We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Gateway Hotel

206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Gateway Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Airport Gateway Hotel
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    81
    51
    88
See reviews for
55
119
62
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
There are newer reviews for Airport Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is situation conveniently near to the airport. It provides amazing value for money. My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way out of New Zealand. The rate includes a very comfortable room, continental breakfast (upgradable to a cooked) and if need be storage for a car. A good shuttle service to the airport is included! Whilst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had an early Flight and chose this hotel as I could see it had a Free shuttle to the Airport and that was something I needed as my flight was 6.15. Arriving greeted by warm friendly staff in reception. I had booked on line and all was in order. They even said they would give me an early morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
airportgh, Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Harry, Thanks for your feed back. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our free shuttle service and the front desk staff on your arrival. The bathrooms are in the process of phased renovation, and I am sure in your next stay with us you shall enjoy a good shower. Regards More 

New Plymouth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You get what you pay for here. Check-in was rushed . The room was of good size. The blankets (no duvet or top sheet) clearly had big stains on it. The lightshades were broken and the room was dated. The bathroom is in need of replacement however it was reasonably clean. No cuttlery, wine glasses etc.The walls are not insulated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We appreciate your feed back and will resolve the issues raised by you. The hotel is under the process of renovation and we are going about it in a phased manner. It is unfortunate that you stayed in a room that had a old bathroom. During your next stay I shall ensure that you get a room with a... More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is great if what you want is just an economic bed for the night. I checked in off a late arrival flight, took a bus into the city from outside the front door, returned at midnight and was back at the airport by 0630. Checkin and checkout were efficiently handled and the room though basic was quiet, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent the night here before going overseas for a fortnight. The attraction was that it was cheap, our car could be stored there for the two weeks we were away and they provide a free shuttle to and from the airport. For the price it ticked all the boxes, but you get what you pay for and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and am generally satisfied - at least it seems good value for the location and convenience. It is close to the airport and they do free pick-up at any time, which is great. However, I think it's more like a 'motel' or 'lodge' than 'hotel'. It's pretty average and as someone said, dated or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were booked in for two nights by our company as we were attending a conference in the area. If I had a choice I would have walked straight out again. Receptionist was rude. We had four rooms and not one was satisfactory. Rooms were dated and unclean. Mould around showers and skylights. Cracked dirty tiles in the bathrooms. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi , We are sorry for your unpleasant stay at our property. Your points are noted for future compliance and would be actioned upon. We are in the process of renovating bathrooms and corridor carpet in next few months. We have already renovated one third of the bathrooms and this is unfortunate that you did not stayed in one of... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

got a good deal on booking.com for $79 for double room with 2 free continental breakfast and free shuttle service. it was good stay before flying overseas. The hotel is old but still maintained. The rooms were spacious and bathroom was great. Will stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a delayed flight we arrived at 2 am with 3 tired kids & 2 adults, we had pre booked 2 nights at $145 a night. The shuttle should have been our first warning. The reception and room were disgusting, they key would not fit into the lock so they broke into our room... The smell was disgusting the sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shelley, We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. This is the first time that we have received a feedback from the guest with regards to the linen. We have informed our laundry supplier for the same. With regards to the key opening the door of your room, on checking the lock is working fine. I fail to understand why... More 

Waipu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, one before our trip and one after, reason for staying the price and car parking included, we think we got the last park available at the rear of the property, so parking is hit and miss. Rooms were adequate and clean, beds comfortable enough, but the whole complex is tired, but you get what you pay for,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question