We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akama Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Offers & Announcements
AUD150 (AUD)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akama Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Akama Resort
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    57
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
153
144
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Late in the afternoon just coming from Bundaberg i managed to score a really luxurious room for $125 and add an extra $10 on for a full buffet breakfast. Rooms very comfortable and have all the luxury trimmings. To tired to go to dinner so ended up having room service which is the same menu as the restaurant. Food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late without a booking and Chris the Manager was very friendly and helpful. We ended up in an enormous apartment which was very clean, tastefully decorated, wonderful big balcony and full sized kitchen with all amenities. The apartment had a lovely feel and it was a shame to only be there for one night. Good undercover parking. Easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Trippy1968 Thanks for the very kind review. It was a pleasure to be able to assist you with your last minute booking. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Akama Resort again in the future – hopefully, you can stay longer next time. Kindest regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our 2 bed apartment was huge - lovely balcony, great kitchen space and all was clean. Nice location for a walk into Hervey Bay - a little out of the way though, we found having a car advantageous. Only downside was the lack of free Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello Healsby Thanks for taking the time to post a review – much appreciated. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were happy with the apartment. Great news – we now offer FREE WIFI! We hope you have the chance to head back down our way again – it would be our pleasure to... More 

Forbes, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chris and his wife were excellent hosts. They were very helpful in every way. They went over and beyond the expected. The unit was roomy, airy, very clean, well appointed with beautifully maintained grounds and pool. The block was well maintained and kept in a quiet and orderly manner. It is located within walking distance of some excellent restaurants, parks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Julianne A Thank you so much for the very kind review. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay and we are always pleased to read that our guests enjoyed the accommodation as well as the location. We are so fortunate to be situated so close to the Marina with the restaurants, clubs and shopping all just... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from our fourth visit and once again so pleased with the luxury feel. Always inviting and clean. There is nowhere else in Hervey Bay we would consider staying! Thank you to all the friendly staff who are always there to offer assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello cjackson1234 Thank you for the review – much appreciated. So nice to welcome you both back each year to Akama. It’s great to see you and your extended family getting together and having such a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thanks again Chris & Helen. Kind regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina More 

Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to all at Akama (especially Reg) for such a wonderful stay. The apartment was really nicely furnished and had a huge balcony. Really comfortable too! Reg was really helpful and we would definitely recommend Akama as a really high quality resort, ideally situated away from the hustle and bustle of the main part of Hervey Bay but still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi canarywharf77 Thanks so much for the lovely review. It is always such a pleasure to assist guests like you – happy and excited about your visit and so keen to see the best this wonderful region has to offer. We hope you had a great time during the remainder of your visit to Australia - if you ever get... More 

Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed two nights in one of the Akama's penthouses. It was so beautiful we didn't want to leave. Penthouse was clean, well equipped with kitchen, washer and dryer and a fabulous balcony. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a day on Fraser Island. The owners and front desk personnel were always super responsive and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello mlhav, Thanks for the great review. You were such a lovely family and we were so pleased to play a small part in your family reunion. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to OZ and that you had a nice time catching up with the rest of your family in Melbourne. Best wishes and kind regards... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ventured up to Hervey Bay for a weekend break with family visiting from the UK. We rented a 3 bedroom apartment at Akama Resort which is just opposite the small marina. It was big, well appointed and modern. Our little 1 year old loved all the space and we had breakfast on the large balcony each morning. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Teva S Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. You really sound like you had a relaxing time at Akama Resort and that you took advantage of the beautiful views over the Great Sandy Straits. It was nice to read that you were able to take your family on an adventure tour to Fraser... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed at Akama Resort for 3 nights in April 2015. The excellent service started before we even arrived. We were late to check in (11pm) after a long drive from the Gold Coast. The staff at Akama arranged to have the keys in the safe and the password for the underground. They emailed me in advance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bryan & Steph, Thanks for the great review. You were such a lovely couple and it was our pleasure to be able to assist you with your tour options. Fraser Island is a unique experience and our guests always find it a fascinating adventure. Pleased to read that you took advantage of the apartments facilities while you were with... More 

Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 10 days including Easter and enjoyed our visit to Hervey Bay. The apartment was spacious, bright and reasonably clean. There could be more attention to detail in regards to cleaning as the ceiling fan was too dirty to turn on. The outside balcony floor was dirty as well. The shower in our bathroom was smelley at times. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review

Hello BrisbaneCazza Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As previously discussed, your concerns were addressed immediately. With a busy holiday resort you are correct, lots of happy families and children having a great time especially with the beautiful weather we had throughout the school holiday period. We were so pleased when you extended your stay by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities