We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport

4.0 of 5 Cnr Kirkbride and Ascot Rds, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2154, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport
Professional photos View all
Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    73
    47
    39
See reviews for
34
63
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Only stayed 1 nite.thank god,needs a huge makeover, and tidy up. Not really a hotel,but a doss house. Staff were ok, no lifts to rooms,long corridors.was a good shower in bathroom. Everything old and needs a serious makeover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “grantwoakfields”, Thank you for staying with us and taking time review the hotel in regards to recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have caused. We certainly value your feedback in regards to the lift within the hotel. Unfortunately that wasn’t part of the building plans in the past but something that is being... More 

Thames, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was thrilled to be able to purchase a cheaper deal through grab one. Was so excited to go to a 'lavish' hotel. But sadly we were sent to the 'back' well...the side. Of the hotel, I felt like I was unworthy of something nice. We usually stay at the Kiwi International hotel which is cheaper and I found the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “MargaretDo”, Thank you for staying with us and taking time review the hotel in regards to recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you found your room lesser quality comparing to other premises around the airport area. We have different types of room-categories and each one of them offer different style, from quick stop-over to executive types with... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location may be close to the airport, but the area around the hotel is very dull. The hotel itself is old and out dated, not to mention the hotel staff were a bit sneaky and tried to give us a smaller room than the one we had booked (1 bed instead of 2)! It is what it is, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “Dee2304”, Thank you for staying with us here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay. We value your feedback in regards to the age of the property. However, there are certainly plans and projects for a major refurbishment in the upcoming months. I am sorry to hear... More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

needed a hotel for 24 hours in Auckland so decided to try an airport one. Wish I'd picked the Novotel which is on the Airport site. while the Grand Chancellor says it has airport transport it is actually a shared bus service with several other hotels costs $6.50 each way and pay by credit card - or coins no change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “JohnMacCalman”, Thank you for staying here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the front desk failed to follow some vital steps during your stay. Your comments have certainly been shared with reception manager to remedy those areas of the services immediately. Guest internet (WIFI) has just... More 

Tauranga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is handy to the Auckland airport. That is the one positive. While it is advertised as 4-star it is 3 at best. The staff were all friendly enough, but they were slow to attend the front desk - I had to reach over the counter for the bell and give it several thumps before an apologetic front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “David H”, Thank you for staying here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of staff attendance physically at front desk. I have shared your comments with the reception manager to remedy those areas of the service immediately. This rarely occurs when receptionists need assistance... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Use this hotel only if you are desperate and need to be close to the airport. The nearby Holiday Inn is much nicer with free wifi for IHG Priority Club members. The wifi in the Grand Chancellor Hotel is horrendously poor with dropped connections and slowness as bad as a dial-up line from 1996. The hotel itself is clean but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “LivingAnExaminedLife”, Thank you for staying here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies due to the quality of WIFI. Guest internet (WIFI) has just been upgraded and final stage of the installation is yet to be carried out this week to provide better signal with various pricing and... More 

Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On my last visit I had an OK room and service was not terrible. This time i got a room like a motel room. I had to pay $10 for wifi, and then it does not work in the room they put me in. I had been traveling 24 hrs + with lost luggage not arrived, etc. so declined a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “csundseth”, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you found the room rather like a motel room. As a hotel, we offer various types of accommodation in order to meet guests’ expectations at all market level. Please be advised there... More 

Glenhaven, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there two nights (1 night on arrival to Auckland and 1 night prior to departure). We booked two rooms for a family of 4. On arrival despite the website saying there was a bus shuttle it was $8 per person and for 4 of us it would have been better to take a taxi as we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “Richard A”, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment in regards to the taxi and the shuttle service. 40 minutes delay is definitely beyond the standards and we will certainly pass your feedback onto the company (external provider)... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am a little upset at having to write a really bad review for this hotel as I have visited many times and never had a problem as it is a great stop over hotel . This time it was really bad. Arrived at 3.00 and after some time on the computer it was obvious there was a tinker with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Over the phone booking the room initially, the service was friendly and bubbly. However when we arrived we stood at the counter without any acknowledgement for a while, before being told their computer was down and to take a seat to wait. The room itself was nice enough, though there was a dirty cleaning rag left on the sink. Upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGCAA, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport, responded to this review

Dear “jkh80”, Thank you for staying with us here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport and taking time to review the hotel. I am sorry to hear about what you have witnessed at reception which we would like to address with the staff members involved. This is certainly not the service standards we strive to achieve. Due to the language... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport

Address: Cnr Kirkbride and Ascot Rds, Airport Oaks, Mangere 2154, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport Hotel
Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport Mangere
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mangere

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Grand Chancellor Auckland Airport

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby