We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

144 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2150, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    69
    61
    41
    58
See reviews for
63
95
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we booked in at the same address but next door! and it was nothing like the website. the whole place needs revamping, the shower had dirt and grim and a tile was loose on the shower floor. the tap was difficult to turn off. the sheets were clean but the cover not. only one light worked. the tv had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First this place does not look like the hotel on the site. They took major liberties to show a motel that doesn't look like what you get. Bait and Switch comes to mind. The room has no AC. The bathroom has stains all over the sink. The interior looks extremely dated. I do not ever write reviews but this made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not too far from Auckland airport, friendly staff , get all the basics one expects such as car park, wifi etc reasonable price, few improvements required though . The washrooms need a bit of work to bring them up to the mark . However at that price one should not expect too much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed there for two nights and it's absolutely fine and really warm reception. Partially a boy working at front desk is really helpful. Also it is near the super market which is again handy. We have micro wave and other things in the apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Amjad Thank you so much for your praise of one of our staff members. All our team actively read Trip Advisor it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things about a particular member. Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a property can keep striving to the high standards we... More 

Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horrible place need to be refurbished. Bathroom dirty, walls and ceiling plastered with peeling paint. Located opposite cemetery… Yard and car park littered with garbage. Extremely expensive! Having to attend to a funeral we were unfortunately at the mercy of what was available at short notice. We choose it because it was located near the airport as one of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Due to Event in Auckland accommodation rates were a bit higher all over Auckland.Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to me. We invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horrible place & expensive. Room was dirrrty. Diaper left in room. Microwave did not work. Shower head was broken. Staff was rude. Restaurant was closed. Holes in the walls. Probably the worst place I have ever stayed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, I thank you for your feedback and am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused . Due to Event in Auckland accommodation rates were a bit higher all over Auckland. Please allow me to express my apologies for the challenge you have experienced as this does not reflect at all our normal standards of service. I will... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish I had read TripAdvisor before inflicting his disgusting excuse for an "awesome room" (read wotif for explanation). Having committed to flights we unfortunately were at the mercy of what was available. We usually stay at Novotel fit about $300. We paid over $400 to listen to swearing through paper thin walls. Room was vile, mouldy, slime, smelly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Paula, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Due to Event in Auckland accommodation rates were a bit higher all over Auckland. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. I... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were puzzled as to why the door to our room wouldn't open before realising the bar fridge was sitting out by a couple of millimeters. We managed to get our fingers in the door and move the fridge in just enough for the door to open. There were scrape marks on the door and fridge as though this had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. We invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was adequate for the night we stayed. Large room comfortable. Room needed airing when we arrived. Reception was efficient if not friendly. The bathroom was a big let down with need of a major upgrade. The shower was the worst I have ever come across , inconsistent hot water with less pressure than any shower I have used before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause due to shower problem. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

brusque receptionist, even with identification and valid credit card, I felt treated as if I intended to leave without paying. No friendly introduction to the hotel amenities and warnings everywhere that your possessions could be stolen, no wifi offered until requested. 200 mb free. Who has to pay for wifi these days! Room 202 was as hot as Hades, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback.I am terribly disappointed to know that your stay was not to your satisfaction and specially disappointed to see that you did not find on the team the warmth and caring attitude that we really pride ourselves on. I am also disappointed to read that you had trouble upon check in with your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question