We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Oamaru B&Bs / inns

Pen-y-bryn Lodge

5.0 of 5 Inn   |   41 Towey Street, Oamaru 9401, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pen-y-bryn Lodge to your Saves list
Pen-y-bryn Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
95%
Ranked #2 of 18 Oamaru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Sara K Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
49
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Pen-y-bryn Lodge at the beginning of our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. From the moment we booked James and James contacted us to see if there was anything they could do to make it special, including any special requests for dinner (which was served in a separate room to other guests). We were incredibly exhausted after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

It was our great pleasure to welcome you to Pen-y-bryn as part of your honeymoon celebration, and we are so happy that we were able to give you the relaxation and comfort you were hoping for. And of course, should you ever wish to return and fulfil that yearning for a few more nights' stay or a cooking class we... More

New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Posting this review on behalf of my parents, who thoroughly enjoyed their stay at Pen-y-bryn last night. They left Oamaru for home this morning, replete after a lovely breakfast and still raving about the marvellous hospitality of the Jameses, and the small yet thoughtful touches that made all the difference (for example; the bed turned down and complete with ‘hotties’,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

How nice of your parents to wish to let us and other travellers know how much they enjoyed their stay with us. We like to think that a gift of a stay at Pen-y-bryn is a very welcome gift, and we are very happy that we were able to make your parents' birthday a little bit special. Please wish them... More

Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

james and james have turned this beautiful house into simply the best b&b in the South Island. the term b&b sells it very short. we arrived here giving 24hrs notice after a huge drive from the north island. they prepared a 'wee snack' for us - incredible. too delicious to describe the treats so I shall post a photograph instead.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Manager at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful comments about your stay here! We enjoyed having you visit us enormously and look forward to your return. As you mention, we hope to have the three rooms in our Annex building significantly upgraded into mini-suites by this time next year, pending approval from the people at Heritage NZ and our local council. Of course,... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a beautiful lodge! Attentive and expert hosts (James & James); wonderful historic introduction; every item of food explained in detail and baked/cooked on site from fresh produce; Hard to ask for more. Wonderful dining experience at all times of the day or night. Lovely bedroom; it was like taking a step back in time, but with the latest 21st... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Manager at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad that you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the meal that we prepared for you. Being hosts to wonderful guests is the best part of our new lifestyle as lodge-owners (not so new now, actually!) and seeing you take the time to share your experience with other travellers really touches our... More

Shawnee, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a Lodge concept, where you can stay and dine there if you give the hosts notice. We were recommended this location by a travel advisor en route between Queenstown and Christchurch. The Hosts met us at door, acclimated us, and served up a gorgeous home with great art, memorabilia, and a billiard a room with a full sized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Manager at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! We definitely encourage our guests to consider Pen-y-bryn to be their home away from home during their stay, and to use all the nooks and crannies of the place to their heart's content (though trying to move the billiard table is definitely not recommended!). Thank... More

Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We picked Pen-y-bryn Lodge as our stop over in route to Christchurch from Queenstown. It was raining so we didn't want to go through Lake Tekapo and not be able to see anything. Plus, we didn't find any lodging in Lake Tekapo that we wanted to stay at. Pen-y-bryn exceeded our expectations. We were the only guests due to being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us (and so sorry for not responding sooner--for some reason Tripadvisor no longer seems to notify us of new reviews!). We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and hope we'll get to welcome you again, since we have a number of improvements that we are... More

Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The lodge is a charming old house with a lot of space, room with a fireplace to sit with the other guest for a drink, also with the hosts James & James, late in the afternoon and dinner/ breakfast in another large room. Dinner/breakfast is also with the other guest. Dinner and breakfast is very good. There is also the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! You might be interested to know that we have begun work to expand three of our other guest rooms so that they will not only be larger than the one you were in, but will also have super-king beds (as our Park Room does now), which might be more suitable to guests who prefer a... More

Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Pen-y-Bryn is a beautiful property and well-maintained. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed visiting with them by the fire one evening. You certainly won't go away hungry from breakfast; what a great selection and all homemade! If you choose to have dinner you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Pen-y-bryn and appreciate your comments about our cuisine, something we take a lot of pride in and that we enjoy sharing with our guests. More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were there for a business retreat. We were well looked after without it being intrusive at all. The Lodge is beautiful and it was lovely and quiet there so we could concentrate on what we needed to get done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James_Glucksman, Owner at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you not just for your kind review, but also for making Pen-y-bryn the site of your recent retreat! We hope that you were able to focus on your work and get done what you needed, and that you will think of us again when you're looking for a bit of a break from the day-to-day! More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was all too brief in this marvellous testament and memorial to good living, good company and hospitality. Staying in the main house was definitely a step back into history. This should not be taken as implying any lack of luxury but rather the ambience of the period. The rooms had been restored with care and a fine eye... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James_Glucksman, Manager at Pen-y-bryn Lodge, responded to this review

Wow, what a pleasure it was to read your review of your stay with us! We're so glad you had such a good time--we really enjoyed having you with us, and to see you enjoy your Sichuan-style meal so much! We hope that your onward journey was uneventful--the weather forecast did not look too promising, but we hope that all... More

Do you own or manage Pen-y-bryn Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pen-y-bryn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-bryn Lodge

Address: 41 Towey Street, Oamaru 9401, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pen-y-bryn Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Pen-y-bryn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay