We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abelia Motor Lodge

121 Tahunanui Dr, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abelia Motor Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very friendly and helpful owner, who can also speak Mandarin. The room is clean and has enough space for 4 persons. Low price but good service, except that the location is not at the town center. Driving by ourselves is very convenient. And most important, the place is very quiet, so we can have a nice sleep. Next time when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xiao X
Sale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was very clean and comfortable. The amenities were good and we could have cooked in the room if we wished. The owners were lovely and very helpful. It was in a good location for the beach and there was a bus stop close by if you didn't have a car.

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It was nice to meet you. All the best for you. Maybe some day we will see you again!! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lodge itself is OK sort of speak .Expensive for what they offer small rooms no air-con.We have been told by the owners is suitable for family but when get there we have been surprised on what we have been given.2 tiny bedrooms and small living kitchenette one bathroom together with toilet in it for 3 adults one 10 yrs old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrianos1976
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry you have an unpleasant experience with us. We hope this did not spoil your New Year break. Please accept our apology. All guests, who are smokers, are informed to smoke away from the building, when they check in, Unfortunately, this one night stayed guest did not follow our instruction and made the smoke drifted one floor... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very clean and comfortable and the owners were very friendly and helpful with suggestion on what to do around the region. Had a great time spending a afternoon BBQing and playing badminton, a great place to enjoy some Nelson sunshine! Would highly recommend this and will definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank Passion L
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I am very glad that you had a great time with us and in Nelson. Looking forward to seeing you soon. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 10 days when visiting our son in Nelson. My husband was on crutches so we were able to have the disabled suite which was very suitable for him. The shower was a walk in one with no frame and had a seat that folded down so was very easy to use. The room was spacious and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan M
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased that our facility helped. We will love to see you again, when you come back to Nelson. By then, you can experience our other types of rooms. Thank you very much for the nice review. More 

San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Out of over 30 days of traveling in New Zealand, the Abelia Motor Lodge was the best deal for the money. We stayed in everything from a YHA house, to various "holiday parks", to a good Hilton DoubleTree in Queenstown, to a nice AirBNB appartment in the Auckland central business district, to an upscale hotel in Auckland CBD which will... More 

Helpful?
Thank al h
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad to see such a high ranking review. So encouraging....All the best for you and your family. We would love to be able to see you again. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a big family with 5 kids so it is difficult to find a motel to accommodate us. But we found Abelia perfect for us, the room was clean and well set out. The motel is in a great location we hardly used the car because we just walked each day to Tahunanui reserve and did some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanirene
AbeliaMotorLodge, Manager at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have a wonderful experience with us and in Nelson. Certainly will love to see you again. Best wish for all of you. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Excellent accomodation and very friendly and helpful staff! Pauline the manager was lovely!! Comfortable beds and very clean! Amazing locality to the beach and a nice quiet place to sleep!! TV was good and showers were nice!! Great barbecue facilities and tennis courts and lots of shops near by to use!! Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
AbeliaMotorLodge, Manager at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you had a great experience with us. All the best for you. Love to see you again soon. More 

Dargaville, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

The room itself contained a comfortable bed (which could be split into two singles), and came with dining room furniture, a coffee table, and couch. The kitchen had everything we (I was traveling with a friend of mine) needed in order to prepare meals - hot water jug, toaster, microwave... they were all there. Stocked with tea, hot chocolate, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TarriPup
AbeliaMotorLodge, Owner at Abelia Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you like all our facilities. All the best for you and looking forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I was in Nelson for a business trip and this motel ticked all the boxes as it was close to the conference venue. Pauline was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and warm. I spoke to some other guests who were staying there due to the school holidays and they too were happy with their stay.

Helpful?
Thank AklTravels
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.9 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.9 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
2.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaches Motor Inn
Beaches Motor Inn
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay