We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castles Motel

44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castles Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castles Motel
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Loved this affordable place!!! Highly recommend it! The room was very clean and several restaurants and a few bars were within a short walking distance as well as the best beach!!! Nice staff and they were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Well positioned for eateries nearby. All in short walking distance. Thai to McDonalds. Very tidy and well presented. Good parking with security lighting. Beach nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Staff efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in a one bedroom downstairs unit for 10 nights and booked this motel as it has a full kitchen with a practical size fridge. The lounge/dining area was separate from the kitchen and there were brand new recliners in the lounge area. The couple who run the motel were very helpful and professional. Loved the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sebastopol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Castles Motel is well located in the Tahunanui section of Nelson. It is close to a great beach playground where our nine year-old daughter played with several friendly and inclusive Kiwi kids. There are a number of restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area. We found the staff to be professional and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I Will never ever come back or recommend! we called in the night before, a bit of a last min booking to see Nelson for a couple of days, to see this amazing place that everyone has told us about. Less then 18 HOURS LATER We stopped in to check out our room and was hoping to drop off our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This is another review from the same source of the previous negative reviews. Please read my response to those reviews below. Thank you. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Firstly staff are very disrespectful and ignorant it is run by an elderly unpresentable couple and his daughter! Rooms are very dirty and its very unpredictable with what you get. What we saw on the Internet and what we saw in reality were worlds apart. Pictures show rooms with spas but after we enquired to our disappointment only 1 room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

We have checked all our January bookings and can confirm this reviewer has never stayed at our motel. It is directly linked to the negative review below as it includes references to the discussion held over that cancelled booking. Please read our response to the review below. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

Don't know where to begin! I would never recommend this place to even an enemy. The rooms are dated and look nothing like the pictures which gave my family and I high expectations. The service was incredibly rude and was prejudice and naïve towards anyone not from New Zealand they told me America was '50 countries in one area' and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoweneP, Owner at Castles Motel, responded to this review

This person cancelled their booking by phone on the day they were due to arrive. While explaining the late cancellation policy and offering not to charge a fee if the room could be re-let she began threatening us with a negative review on Trip Advisor even though she admitted she had never been in any of our rooms or stayed... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Wonderful friendly welcome on arrival, clean well presented rooms, comfy beds and great shower - this stay ticked all the boxes as far as I am concerned! Stayed here as part of a group and everyone was very happy with the accommodation. Will be booking here next time I need to stay in Nelson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westport, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I stayed here for business for three nights. I stayed in a unit that had bedroom and kitchen and spa bath. It was very clean. Close to some excellent restaurants in Tahunanui. I could cook my breakfast and plunger coffee was provided in my room. There was free wifi and I worked at night in my room on the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Fantastic stay. Very comfortable and spacious. the Hosts were very friendly and accommodating .Was so delighted with their customer service as I misplaced one of my favourite earrings not realising until well into our trip around the South Island. When arriving home ,there was an email from the motel saying that they found it and were posting it to me.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question