We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Nelson B&Bs / inns

Warwick House

4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 Brougham Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Warwick House to your Saves list
Warwick House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
83%
Ranked #26 of 57 Nelson B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A cute little B&B with history! We enjoyed our stay at this historic home. Comfortable and charming, nestled in a quiet little neighborhood in Nelson. Close enough to be convenient but far enough to feel a world away from the hustle and bustle of the cities center!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights while visiting Nelson. Stayed in the lower rooms which have kitchen access. Nicely renovated in Victorian style. The continental breakfast was adequate but went to a cafe on the second day. Friends had recommended WH but had stayed in the upper rooms which appear to have more light and views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After 2 weeks travelling the South Island we ended up staying here with the most comfortable bed on our trip. What a surprise to find a bath in the living space which was enthusiatically used! Great shower space and wonderful old fashioned toilet that definitely does concern itself with water saving measures! The shared kitchen/laundry was welcome too. Hosts were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spend two nights at the Warwick House last February 2014. Nick and Jenny made us feel very welcome. We slept in the beautiful tower suite which has all mod coms. Where ever we wanted to go they always had some advise on exra interesting things to do on the desired location. We even got our jeans back that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orangeville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Warwick House in February 2014.. We were totally blown away by the Bayview Suite, our spectacular room for one night. The suite is situated at the top of the house and reached by way of a separate entrance. It is truly elegant and offers every comfort you could want. The views from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One night driving through Nelson. I wish I had a week or two! Absolutely awesome interior and great old mansion atmosphere. One of the largest rooms I have ever stayed at (The Bayview Suite)! Fantastic bed and really cool bathroom. Great views over Nelson all the way to the sea. 1. Check in: fast, no problems. 2. Rooms: enormous suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked directly at Warwick House for 2 nights and it was one of the highlights of our South Island trip. Warwick House is just a few minutes walk from central Nelson where we had some great meals. The property is an amazing opportunity to feel like the few wealthy early settlers who were able to enjoy the large house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think we must have gotten the cut rate room...not in the castle but somehow attached. There did not seem to be many guests. We booked with a travel agent and depended on their expertise. I agree with the other reviewer that complained about the smell. Our bed was pushed up against a wall which made it hard for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We welcome your feedback as it is our goal to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay . When you book through an agent it is advisable to check the room description. The room you booked ,standard double is our smallest (and cheapest) room. It does however have a Super King bed for extra comfort which... More

London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a night at this establishment. It is presented as being a boutique hotel. That is certainly stretching a point, because in truth it is nothing more than a B&B, run by a husband and wife. Our bedroom suffered from a heavy fusty smell, sometimes found with very old rooms. Furthermore, the furnishings were poorly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our property. The room you booked has been very popular It is the most contemporary of our rooms and has been recently refurbished.The cameo wall colour and gold damask feature wall along with a new pewter chandelier and king size bed are all new additions.Modern furniture would not fit this... More

San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The four of us stayed at Warwick House in January and had a wonderful visit. We've stayed in older vintage B&Bs before so had realistic expectations and an appreciation for the beautifully restored building and its decor. In fact, locals refer to it as "The Castle". We were in the Bayview and Tower rooms, which were large, well-appointed and furnished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your pertinent and complimentary review .(it's not every day one gets to enjoy breakfast in a Ballroom).It is such a pleasure to host guests who appreciate the work and commitment and enjoy these surroundings. More

Been to Warwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick House

Also Known As:
Warwick House Hotel
Warwick House Hotel Nelson
Warwick Nelson
Nelson Warwick
Address: 64 Brougham Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Warwick House 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some nights of romance! Warwick House built in 1854 and just 5-10 mins. walk from the attractive center of 'sunny Nelson' is one of the finest early Victorian mansions in New Zealand. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Bayview or Tower suites, enjoy views over the city to the sea and gourmet breakfasts in the fully restored 'Grand Ballroom.' Many great walks and attractions are right on your doorstep.Direct boat service to Abel Tasman National Park, pickup from our doorstep. Enjoy Nelsons' famous 'Saturday Market' and all the great restaurants, cafes, craft centers and boutique ale houses. Direct bookings of 2 nights or more receive a complementary bottle of local wine (quote TripAdvisor-wine offer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Warwick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.