We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aurora Backpackers

163 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Retreat Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aurora Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hosts at the hostel. Very friendly staff who were very accomadating. Good location with free parking from 5pm until early morning. Clean facilities. Plenty to do in city centre with nice shops. The Vic is a great bar!

Helpful?
Thank Elen F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here traveling through the South Island. Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable rooms, close to everything in town. Loved the free breakfast option and the shuttle to Picton was perfect. Thank you so much!

Helpful?
Thank Julia P
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank You Julia, it was a pleasure to be able to provide accommodation for you..We really enjoyed having you here and wish you a fantastic experience in New Zealand. Many Thanks and Kind Regards Kevin@Aurora More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The mattresses were cheap foam and I basically slept on the duckboard, leading to a really sore back in the morning. There was heaps of dirty dishes in the kitchen and no one seemed to care. The people (longterm stayers I presume) sat in a group and eyed you when you sat nearby. The worst thing was, I was waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo32vsy
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Morning Leo and Thank You for your review. I'm sorry if you had an uncomfortable night with us, we strive to ensure that every one of our guests is comfortable.I do wish you had told us about the mattress and given us the opportunity to put that right, it benefits no one to suffer in silence...As it turns out... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nelson hotels

Shenzhen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

This backpackers is only 2mins walk from the bus terminal and located at the city center which is really good for travllers as you can easily access to most of places you need.such as shops, restaurants,cafe, supermarket ,night bars and banks are all within walking distance. and the owner was super nice and patient to help all your questions!!!! Rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicoleChen
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Morning Nicole Thank You so much for your positive review.We do try hard to do the best we can for our valued Guests and when someone like yourself posts an excellent review, well, we just feel very happy to have helped you during your travels around New Zealand.....A Heartfelt Thank You, from us here @Aurora !! More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

Seriously this is not a place you'd send your enemy. I arrived late bout 8:45 and to be honest it was pouring with rain and it was the first hostel I stumbled upon. Lesson learnt. Couldn't get in at first then when I did get in the only way to contact the staff was to call or text which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sharon and thank you for your review.Im so sorry that you thought our night watchman "Grumpy"and Aggressive.But he certainly wasnt.! He is in fact a gentle giant who does a wonderful job of keeping out the drunks and undesirables.Let me explain. We are a central city hostel with a lot of city hotels around us and we have worked... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Much nicer hostels in town! Regretted being lazy and getting the first place I noticed. If you look better you will definitely find places who have more to offer. This hostel is a bit outdated and needs upgrading of the facilities. Does not have unlimited free wifi whilst most others do.

Helpful?
Thank Meike S
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Meike and thank You for your review.I would however prefer it if you were honest with yourself and everybody else on this forum.. You have conveniently left out the crux of the matter which is that you asked me if I would write a letter for you stating that you were staying at our backpackers.At that point I said... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Not the best hostel in Nelson but if you're just passing by then it's not too bad. The hostel is a bit of a maze and felt a bit outdated. Dorms were quite small but beds were OK. Bathrooms need an update but OK as well. The free breakfast was cereal and milk so don't expect a buffet or anything..... More 

Helpful?
Thank sliliana
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank You Sliliana, for your review of Aurora.You touched on some valid points about us.We are an older building, indeed an old inner city public house, heritage listed.There are a lot of hallways and passages and in places it is a bit like a maze.We love the place! and find that most of the guests enjoy their time here as... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

I stayed there for one night in the dormitories and it was all ok, the room had 10 beds, the kitchen was well equipped and clean, Hot shower, 30 minutes of free wifi,good location. Not any cool atmosphere just a nice place to stay and affordable.

Helpful?
Thank adimeidan
Aurorabackpackers, Owner at Aurora Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank You for your honesty is reviewing us Adimeidan.. It was our pleasure to have you at our place and wish you happy trails in New Zealand and beyond.. Kind regards Kevin@Aurora.. More 

Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stumbled across this centrally located gem in the middle of Nelson's active center city. It was just seconds away from multiple outdoors and travel oriented businesses and establishments. The wide open internet cafe on the ground floor was what drew me in. Their modern and amazingly fast computers were a huge relief to the slow satellite signals that control phones... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I stayed at Aurora Backpackers for 2 nights. I was in a female dorm and I paid only 24 dollars. I arrived quite late and hadn't booked, but the staff was very welcoming and helpful which was really nice especially when you're super tired. They put their guests on the first place which I find amazing. Aurora is an example... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aliénor D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Nelson
Quest Nelson
#10 of 39 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Nelson by Accents
YHA Nelson by Accents
#19 of 39 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shortbread Cottage
Shortbread Cottage
#14 of 39 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Almond House Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities