We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

144 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible terrible service. Staff were not helpful at all. Travelling with a senior citizen and two small children we were not shown to our room or offered any assistance. Room was filthy! Air conditioning fan on wall which did not work so we could not stay in the room for long as it was ridiculously hot. Requested another fan for... More 

Helpful?
Thank kiris_6
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Kiris I thank you for your feedback and am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenge you have experienced as this does not reflect at all our normal standards of service. I will obviously review this issue with the team in order to avoid any future occurrence.... More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here on out last night in Auckland due to the location being so close to the airport.Price was very fair.Lovely friendly staff. Room was great, bed very comfy with extra pillows. Nice and clean. The female receptionist was very friendly and helpful she went way beyond to help us. enjoyed our stay and would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank reidsally50
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Reidsally Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. We are also so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Will keep it simple...the place smelt like an Indian Samosa....was told that the sky Tv didn't work because of the provider...not their problem. To top it off a person got a hell of a fright along with myself and my elderly Mother when they unlocked our room at mid night and came into the room ! No apologies the next... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank johnpA6582KQ
Holybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For a cheap near the airport stopover this is ok. Nothing fancy. Rooms are large and beds ok. Restaurant is next door in other hotel. Important to book shuttle to airport as it only goes every hour and fills up - otherwise it's a taxi. Photo taken at dawn from the car park!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer . Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good features of this motel are the price and the included breakfast. Having said that, the room are not too cleaned, it looks scruffy and the walls are way too narrow (you can hear everything from the room besides). It's also far from town (20'). There should be better alternatives

Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Carlo It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and included breakfast. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. I have addressed your concerns with our respective managers and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

This IS a budget hotel but having said that it wouldn't have been hard To give a bit better customer service. Having to drag luggage up, to beg for a second pillow and not have anyone ask if everything is ok when obviously one of our party was quite ill (we asked for directions to a chemist, extra towels and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aliyore
ShalendP_11, Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Aliyore, Thank you for your feedback. However, the property you are reviewing does not seem to be our property as all our rooms are on ground floor but your review mentioned dragging luggage up . I hope this review can be moved to the appropriate property. Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

My family and I (5 of us in 2 rooms) stayed in the motel for 22 days. A day before our departure, I was told that I have to pay for an extra NZD $150 for each room, for a special cleaning of the room since we have stayed in the two rooms for more than 10 days. I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vlameko
ShalendP_11, Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Vlameko We thank you for staying at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel and would like to respond to your review. In answer to your "(hidden) costs" comment: This is the first time that our cleaner had ever taken longer than the usual time to clean the rooms and was shocked at the state it was left after your stay. How... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

If you looking for a cheap motel near the airport, this is the place. Don't except too much. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. There is some shops, doctors office, two restaurants five minutes walk down the road. It's a long way to the city but there is a car hire place next door. The bath room could be cleaner... More 

Helpful?
Thank mzz36f
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Granted I arrived extremely early but imagine seeing that sign and going to the next door hotel and they didnt know anything. In addition the receptionist in the other hotel wasnt helpful and wouldn't even let me know what the cancellation policy was. Apparently the motel, hotel, and backpackers are all run by the same person. All he said was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela O
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Pamela Thank you so much for your feedback. I did an investigation on this and found that you arrived around 5.00am at the Hotel reception and were informed to go to Motel reception after 7.00am as check in time starts after 2.00pm and you never showed up to Motel reception. At the same time we also received phone call... More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

bus to and from the airport is very efficient and regular. we just need a place to stay before and after our international flight for which most manukau hotels are for. can be cheaper if they want to capture the market

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
ShalendP_11, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thank you for your review. We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangere hotels
1.0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
1.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airport Skyway Lodge
Airport Skyway Lodge
#11 of 23 in Mangere
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay