We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Nelson hotels

Tudor Lodge Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   52 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tudor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Tudor Lodge Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #21 of 41 hotels in Nelson
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Martin W Wellington, New Zealand
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • More
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had another stay in Nelson, this time for business, and I wouldn't go anywhere else but Tudor Lodge. Apart from the great hospitality, the rooms and motel area itself are so comfortable that it makes a business trip feel like a holiday. Again, new furnishing and equipment added since my last stay. Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have been staying at Tudor Lodge for the past few years when I'm in Nelson on business, about 6 times a year. The hosts are wonderful,very helpful and kind. I love the new Sky 50+ channels as I can watch whatever I would at home. Others have commented on road noise but I don't really notice it. Immaculately clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a great stay at this lovely motel in Nelson. We were welcomed by the two friendly hosts of this motel and they were very helpful. It was only a ten minute walk to the beach where we spent a couple of perfect summer days. The rooms were very clean, had modern features (such as HD tv's) and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Susanne, big thanks for lovely card ,and for this review of course . We would like very much to see you again soon. Regards, Vuki and Ivo More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Bravo Tudor Lodge. Every time we come back you have something new to offer. This time you have surprised us with over 50 TV channels, and your entertainment features, as a whole, are just what we need to unwind after a busy day. Great stay and will be seeing you again shortly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for great review.We will continue with improvements,as much as possible Regards, More

Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having stayed in motels 8 years ago when we visited NZ and now, the motels dont seem to have 'improved' and switches and beddings are all looking tired. The location was good but a little far away. We were only here for a night so it was a comfortable stay. Nothing special but nothing that bad either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

yes ,we charge laundry usage ,as all accommodation providers all around the world More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The unit was clean, with reasonably spacious rooms. there were sufficient cooking gear in the kitchen and the rooms had lovely warm electric blankets. Also pretty convenient to Nelson CBD Rooms were in slightly rough condition with holes in the walls not yet repaired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review . The holes were ongoing job for replacement of hair-dryer and bath -heather ,and are finished after your departure ,next Monday.I hope this holes did not ruin your lovely and enjoyable stay with us. Regards, Ivo More

Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here as a group for the masters games. What lovely friendly staff. Would definitely be back again. Only problem was the road noise if staying in front unit. Also found unit a bit damp and musty. Overall nice place though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Dear hurtle1 , thanks for your review.Hope to see you again. Regards, Ivo More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and kids stayed at this motel a number of years ago and we enjoyed the Tudor Lodge Motel immensely and this time we were not disappointed. My wife came down to the NZ Physics Conference 2013 and I accompanied her down for the weekend, spending some time with her when she had free time from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, thank you for wonderful review .Hope to see you again in Nelson, Regards, Ivo More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here about five years ago so decided to stay again this time when we were in Nelson to catch up with family. The rooms are very clean and large and have very comfortable beds and a very good selection of channels on the Television. Very friendly people when we checked in. The kitchen was very good as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for very nice review .Hope will se you again in Tudor Lodge Motel Nelson More

Townsville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hi Ivo! We loved staying at your wonderful motel. Our room was spacious with everything you need, very good value for the money. Thankyou for looking after us. Without your advice we would have wasted a lot of our "short" time. Hopefully we get to see you once in Germany. Give us a call. :) We actually made it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ivo P, Manager at Tudor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Christian and Anke, I am so pleased you had a very good ,unfortunately ,short time in our Nelson area,but I am sure that you will come again.It was nice to have you in Tudor Lodge Motel.I am glad that you had a good rest of the holiday. Thank you for wonderful review , Regards, Ivo More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tudor Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tudor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge Motel

Address: 52 Tahunanui Drive, Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Tudor Lodge Motel - Nelson Accommodation Nestled in the heart of Tahunanui, just a few minutes’ drive from Nelson city center and Richmond, Tudor Lodge Motel Nelson, NZ, is a family owned and operated accommodation situated 400 m from the lovely Tahunanui beach, where there is also a children’s play area and fun park nearby. Lots of wonderful restaurants and pubs are on our doorstep. The airport and golf course are 2 km away, as is the "NZ best" Saturday market in the city center. We are close to supermarkets and dairy shops, and art and craft studios. Kaiteriteri Beach, the gateway to the famous Abel Tasman National Park, is a 60 km drive away. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer