We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Commodore's Lodge

4.5 of 5 The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore's Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Commodore's Lodge
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On this, our 4th stay at Commodores Lodge, we brought the entire family, to share our love for this magic village and this lodging. Two lovely poolside rooms, with outdoor seating front and back provided a delightful family center. The pool is well fenced so no worries about toddlers. An enclosed courtyard provides quiet space away from the promenading on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After driving up from Auckland we found an oasis in Russel at this hotel. Afternoon spent in pool at this place and complimentary kayak in the bay, hard to beat. We paid extra for the sea view room but totally worth every penny. Jealous looks from strollers and diners in nearby restaurants at our private dining and wining sea front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a 2 bedroom suite for a long weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful on checkin. Rooms were just what was required. Good sizes, tiles floors, well equipped. Room opened out onto the courtyard where most other rooms had outdoor tables and chairs. Pool was well fenced meaning we could let the kids into the area without fear of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marmaris, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Bill and pat the owners call it paradise, and Russell is beautiful. Great views, great restaurants, try the seared tuna at the wharf next door to the commodore, and the commodore is a jewel. We had a spacious apartment by the pool, bikes, kayaks inc. all cared for by lovingly by bill and pat. Couldn't have been more different than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently had a wonderful week in the Bay of Islands (four on a chartered yacht) every night in a different bay. We spent one night at the Commodore Lodge in Russell, we had an awesome room looking out to the bay, a little expensive but really comfortable and clean, the pool and spa were a welcome change from swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have always stayed at commodores lodge in Russell but this time was a little disappointed as they have new managers looking after the property. The place is no where as tidy as it used to be and the loungers were really moldy from the winter months but has not been cleaned, also the pool was not that clean with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues. If we had known we would have dealt with this matter immediately to rectify the situation. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We used to come here all the time - actually many of our family used to stay here. There has been new owners for the past 2 years or so and it's not the same - it hasn't been on both visits lately. The pool needs a good clean as it's got piles of chlorine forming in the corners, sand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues. If we had known we would have dealt with this matter immediately to rectify the situation. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and... More 

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The service at this place is a JOKE. We had one of the front rooms and when i booked i specifically made sure there was wifi as i run my own business and need to be in constant contact. When i tried to connect, the speed was so slow it took 10 mins to download a few emails. When i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CommodoreRussellNZ, Manager at Commodore's Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We know that you were very angry with the wifi and we did apologise to you. The technicians were working on the problem and we were doing our best. The problem has now been resolved and once again we apologize for the inconvenience. As for the problem with room service if you had spoken to... More 

Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We got a Front-room at the groundfloor with a nice terrasse overlooking the harbour. The room was beautiful decorated and the bathroom very nice. Having a terrasse like this, we decided to stay "home" and bought take-away from a shop nearby. Fantastic evening! The hotel was fully booked from the day after, so we did not get it for two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Accommodated us for one night which was all we had unfortunately. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Enjoyed a freshen up in the pool and use of the bbq to cook the fish we caught. Although it was just the two of us it would be great to bring the kids. Lovely spot and lovely hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore's Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#6 Romantic Hotel in Russell

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay