We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akama Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Offers & Announcements
AUD150 (AUD)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akama Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akama Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    318
    58
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
155
146
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (392)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor, overlooking the harbour. Great accommodation with everything needed to make your holiday one to remember. Heated spa and pool kept the kids entertained for hours. Underground secure parking and service desk available to book all your tours, with pickup at the door. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dianne010_10 It is really good for us when we see a family enjoying themselves as much as you did and we love it when kids don't want to go home. The reason we had the pool and spa heating installed, is exactly for families like you that enjoy our beautiful winter weather. We've only had two days this month... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked this resort for 4 nights at the very last minute. Regina on the booking desk could not have been more helpful and we knew we were in good hands from the start. Before we left we were advised that Hervey Bay was very touristy and over crowded so we were a little apprehensive on our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Christine 186223 Thank you so much for the lovely review. If we were able to rate our guests you would be ‘five stars’ too. Such friendly people and enthusiastic travellers – you obviously enjoyed your time in our part of the world. It is always great to hear that our guests have appreciated our excellent location and taken advantage... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Wow! The Akama Resort must be one of the best resorts in the area. The apartments are absolutely fantastic and very spacious. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and the kitchens very well equipped. Each apartment has a large balcony and the upstairs apartments have glorious views. Although the first apartment we had was on the ground floor that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Norman B, Wow – what a great review. We were very pleased when you extended your visit and then came back to stay with us after your adventure on Fraser Island. You were such lovely people and so enthusiastic about what Hervey Bay had to offer. It was nice to see you heading off every day to explore the... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fantastic place, we had a huge 2 bedroom. Beds were comfy, everything you needed was there. 5* finishes. Boat Club nearby was perfect for meals. Our 3 year old loved it. Great location. Reg was very welcoming, thanks for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Seeingtheworld73 – what a lovely review. We’re always pleased to hear from such well-travelled guests and to read that you enjoyed your stay, is very rewarding. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Akama one day. Best wishes to you for your future travels. Kindest regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with our children for a 3 day weekend and wow were we impressed! The hotel is beautiful inside! Modern, new, clean and comfortable! Perfect location and really an amazing place to stay! Parking would be the only complaint we would have as people park in your bay and there are not a lot parking bays. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Laura F Thank you so much for the great review. We were so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable long weekend. Sorry to hear that you had a problem with the car parking – all apartments do have an allocated space under the building but unfortunately, it sounds like someone must have used your space – we... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This resort rates itself as being '5 stars' but I think this is probably overstating things . However it is an exceptionally well kept, spacious, clean, and conveniently located apartment and a family of 4 - 5 people would be more than comfortable in a 2 bedroom. The apartment that we stayed in was well furnished and had a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello Hollytd Thank you for taking the time to post a review. So nice to read that you were pleased with the apartment and our excellent location. Just to clarify - we are not a self-rated property – we were rated by AAA Tourism as 5 star based on our beautiful self-catering apartments – everything you need for a comfortable... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We arrived late without a booking and Chris the Manager was very friendly and helpful. We ended up in an enormous apartment which was very clean, tastefully decorated, wonderful big balcony and full sized kitchen with all amenities. The apartment had a lovely feel and it was a shame to only be there for one night. Good undercover parking. Easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Trippy1968 Thanks for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to be able to assist you with your last minute booking. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Akama Resort again in the future – hopefully, you can stay longer next time. Kindest regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Our 2 bed apartment was huge - lovely balcony, great kitchen space and all was clean. Nice location for a walk into Hervey Bay - a little out of the way though, we found having a car advantageous. Only downside was the lack of free Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello Healsby Thanks for taking the time to post a review – much appreciated. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were happy with the apartment. Great news – we now offer FREE WIFI! We hope you have the chance to head back down our way again – it would be our pleasure to... More 

Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Chris and his wife were excellent hosts. They were very helpful in every way. They went over and beyond the expected. The unit was roomy, airy, very clean, well appointed with beautifully maintained grounds and pool. The block was well maintained and kept in a quiet and orderly manner. It is located within walking distance of some excellent restaurants, parks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Julianne A Thank you so much for the very kind review. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay and we are always pleased to read that our guests enjoyed the accommodation as well as the location. We are so fortunate to be situated so close to the Marina with the restaurants, clubs and shopping all just... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from our fourth visit and once again so pleased with the luxury feel. Always inviting and clean. There is nowhere else in Hervey Bay we would consider staying! Thank you to all the friendly staff who are always there to offer assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello cjackson1234 Thank you for the review – much appreciated. So nice to welcome you both back each year to Akama. It’s great to see you and your extended family getting together and having such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thanks again Chris & Helen. Kind regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay