We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

5.0 of 5 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    75
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
69
97
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location: on main highway Price: ok considering locality, demand, time of year Value for money: a bit higher than we'd usually choose but given the above, it was expected Amenities: toilet/shower - excellent beverage/cooking - excellent Services: Wi-Fi - yes Sky TV - yes Presentation: excellent Hygiene/cleanliness: excellent Bedding/furniture: excellent Reception/check-in: excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Pleased we lived up to your expectations More 

Kingwood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at three different "Top 10" campgrounds while touring the South Island. All three were located adjacent to busy highways and all three were very expensive. The sites are tiny and you don't even get a picnic table of your own (one table shared between two or three sites). The campground in Kaikoura is sandwiched between the highway to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response Travelling in peak season has a impact on price and availability of large sites Pleased you found our facilities clean and staff helpful More 

Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I planned to stay at this location due to it being halfway between two of my destinations. I'm really glad I ended up here. The drive in was AMAZING. I couldn't believe the color of the water, and when you framed that in awesome mountain ranges, it was all very breath-taking. The campsites weren't overly private, most side-by-side and open,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice park close to town, good showers, and cooking facilities. very close to whale office(if you don't mind going under a fence and crossing the rail track!!) Well maintained, friendly staff. Good TV room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments The 3 minute short cut is preferred by most to the 10 minute alternative route Please you enjoyed your stay More 

Sapporo
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very small tent-camping spots and pay per person not per site... [NZ$25/person when I visited] Kitchen facilities are minimal, and you must have your own pots and dishes or pay to rent them. Pay for internet. Almost no outlets in the common area for charging phones, etc. Very little common-room space, but perhaps most people have their own systems in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The rates reflect peak season and most campers bring their own cooking equipment however for those how don't we have a hire facility at minimal cost It appears that you may have missed locating our large TV room /common area More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice park 5 mins from town. Big play area for kids and nice view of mountains. Motels are spacious and nice. The motels are starting to look a little dated in bathroom etc but still a nice place to stay. Be sure to go to the restaurant across the road

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome accomodation for families. Facilities of the park are extremely well maintained, our 2 loved the jumping pillow, fantastic addition to a wonderful playground. We stated in a 2 bed unit and it was very clean, comfortable and very well maintained and had a very comfy bed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst travelling the South Island one nite approximately 8.30pm we stopped at one of our favourite Top Ten Holiday Parks. The Kaikoura Top10. After asking for a site for our 7 metre bus as far away from the Railway Line because of the noise in the early hours of the morning, I was told we werent allowed to stay there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Brian The only reason for refusing your stay that night was that we were fully booked Unfortunately this fact was not clearly communicated to you that night Whilst there appeared to be empty sites I can assure you that they were all booked More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this park Wednesday night, it was the dirtiest cabin we have stayed in for our whole two weeks away staying mostly in top ten parks.The sliding curtains on the front glass window where covered in thick mould which had been there for some tme.There was old dirty marks around the bathroom door that had been there also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out some cleaning issues in respect to this unit These matters will be addressed More 

Solihull
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good clean facilities, close to the town. Booked because we wanted to do the whale watching and to get the members discount off that. I don't like the showers where you have to press a button for hot water (although I have yet to run out of time), but at least at top ten sites you don't have to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne N, Owner at Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The shower timers are part of our preserving the environment policy It is a balance between conserving our water resource and giving sufficient time to have a shower Pleased it worked for you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 34 Beach Road, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay