We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rutherford Hotel Nelson

27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    109
    43
    20
    3
See reviews for
22
97
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was like going back in time its old and tired. I was checked in by the rudest most unhelpful person ive ever come across. It was demanded that i pay in full upfront first like i was a dodgy thief who wasnt going to pay and aparently she was a manager! Given this attitude and poor service i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RutherfordHotelGM, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although we regret you had an unsatisfactory experience your feedback helps us to improve our services and is greatly appreciated. It is hotel policy to take payment for accommodation on arrival, however I apologize if the manager on duty came across rudely when explaining the policy to you.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a conference and found it a great spot to stay in. We all stayed here and it was easy to get around and was great to bump into one another for a chat and drinks at the bar and conference areas. Super close to the lovely town of Nelson - make sure to at least PPP... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights at the Rutherford, and it was a great stay. The hotel has a beautiful reception hall, and the rooms are dated in style, but not worn, and very clean. Staff were very friendly, and our ordered extra pillows came very quickly. WiFi was good, but very retsricted with only 30 minutes (in one session) a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rutherford Hotel in Nelson is in a great location, nice and central and handy to everything. The view from my room was so nice to wake up to every day - over looking the mountains that surround Nelson. The room was spacious and clean as you would expect from a hotel like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

What a shame the Reception staff got our stay off to such a bad start. No one else arrived or was there when we arrived - Two staff checked us in which became very confusing. One got trolley for our bags and just wanted to get in the lift and go! The other was checking on my car where it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Staff was great and location was great. For the money it was fine. Nothing really negative to say. Just feel like the hotel was stuck in the 1960's and hadn't been renovated since then. Pretty average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tokoroa, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I stayed at the Rutherford for 4 Nights late April / May and it was very clean and tidy.... Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Thought paying for WIFI was a bit out of it and especially as it only lasted 24 hours - so when working long days and then having to work when back at the hotel it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RutherfordHotelGM, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Tina H Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay. We have taken your comments regarding WIFI and the Room Service menu on board and will seek to make improvements where possible. You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of releasing a new In-Room Dining menu that will have more options for... More 

Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

we stayed at the Rutherford for two nights. The room was a reasonable size and had all the basics. The pool was closed - don't know how long this was for! There was a pleasant enough bar area although very few people seemed to use it. Wifi was available but only free for 30mins or a specified amount which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

We spent a night in this comfortable hotel overlooking the beautiful bell tower of the cathedral next door. It has a 1970s look to it but it has been extensively renovated and maintained and seems very fresh. The staff were most helpful and charming. The location is great for walking to the Main Street where we ate at one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Nelson is a great town and this hotel is pretty central. The Rutherford doesn't fall into the boutique category in so far as its large and of the modern "box" style. That said, its staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities very good and the overall impression is of a well run hotel. Downsides, limited free wifi (unlimited in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#4 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay