We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

4.5 of 5 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    43
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
115
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights in a downstairs room. Found it to be clean and tidy with good standard of fitting and decoration. WIFI excellent. A short walk to the centre of town where there are some excellent restaurants. There was no free breakfast offered but maybe that was to do with the tariff we were on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very friendly hosts made us feel so welcome, room was spacious and very comfortable. Great location, 5 minutes walk from market. Would highly recommend as the place to stay in Nelson. PS order the cooked breakfast. Worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this motel, being the second time in six months. The first time was with one of our grandchildren. A second grandchild stayed for one night and Lee and Barry were very helpful bringing in a fold down bed. Being the winter months we found the motel to be lovely and warm. The second time was last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a wonderful night here - really wished we could have stayed longer. The hosts are so welcoming and helpful. The room itself was immaculate and so much thought and attention to detail has been put into the accommodation. Really hope we return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a regular traveler for work and staying with Barry and Lee is always a pleasure. They are very friendly, have lovely clean and modern rooms and comfortable beds. When you are on the road a lot it is nice to be staying somewhere where you feel relaxed and have a home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights. Great room, nice and quiet. Very comfortable. Especially enjoyed the outside courtyard of the ground floor room. Motel is close to all amenities. Hosts are excellent, and have great local knowledge. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We would stay again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights just after New Year. These guys have thought of everything, including pointing out any things that weren't clearly apparent (such as the location air con remote) when we checked in. The 2 bed apartment was spacious and immaculate, with a lovely bathroom and spa bath, full Sky and comfy couches and beds. I can't recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in a first floor one bedroom executive apartment. The lodge is within reasonable walking distance of the centre of Nelson and it was a good base for us to be able to explore the area and to visit Able Tasman National Park. I wouldn't describe the apartment or furnishings as luxurious, but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and we are sorry that there were some issues with your stay that, due to being away from the premises ourselves, we were unable to assist with. We've undertaken an upgrade of our WIFI system this year and now offer unlimited, free, high speed internet. We have added booster aerials to the... More 

UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our quietest and most comfortable place to stay during our 3.5 week trip. Service from Barry & Lee was outstanding too. Blackout curtains (so you're not woken at 5am by the sunshine as in so many motels), double glazing, lightweight duvet, and nets for privacy, super comfy beds plus good wifi speed made this our favourite place and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Happy New Year. Thanks folks for the review and for spending Christmas here with us in Nelson. It was a pleasure to have you here. Funnily enough, that for the review that follows this one the people stayed in the same room as you a few weeks earlier! One man's castle..... See you next time you are in NZ! More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at this motel. Nice clean rooms. Quiet. Hosts very helpful with information and tips. Thoughtful items in the kitchen, such as cling film and plenty of towels. The small outdoor patio was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChelseaPark, Owner at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, and we're pleased you managed to get back to claim the clothing! Our downstairs rooms are popular at this time of year with the north facing (all day sun in NZ! ) private patio a great place to have breakfast, or an evening bevvie after a day out at the National... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay