We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Nelson B&Bs / inns

Riverlodge Motel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Riverlodge Motel Apartments to your Saves list
31 Collingwood Street, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Riverlodge Motel Apartments
Ranked #30 of 57 Nelson B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for Riverlodge Motel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Baton Rouge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This motel was great! Our room was clean and tidy, and the family who ran the motel were fantastic - they whipped up a great breakfast for us, and even helped us find things to do on the days we were in Nelson. It's within walking distance to the heart of town, and just a short drive from some great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had the separate cottage and it was wonderful. Vintage and old fashioned but smart, clean and with a well appointed kitchen and every gadget required including a wide screen TV, sky and a box of DVDs for rainy days. Very quiet with off road parking, a lovely little home. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I didnt actually make it to Nelson to stay here but I cancelled the accommodation giving 6 days notice after changing my travel plans. I paid upfront through Jasons Travel NZ. I expected a cancellation fee but the proprietor refused to refund any of my $180 for 1 nights stay because I didnt have a 'good enough reason'. I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris F, Manager at Riverlodge Motel Apartments, responded to this review

It is unfortunate this person did not contact us directly about his need to cancel as we are generally supportive of people who talk to us and explain why they are unable to meet their contractual obligations. In this instance, the booking for a January date was made in November and the booking system used makes it impossible to click... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Although the loction might be central and therefore tempting, be warned the price is high for what you get. We were put in an annex to the rear, although we didn't reserve this when we booked on the web. This one room studio was cramped and the decor and furniture had seen better days. We heard every word our neighbours... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed at the Riverlodge for 2 nights as part of our 3 week New Zealand experience. Our room was toward the back of the complex, upstairs....sorry, don't remember the room number. Very comfortable bed, well appointed and roomy room, do-it-yourself amenities (kettle, toaster, mini-fridge, utensils etc.) tucked away out of site but still easily accessible. Excellent laundry facilities. Thought we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The accommodation was all fine, good clean room, great value, etc. We left behind the charger for my laptop and when we rang, they were so helpful and posted it to our niece's house for us. They couldn't have been more helpful. We are so grateful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We only spend one night in Nelson so this motel did the job for us. It wasn't difficult to find and the location was good for walking into the centre - nowhere is really very far in Nelson. The apartment was spacious, although I wouldn't have arranged the furniture in the same way - as it was, there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChCh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Booked Quier 2 bedroom unit, given:- old 3 bed cottage, complained, offered unit on cnr of 2 busy streets, I refused that. finally only option left-1 bedroom unit, fridge so noisy, wouldn't be able to sleep in lounge with it. Every time water used in other units, water tank over our motel, made a lot of noise. Paid for one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here on 2nd Feb and paid $115 for a nice studio room. The owner was very pleasant and obviously loves Nelson ( the town not the sailor ! ). The studio room was very clean with a nice kitchen area and large bathroom, although there was some plumbing noise, possibly from the laundry downstairs. The outside seating on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

I booked into the motel because it looked good on the internet and it was close to the CBD. Big Mistake! The location was good although a smell from the tidal river wafted through when the tide was out. But, that wasn't the only bad smell. The room that my two girls had was quite smelly and the whole place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverlodge Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Motel Apartments

Address: 31 Collingwood Street, Nelson 7001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Number of rooms: 11

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay