We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night nice facilities and was treated to a great evening show at 4am to 2 girls going at it not sure if that was part of the price or just and added bonus either way I wasn't complaining so stay here and you to might get the same late night entertainment I got

Helpful?
Thank Jono K
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom facilities, for 2 nights in January. I'll start with the good points: - Kitchen was nice, spacious and clean (we used the one which closes at 10pm on the ground floor). Can't comment on broken appliances in the kitchen as I only used the kettle once. Nice big sofas. - Nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank crayfisharecool
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and all you have mentioned. New TV's have been ordered for the private rooms and we are currently making coat racks. There are hooks on the back of the doors to all the rooms. Thanks for letting us know about the hand dryer, we didnt realise it was so noisy. All the best with the rest... More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Sounding pedantic for a review is usually a good thing, but the only slight down-side to our (Double Ensuite) room was the noise of the draft when the bathroom fan turned on. This was a good hostel, free wifi, clean, great shower - we didn't even make full use of the facilities. Admittedly we were an in/out stay, but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntsMurray
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and you are not at all pedantic, as new management we want to hear all your views about your stay. We will look into the issue you mentioned, thanks for staying and all the best with the rest of your trip. More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Ca. 1.5km outside of Kaikoura, on the main road (but the rooms look to the courtyard and are quiet), friendly staff giving you informations for activities, restaurants, etc. Transport to/from town, nice terrace with mountain-view, hot pot, swimmingpool, clean and well equipped kitchen. Free WiFi.

Helpful?
Thank 33bine33
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments. All the best with the rest of your trip. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Place was taken over by gang of young germans. They drank excessively, were loud and left the kitchen and dining area filthy, three days in a row. The staff cleaned the kitchen once a day- not enough. Walls are very thin so we were treated to their noise even in our room. Room was dirty (long black hairs and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sailawade
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

As new management we appreciate your comments and will look in to all that you mentioned about your stay. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. Have a happy new year. More 

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Good value for money. Good facilities. Clean and respect for all their guests whatever their age. Beautiful location - close to whale watch. They have en-suite rooms. Excellent value for money. A pool and sauna.

Helpful?
Thank Trish P
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Kaikoura, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Good location in the city, next to Caltex petrol station, not far from new world and city town centre. Room is comfy and clean. Heater is not working during our stay. Staffs are friendly. There's 2 kitchen, 1 close at 10pm; another open for 24 hours.

Helpful?
Thank ShawnDS-MY
Belinda H, Owner at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. As the new owner its important I get your feed back. We will look into the heater issue. By the way there is actually 3 kitchens in the hostel, the top kitchen has a large screen TV where many enjoy watching movies. More 

Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Good location in the city, beds were comfy, the kitchen area was nice and they served free breakfast in the winter time. Did have to pay for wifi, which was the main downside. However there are free wifi spots around the area. Good place if you are on a budget.

Helpful?
Thank Sparsh K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

A good place to stay with friends. Hanging out with your friends in their hot tub, swimming pool or sauna. 3 big kitchens, bbq area. Lots of movies to choose from on your lazy night. Free breakfast in winter time. Close to town and super market.

Helpful?
Thank SzeTeng L
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

We arrived to a long wait, as there was nobody at reception. We were finally shown to our room only to be greeted by a dirty, smelly and yellow unmade bed. The room was dirty with curtains hanging off the wall. We were moved next door to a made up room that wasn't any better. The room was dirty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#7 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
YHA Kaikoura Maui
YHA Kaikoura Maui
#20 of 34 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albatross Backpacker Inn
Albatross Backpacker Inn
#16 of 34 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay