We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

3.0 of 5 Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
19
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Aussie
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our way through to Perth. The rooms are clean and comfortable but very outdated. Bed and bedding are ok, tv was on a box close to the floor....odd. Bathroom was clean. Tea/coffee sachets and tiny little motel cups. This motel is quite a way out of town but that's ok if you want just a meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing to complain about here, room was nicely appointed and clean. We had an upstairs room with a view of the golf course, could not fault it. We ate in the restaurant which started out life as a hotel in the 1800's. and retains many of the original features. The service was prompt and the fish was enjoyable. The menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Part of a group booking. The rooms are fine but a bit dated - the whole place feels just the same as when we stayed here in 2010. Time for a renovation!! The hotel is certainly quiet and set on the edge of the golf course. Beds comfortable. It's also some distance out of Port Augusta so you can't just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew B, Manager at Standpipe Golf Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear StargazerMelbourne, Thank you for your comments. We understand that our budget rooms are a bit dated and we reflect that on our prices $110. Although, we still include LCD TV, Foxtel, A/C and tea & coffee facilities. We will be more than happy to host you in one of our updated rooms on your next visit! Kindest Regards, The... More

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

A bit disappointed, have stayed here once before and found the rooms very dated. Decided to try again as read the rooms had been updated, but unfortunately got one of the old rooms again. Whilst they were clean, the decor was very old, brown timber, old worn stained carpet, curtains stuck to walls, the fridge made an annoying noise all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew B, Manager at Standpipe Golf Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear CityTraveller333, Thank you for your comments. We understand that our budget rooms are a bit dated and we reflect that on our prices $110. Although, we still include LCD TV, Foxtel, A/C and tea & coffee facilities. We will be more than happy to host you in one of our updated rooms on your next visit! Please ask of... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
68 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here one night as part of a group - so we had no say in booking the place.Our room was just fine, spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything worked in the bathroom and the room was whisper-quiet and the mattress firm, so got a great night's sleep. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and then for breakfast. Probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed overnight as part of a group. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the service was great. Nothing was too much trouble for the gentleman on reception. Centrally located, and easy to access all facilities. Food was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broken Hill, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed many times. Consistently good. The staff are pleasant, lovely meal. Beds great. We stayed in a room which had been upgraded a bit. Much better. New aircon, vanity, loo, carpet and bedding. The bathroom's pretty dated, but I don't sleep in it. Had had 2 bad experiences preceding this night! So were needing a good night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have stayed several times and each time we have been impressed by the service and comfort. It is close to the highway to WA or Cooper Pedy. We were only a stone throw(bit more than that) from the Arid lands botanical gardens and considering it was close to the highways, we did not have any problems with vehicle noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff at this hotel. We had a week long conference. From the managers right down to the cleaners EVERYONE was fantastic looking after our every needs .also the food was delicious. Had the opportunity to see the wonderful chefs working in an immaculately clean kitchen . Great managed facility

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Standpipe Hotel many times on business trips but this is my first chance to add a review. Most recently I stayed in an Executive Room which was ok but I prefer the upstairs rooms overlooking the golf course. Highlight of this trip was the food I ordered from the restaurant. A delicious rump steak and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Standpipe Golf Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standpipe Golf Motor Inn

Address: Corner Eyre & Stuart Highways, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Standpipe Golf Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Standpipe Golf Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Augusta

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay