We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akama Resort

5.0 of 5 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER FAMILY DEAL
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akama Resort
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    50
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
137
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Camden, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took the smaller Penthouse on the top floor, for 2 families with 3 children between us. The balcony was small but useable with a supplied BBQ and the 3 bedroom unit was very comfortable. It is just acros the road from Urangan Harbour so is very convenient if you are going out whale watching. The pool area is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Alan S Thanks for the review – much appreciated. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Akama Resort. You’re right, we are very fortunate to be in such a great location opposite the Marina and the views across our bay from the 6th floor are amazing. We hope you come back to visit us again... More 

Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived yesterday and am really impressed by the quality of the resort. The apartments are large and well equipped and very comfortable. Decent pool and spa with BBQ area. All in all very nice and well worth a stay if you are in the area. It's easy to get Round and within walking distance of the boatclub which serves fair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Roger T Thanks for taking the time to post a review. So pleased that you are enjoying your time with us at Akama Resort. The poolside apartment gives you your own private access to the pool area but as you can see, you can still maintain a degree of privacy. Thanks for your help yesterday with the small issue... More 

Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The moment you walk in you will be blown away at how stunning this accommodation is. We were staying in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor and it was huge !!! i could have stayed there for weeks. The living area had bifold able doors that opened up onto a balcony over looking the pool and beach it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Wow – thank you so much Kaylah D. It is always a pleasure to assist guests with information about our beautiful region and all that it has to offer. Our location opposite the harbour has some real advantages – easy walk across to the Boat Club and restaurants and great views from our balconies. We hope you have the opportunity... More 

Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are very well appointed,large, comfortable and beautifully set out. I rang to inquire about the "Summer Deal", asking where the rooms would be situated...being a deal I realized they wouldn't be ocean views..The lady told me they were located on different levels with views of the side street or park which was fine, all I requested was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Gayle A Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was nice to read that you felt the apartment was well appointed. It was unfortunate that you were located on the ground floor and I can assure you that if we had the availability at the time we would have offered you a higher floor. We... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were helpful and friendly and were even able to book tours for us. The hotel is very well kept in every aspect, the pool and spa are lovely and clean and the gardens are carefully sculpted. The room itself was perfect, room 17 on the fifth floor, beautiful and modern and very spacious. The room amenities were luxurious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Benjamin_Martyn Thanks for the great review – it was a pleasure to welcome you to Akama. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to the apartment and also for mentioning the convenience of the undercover parking. If you head to Hervey Bay again we would love to welcome you back to Akama Resort. Best wishes and kind... More 

hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really top notch accommodation really spacious with top quality fixtures and fittings very helpful/knowledgable staff we had a ground floor room with a spacious terrace and direct access to pool but not overlooked in any way

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi gemalf Thanks for the review – you were a ‘top notch’ couple and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Akama Resort. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your ground floor apartment – the lovely spacious balcony with the direct access to the pool is always popular (quick dip before anyone else has the same idea). We... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two weeks here with family, we had the amazing top floor, 3 bedroom apartment, two bathrooms & a walk in robe bigger than most bedrooms. Had great views across the bay, we recommend to anyone wanting the stay in Hervey Bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jessica B Thanks for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all with us for the past couple of weeks. You were such a nice family – everybody seemed to be having a great time. We hope you enjoyed your trips to Fraser Island and that you all have a safe trip back home. Please... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there with a friend in November...hoping to see the whales...which sadly for us had already 'checked out' and were migrating southwards. But our stay in the AKama with the helpful assistance and cheerful chats with Reg at reception made it a very pleasant stay. Accommodation of a very high standard with large open plan kitchen, dining area and sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi k652014 Thanks for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Akama and to assist you during your stay. So disappointing that you missed an encounter with the magnificent Humpbacks – hopefully you will be able to head ‘downunder’ again in the future and see these wonderful creatures ‘up close’. We hope you enjoyed the... More 

Broadford, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our extended family stayed in a three bedroom apartment over Christmas, which was great. The open plan lounge/kitchen/dining was huge, opening out onto the balcony. The kitchen was very well appointed (we brought our own Nespresso machine but discovered you could hire them) but the other two bedrooms were quite small. As we had two couples in two of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tracey M Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your Christmas at Akama and that you found the apartment well-appointed and spacious. Can we please take this opportunity to apologise for any concerns you had regarding the garbage disposal. The problem that you have mentioned has now been rectified.... More 

Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stayed three nights at Akama. Very large room, great location and fantastic view over the ocean. However the room could be even better if they made it more wheelchair accessible. As for now you can't enter the shower with shower chair on wheels since there is a metal lid of 3-4 cm before the shower. There is also no room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi SwedeOnWheels Thanks for the review. Great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Akama Resort. Can we please take this opportunity to state that we are not an accredited property and we did make every effort to clarify this with you when you called for details on our apartments prior to booking? We do however, offer accommodation that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay