We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Happy Wanderer Village

105 Truro Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Wanderer Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Happy Wanderer Village
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took the family here for almost 2 weeks. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Facilities were great, everything we needed -even movies on the big screen for the kids for a bit of wind down time. Everything was clean and tidy. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel a lot and stay in parks and motels all across Australia and I have rarely been as impressed with a facility as I was with the Happy Wanderer. There is not one fault to find. We had an ensuite powered site which was well appointed. The grounds were scrupulously maintained, the amenities clean and modern and the leisure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Happy Wanderer Holiday Park is compact, well presented, friendly and ideal for time spent in Hervey Bay. The facilities are ideal with well distributed BBQ areas, lots of shade and landscaping and a terrific pool area. We stayed in a cabin for a week and it was perfect for 3 of us. Friends brought their caravan to stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We've stayed at a lot of Caravan Parks pulling our Caravan around Australia and I would have to rate Happy Wanderer at Hervey Bay right up there as one of our favourites. It's as neat as a pin and close to everything... but far enough away from the main roads to be peaceful and quiet. We stayed on our recent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The village was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a budget cabin with attached ensuite which were basic but included everything needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Within a short, flat walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ettalong Beach, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have just experienced a great family holiday in the Happy Wanderer Caravan Park as there was so much to do for the children in the pool and playground areas. It was difficult to sort the adults from the kids with hopscotch and a unique spider game. Thanks to the management and staff our stay was very enjoyable and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin which was perfect for our family of 5. The park was immaculate, the pool great for all ages and the check in and check out easy and very friendly. I would highly recommend this caravan park. The only thing which would have been useful was a washing line :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review

Dear SummerbabyBrisbane, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to see you again in the future. We did consider installing cloths lines at the cabins, unfortunately there was not a suitable place, however there are cloths lines and dryers at both the laundries within the village. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Phoned up and asked for a cabin. Was told there was a studio unit available, expecting that this was an open plan type cabin. Wanted a cabin as this was what I had seen on the Internet. Was never told it was a motel type room. Anyway booked and paid for the room and turned up to find a run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review

Sorry you feel disappointed and ripped off. I agree you enquired as to the availably of a Cabin over the PEAK Christmas period as you have stated. You were informed there were no cabins available for the date you requested. The receptionist did inform you the only accommodation available for your requested date was a Studio Unit (not Cabins), you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Stayed in a cabin that was nearly new. It had an external ensuite that was older but clean and large. The park staff were friendly and very helpful in assisting with sightseeing plans. Short walk to the beach and restaurants and little further to supermarket. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed our updated 1 bedroom budget range. They have proved very popular since we installed them in April. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Travelled here from Sydney with my husband, we stayed here for a week and it was great the room was clean and very cosy, kitchen was equipped with everything we needed plates, pots and pans etc.. We will def be back when visiting Hervey Bay & VERY AFFORDABLE... THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR MAKING US FEEL WELCOME... :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question