We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castles Motel

44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castles Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my boyfriend booked us the upstairs spa suite room as a surprise and all i know is that he had arranged with the owner to have 'extras' waiting for me when we got to the room. she had not let us down! the suite was lovely, cosy, modern, the spa bath was wonderful and the bed was big and so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Myself and my daughter and my 1 year old grandson stayed in the upstairs spa unit. I thought it may be a bit much walking my children up and down the stairs but the unit was worth it. It was like a little home away from home. Everything is set out so that each member of my family could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This motel was a very good choice... for a road trip... right on SH 6 but not in main Nelson... its a 15 Minute drive to main Nelson town. But its very convenient... had a kitchenette and McDonalds right there. Close to Tahunanui Beach and lots of eating places around. Big Spacious rooms with lovely pullout Leather chairs. Shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Loved this affordable place!!! Highly recommend it! The room was very clean and several restaurants and a few bars were within a short walking distance as well as the best beach!!! Nice staff and they were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Well positioned for eateries nearby. All in short walking distance. Thai to McDonalds. Very tidy and well presented. Good parking with security lighting. Beach nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Staff efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a one bedroom downstairs unit for 10 nights and booked this motel as it has a full kitchen with a practical size fridge. The lounge/dining area was separate from the kitchen and there were brand new recliners in the lounge area. The couple who run the motel were very helpful and professional. Loved the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sebastopol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Castles Motel is well located in the Tahunanui section of Nelson. It is close to a great beach playground where our nine year-old daughter played with several friendly and inclusive Kiwi kids. There are a number of restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area. We found the staff to be professional and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I Will never ever come back or recommend! we called in the night before, a bit of a last min booking to see Nelson for a couple of days, to see this amazing place that everyone has told us about. Less then 18 HOURS LATER We stopped in to check out our room and was hoping to drop off our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This is another review from the same source of the previous negative reviews. Please read my response to those reviews below. Thank you. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Firstly staff are very disrespectful and ignorant it is run by an elderly unpresentable couple and his daughter! Rooms are very dirty and its very unpredictable with what you get. What we saw on the Internet and what we saw in reality were worlds apart. Pictures show rooms with spas but after we enquired to our disappointment only 1 room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

We have checked all our January bookings and can confirm this reviewer has never stayed at our motel. It is directly linked to the negative review below as it includes references to the discussion held over that cancelled booking. Please read our response to the review below. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Don't know where to begin! I would never recommend this place to even an enemy. The rooms are dated and look nothing like the pictures which gave my family and I high expectations. The service was incredibly rude and was prejudice and naïve towards anyone not from New Zealand they told me America was '50 countries in one area' and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This person cancelled their booking by phone on the day they were due to arrive. While explaining the late cancellation policy and offering not to charge a fee if the room could be re-let she began threatening us with a negative review on Trip Advisor even though she admitted she had never been in any of our rooms or stayed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#12 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#16 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaches Motor Inn
Beaches Motor Inn
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradiso Apartments
Paradiso Apartments
#26 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay