We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore's Lodge

The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore's Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Commodore's Lodge
Add Your Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
east midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights in a room adjacent to the pool. The motel is located only a few yards walk from the pier with boat trips, sailing trips and many other excursions all to hand. Bill and Pat were very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Russell is steeped in history about the early settlers way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Commodores Lodge for 3 lovely nights in Late summer. The service we received was extraordinary. Our traveling companions had some specials needs and I needed a doctor - both requests were handled quickly, efficiently and cordially. They really seemed to care that our needs were met and that we had a great visit. We found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was most friendly and helpful. And the location, well - one step away from everything in town. To top it off, this lodge is located right on the beach front promenade. There is a swimming pool, hot tub, free bikes and kayaks, and the rooms have everything one possibly needs or thinks they need. If you ask me,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place was incredible, we had a great time and the staff did everything to make our stay that much more amazing. You've got the sea right out front, the courtyard pool and a cheeky little spa to top it all off. Right in the centre of everything going on in Russell I would highly recommend the Commodores Lodge as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On this, our 4th stay at Commodores Lodge, we brought the entire family, to share our love for this magic village and this lodging. Two lovely poolside rooms, with outdoor seating front and back provided a delightful family center. The pool is well fenced so no worries about toddlers. An enclosed courtyard provides quiet space away from the promenading on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

After driving up from Auckland we found an oasis in Russel at this hotel. Afternoon spent in pool at this place and complimentary kayak in the bay, hard to beat. We paid extra for the sea view room but totally worth every penny. Jealous looks from strollers and diners in nearby restaurants at our private dining and wining sea front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Booked a 2 bedroom suite for a long weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful on checkin. Rooms were just what was required. Good sizes, tiles floors, well equipped. Room opened out onto the courtyard where most other rooms had outdoor tables and chairs. Pool was well fenced meaning we could let the kids into the area without fear of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marmaris, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Bill and pat the owners call it paradise, and Russell is beautiful. Great views, great restaurants, try the seared tuna at the wharf next door to the commodore, and the commodore is a jewel. We had a spacious apartment by the pool, bikes, kayaks inc. all cared for by lovingly by bill and pat. Couldn't have been more different than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently had a wonderful week in the Bay of Islands (four on a chartered yacht) every night in a different bay. We spent one night at the Commodore Lodge in Russell, we had an awesome room looking out to the bay, a little expensive but really comfortable and clean, the pool and spa were a welcome change from swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have always stayed at commodores lodge in Russell but this time was a little disappointed as they have new managers looking after the property. The place is no where as tidy as it used to be and the loungers were really moldy from the winter months but has not been cleaned, also the pool was not that clean with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues. If we had known we would have dealt with this matter immediately to rectify the situation. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question