piles of chlorine forming in the corners, sand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues. If we had known we would have dealt with this matter immediately to rectify the situation. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and... More

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The service at this place is a JOKE. We had one of the front rooms and when i booked i specifically made sure there was wifi as i run my own business and need to be in constant contact. When i tried to connect, the speed was so slow it took 10 mins to download a few emails. When i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We know that you were very angry with the wifi and we did apologise to you. The technicians were working on the problem and we were doing our best. The problem has now been resolved and once again we apologize for the inconvenience. As for the problem with room service if you had spoken to... More

Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We got a Front-room at the groundfloor with a nice terrasse overlooking the harbour. The room was beautiful decorated and the bathroom very nice. Having a terrasse like this, we decided to stay "home" and bought take-away from a shop nearby. Fantastic evening! The hotel was fully booked from the day after, so we did not get it for two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Accommodated us for one night which was all we had unfortunately. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Enjoyed a freshen up in the pool and use of the bbq to cook the fish we caught. Although it was just the two of us it would be great to bring the kids. Lovely spot and lovely hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived here taking a last minute booking after the New Year holidays. We had been in a camper van for 2 weeks and needed somewhere calm for the last few nights of our trip to New Zealand - this was perfect. The room had everything that is needed for a comfortable stay. We had a room next to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nowhere in Russell is closer to the beach and we had a room at the front with the most amazing views over the bay. The owners Bill and Pat are friendly and accommodating and maintain the lodge immaculately. We made use of the complimentary bikes which is good exercise in the hilly region, there are also kayaks and barbeques available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here (for the second time the first being 5 years ago under different ownership) for the Easter weekend a very busy time in Russell. It was a lovely stay, one of the highlights of our 2 months in NZ. Everything, and more, that we needed was available and nothing too much trouble for the owners including needles and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BRADFORD
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we had a room overlooking the sea, which was excellent. Kayaks, bikes etc were available free of charge. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Russell can be quite busy during the day with tourists but the evenings were fine. We enjoyed the spa Didn't go in the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Commodores Lodge and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Commodore's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore's Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Russell
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer