We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Port Augusta accommodations

Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park

4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
66%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Trevor A Adelaide, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (16)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
24
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the standard cabins many times over the course of a couple of months. The cabin was always clean and fresh and there were never any issues. The airconditioners were very effective, as were the heaters. On the odd occasion when some high spirited people were making a fair bit of noise, the staff were quick to settle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenParks, Manager at Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Port Augusta Holiday Park, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff work very hard to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay so I will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, before heading to Perth. We stayed in a Spa cabin however the spa did not work. Also there had obviously been someone smoking in the cabin before us. As soon as we walked in you could smell the smoke. As the park was full we could not ask for another cabin so had to open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night on our way to WA. The amenities were clean and spotless and the staff were very friendly. However, we felt the park fee for the night was expensive. We had stayed a night in Adelaide big 4 park and their park fees were considerably lower. Would recommend the park to others, but it may be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a caravan for one night on a powered site. The site was rather narrow and we were directed to park in a very specific way with adjacent vehicles facing in opposite directions as this was the only way we could have a measure of privacy. A somewhat officious employee told us we had parked too far forward... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenParks, Manager at Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Port Augusta Holiday Park, we appreciate receiving your comments. Regarding the site you were booked on these are specific drive through sites and if clients wish to stay hitched these are the only site options. We apologise for the staff’s attitude and we can assure you this will be addressed as this... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only stayed here 1 night as heading to Coober Pedy but we really enjoyed it. We had ensuite site 42 which was across from the camp kitchen. It was the best camp kitchen we have seen in our 8 week holiday travelling around..was fabulous actually. There was a nice pool and they had free WiFi. Would definitely recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenParks, Manager at Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we really appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased to hear you had a good time. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey. More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very small sites, packed in like sardines, ours was very unlevel,not good.Not very friendly reception staff, quite rude actually. We were told to not leave anything of value out by other people not reception. Wouldn't stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenParks, Manager at Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Port Augusta Holiday Park. We appreciate receiving our guest’s feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, we are continually improving our facilities and during your stay we were upgrading our sites which meant we did not have as much space as we normally do. We apologise if... More

Dapto, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved this place, We stayed in the "Deluxe Unit" the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, not the usual hard bed, more like sleeping on a cloud, the shower hot, cabin clean and well situated within the park. The park was clean and we'll kept. I would gladly stay here again and for more than 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the big 4. we stayed on a powered site. We found the site bigger than most site's. The toilet close by and always clean and tidy. We would recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

In May 2014 I took a cabin called "Deluxe Unit". For $158.00 I got a two bedroom cabin, double and a queen, kitchen, lounge suite, dining table and a massive new air conditioner. It was evident the curtains were near new and the mattress was excellent "BUT" my Deluxe Unit also had swollen cupboard doors, torn vinyl, broken tiles, sticky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here 1 may 2014 in our motor home. We arrived to friendly service and good direction. The showers were nice and hot and clean. Very happy as we paid more at cober pedy big 4 with no hot water. ( this was all we were after after traveling such long days)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park

Address: Cnr Highway One & Stokes Terrace, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Port Augusta with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the tip of the Spencer Gulf, Port Augusta is known as the 'Crossroads of Australia'. It is where the major inland highways from Western Australia, Northern Territory, New South Wales and Victoria converge, and offers the weary traveller a perfect stopover between vast travelling distances. Port Augusta is an excellent holiday destination with a variety of attractions, wide range of water activities, relaxing foreshore including playground and barbecue areas and extensive shopping facilities. Visit the Wadlata Outback Centre and take a walk through the "Tunnel of Time", an interpretive, interactive, three dimensional display offering a fun learning experience for the whole family. The Australian Arid Lands Botanic Gardens are located just 5 minutes drive from Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park and provides a fascinating insight into the Outback's plant and bird life. The Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden showcases a range of arid zone environments within an area of more than 200 hectares. From Flinders Lookout you can admire the superb views of the spectacular and ancient Flinders Ranges. At the foothills of the imposing Flinders Ranges, Port Augusta is the 'back door' to the great Australian outback, this intriguing environment where desert meets the sea, is a delight to explore. All in all Port Augusta is fabulous base for easy access to the attractions of the Flinders Ranges, Eyre Peninsula and Outback. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
94

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Port Augusta BIG4 Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer