We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greens Motel Nelson

36 Golf Haven Way, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Greens Motel Nelson
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The facility is next to a golf course. Nice room. Clean. Full kitchenette. The room was handi-capped accessible, so it was large. There was some free wi-fi, but the signal wasn't very strong. Not noisy. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I'm glad you enjoyed the location.The wifi is a Nelson wide problem and also we have limited service providers.We have made it Free for this reason and I fully understand the frustration. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Great place especially if your a golfer. We shared a 2 bedroom unit with friends over Easter and enjoyed the peace of this great motel close to the Airport (which I knew about). The planes didnt bother us as last flight is before 10pm and first is around 7am. The only downer was that smokers populate the balconies and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the smokers I totally agree as I'm a non smoker and that would have been disappointing to me.I will look forward to the future when New Zealand becomes totally smoke free.When you stay again we will make sure you are not in this position again. More 

Marlborough
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We spent just one night here as we were attending a wedding so didn't really spend much time in the unit however our stay was comfortable & the studio was clean & well equipped for our requirements. Rate was very reasonable for Nelson.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Greens Motel and I hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding.Nelson is a great place to be in love. More 

wanaka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Wonderful, friendly people mafe me feel welcome, clean room, comfy bed. Lovely setting, close to airport and business. Would definitely recommend to others, and will see you again when I am back up this way. Many thank for the stay:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Greens Motel we enjoy reading your positive review it makes all our hard work worth while. Look forward to seeing you on your next trip. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Nice clean room, friendly welcome but after that............. Our bathroom window lock was broken and the room therefore insecure ( was fixed after we reported it). The toaster blew up when we used it ( was replaced). The ironing board was broken in half. We hadn't realised when we booked that the motel was almost on the runway of Nelson... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Greens Motel this is family owned motel and not a chain with extra staff to call on.Everything was fixed as asked.Things get broken or worn out in Motels and we do everything we can to keep up with this.The location is quiet as it is located on the Nelson golf course with no all night... More 

Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My wife and I stayed at this motel for 3 nights recently as it was close to our son's house in Nelson. Unfortunately the service/welcome was very off hand on arrival, we were shown where to get our milk, our room number and away we went. The room was upstairs (no problem to us) and was roomy for a studio.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt my welcoming off hand, I love welcoming guest to Motel.The internet is only charged if people haven't booked over the internet.We keep this as an option because not everyone requires internet.Losing The press newspaper service was disappointing and beyond our control but will defiantly update our compendiums.Thank you for your advise. More 

NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Modern, clean and quiet motel, with friendly reception staff. We booked a studio for 2 nights and were given a one bedroom unit, which was a much-appreciated bonus for us as we had arrived very tired after a long day travelling. Our unit was on the second floor, nicely fitted-out with a small balcony, good kitchen facilities and very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Motel and I'm pleased your needs are meet.Yes we do watch that we don't put older guest into these units as shower over bathes is always a hazard. I'm pleased you had enjoyed your stay in Nelson. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I had reason to make a quick business trip to Nelson and settled on Greens Motel, mainly because of a good Booking.Com price, which also offered a late 2pm check-out for Booking.Com Genius registered users. The motel is easy to find and will suit guests who fly into Nelson, because of its proximity to the airport. The motel receptionist was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and advice all has been taken on board.Sorry we where not able to offer the late check out on this occasion as the room was needed due to being full and new guest checking in at 2pm.The internet seems to be a provider fault and not something we can control. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

It would have been nice if both rooms had a mirror. And if the kitchen had bit more bench space. The bathroom was nice. And overall our stay was pleasant. Staff was okay, though we have already paid and they insisted that we haven't and weren't very friendly. After I had to dig out my email, they realised that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your tips we can use regarding mirror all these idea's help us provide better for the guest. Motel kitchen's are always smaller than home and making cooking fun.I'm sorry about mix up over payment we will watch for this in the future. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

well presented, clean and fresh welcoming when we walked through the door. Shower amazing water pressure and plenty of room to move. Very welcoming service, best Motel we stayed in, in South Island, recyclable bucket in cupboard for bottles and paper. real close to Airport and car hire places. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerGreensMotel, Owner at Greens Motel Nelson, responded to this review

What more can I say but Thank you for such a positive review it means a lot to all the Team at Greens Motel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
3.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#16 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#12 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay