We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Mangere hotels

Airport Gateway Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Airport Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Gateway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
36%
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Mangere
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Savy1986 New Delhi, India
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    61
    38
    55
See reviews for
41
86
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am the type of person who will let a few things slide here and there as I am not a fussy person. But WOW! I was absolutely horrified with this motel. Firstly, we arrived and the lady at reception checked my partner and I into room with 3 single beds. Did she expect us to sleep in a bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very near to the Auckland airport, most of the staffs were Indian and Fiji. Rooms were clean and big. I personally liked the location and staffs were very helpful since this was our first base when we landed in New Zealand and they helped in every possible way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here for the night of the Rolling Stones Concert, that was unfortunately cancelled. I called the hotel to cancel my reservation 6 days prior to the arrival date, my cancellation was accepted but with a 10% cancellation which I grudgingly accepted, given the circumstances. I was told that my credit card would be refunded with the difference. On receiving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't be more surprised with the experience we had at this motel. Free airport shuttle (ask the info desk near McDondalds at the airport to use their free phone service to call), free laundry, free wifi, and great dinner recommendation around the corner. Yes, it is a basic motel but the staff were wonderful and being pleasantly surprised with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first base when we landed in New Zealand. We wanted somewhere close to the airport and we got it. Room's are standard and clean. Reception team unhelpful. Swimming pool badly looked after and the spa facilities non existent. If you want comfort don't go here, if you want a place to drop your stuff and explore then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Don't try to save money by staying here. It is terrible. Demolition appears to be the best option. Our rooms were not clean. Had to take a sleeping pill just to get through the night. It was a terrible introduction to NZ which fortunately improved the farther away we got from the Gateway. I can't believe it passes inspections. Worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry, I am not able to trace your booking and it is under which name. Your review looks suspicious to us and is misleading to our customers. There was no feed back also given to me with regards to your complaint and we have nothing on record. Regards Ajay More

Weedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here as it was a cheap overnight stay before continuing our journey from Auckland to Hong Kong. Didn't start well as due to some ' mix up' had an hours wait for shuttle from airport to hotel. No apology given on arrival at reception. Overall impression of the hotel was they were either awaiting demolition or for a substantial... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are happy to note that you liked the standard of linen and towels of our room. You also liked the shuttle drop off to the airport. Just to let you know that we are undergoing renovations in a phased manner and hope to finish it soon. Regards Ajay More

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late so I was looking for a free shuttle and close proximity to the airport after a very long flight from Texas. The room was very outdated but clean sheets. The bathroom door had no lock and the tub surround was ancient and needed to be replaced. However, the water was hot and the towels clean. The shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I think the picture on Expedia are misleading. The room looked nothing like the picture. Worse it was dirty and moldy. There was black mold in the bathroom and on th carpet where clearly the shower leaked. The hot water in bathroom did not work. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable. Do not stay here if you are looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are undergoing renovations in a phased manner and I am sure in your next visit you shall have a new room to yourself. Regards Ajay More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here when I arrived in Auckland and the night before I left, due to it's close location to the airport. That being said, you still need a shuttle or car to get to the airport. They do provide a shuttle. The rooms are clean, all be it a bit older. The first room the hot water in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Airport Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Hotel

Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Mangere
Hotel Airport Gateway
Airport Gateway Hotel Auckland/Mangere
Address: 206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Gateway Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Airport Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.