We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rutherford Hotel Nelson

27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    111
    44
    21
    3
See reviews for
22
99
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the heart of Nelson, this modern hotel is a comfortable spot, with standard amenities you'd expect from a large hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, well furnished. Street parking seemed easy, but the hotel charges heftily for wifi and the restaurant/breakfast was pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is centrally located but offers nothing else to draw you. Decor is straight out of the 1970s (hello green shag carpeting and mauve furnishings). You have to pay for wifi, parking and the hotel adds a surcharge if you use a credit card to pay for your room. Staff was either super friendly or downright rude. You can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well established hotel in the centre of Nelson township. Hadn't stayed in Nelson for a long time, but booked here when on business recently. Check in was easy and fuss free, polite staff. Room was very comfortable and the bed especially so. Very welcome after a long day. Restaurant food was very nice also and service was good. Definitely worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my third visit to the Rutherford, having first visited when it opened in 1972. We had a lovely time. The room had all the required amenities and was spotlessly clean. The staff were particularly attentive. I did not mind paying up-front in the least as we had booked on-line and one often pays up-front in those circumstances. Perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

This hotel was like going back in time its old and tired. I was checked in by the rudest most unhelpful person ive ever come across. It was demanded that i pay in full upfront first like i was a dodgy thief who wasnt going to pay and aparently she was a manager! Given this attitude and poor service i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RutherfordHotelGM, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although we regret you had an unsatisfactory experience your feedback helps us to improve our services and is greatly appreciated. It is hotel policy to take payment for accommodation on arrival, however I apologize if the manager on duty came across rudely when explaining the policy to you.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I stayed here for a conference and found it a great spot to stay in. We all stayed here and it was easy to get around and was great to bump into one another for a chat and drinks at the bar and conference areas. Super close to the lovely town of Nelson - make sure to at least PPP... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We stayed for two nights at the Rutherford, and it was a great stay. The hotel has a beautiful reception hall, and the rooms are dated in style, but not worn, and very clean. Staff were very friendly, and our ordered extra pillows came very quickly. WiFi was good, but very retsricted with only 30 minutes (in one session) a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Rutherford Hotel in Nelson is in a great location, nice and central and handy to everything. The view from my room was so nice to wake up to every day - over looking the mountains that surround Nelson. The room was spacious and clean as you would expect from a hotel like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

What a shame the Reception staff got our stay off to such a bad start. No one else arrived or was there when we arrived - Two staff checked us in which became very confusing. One got trolley for our bags and just wanted to get in the lift and go! The other was checking on my car where it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Staff was great and location was great. For the money it was fine. Nothing really negative to say. Just feel like the hotel was stuck in the 1960's and hadn't been renovated since then. Pretty average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#16 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay