We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Kaikoura hotels

Alpine View Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alpine View Motel to your Saves list
Alpine View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Kaikoura
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
WestAus Perth, Western Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In January this year my wife and I with our 3 children spent a night at this lovely motel in Kaikoura. Having booked 4 months earlier directly with the owners Jenny and Ken, they were so welcoming, friendly and very helpful upon our arrival. It is very good value, very close to the centre of town and the magnificent seal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us and we hope if you are ever back in Kaikoura you will again return to stay with us.It was a pleasure having you and your family. Once again many thanks. Take care Kind regards Jenny More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in the campground part of this holiday park. All was well cared for, working and efficiently run. The manager was really helpful in helping us get wifi set up, and in pointing us towards interesting things to see and do in Kaikoura. The holiday park is a relatively short (10 minutes) walk to the town, but is too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind review but I am sorry you have the wrong property. We have motels only and are situated on the north side of the New World Supermarket / Hunting and Fishing shopping complex. I am sure your review was for Alpine Pacific Holiday Park. Kind regards Jenny Jordan More

Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here after swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura. It's a little way out of town but with a car it was absolutely fine. We found the heater and electric blanket came in handy after a cold day on the sea and we were lulled into an afternoon nap before dinner. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a good time in Kaikoura and that you found our motels to be clean and warm after a day out at sea. Our cleaning staff made a comment that your unit was lovely and tidy after you left which from our prospective is also greatly appreciated. Kind regards Jenny More

Dre-fach Felindre, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A disappointing motel which is very tired and needs updating. We were greeted with the information that the fridge was not working properly. The kitchen was very old and tatty. The railway line ran right next to our room and although it was not very busy was noisy right into the late evening and early morning. Attention to the customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at our property. We did apologies on arrival about the fridge. We had a new one on order but we are in Kaikoura which can take time to get items delivered. We did out best with what ice packs and we made an offer of using our own fridge. All... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Only stayed one night as on a road trip. Location was good, close enough to shops and restaurant but not to close to cause noise. Host were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms we had did have a bit of an odd layout for the bathroom but everything is there and clean to provide a good stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.I am glad you had a comfortable over night stay with us. Regards Jenny More

UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spacious, very clean and well decorated main living space with functional but rather tired and cramped bathroom area. Friendly and helpful owners. Well maintained gardens, washing line and outside seating by units and on other grassy areas. Situated on a main route so easy to find, which isn't noisy at night, with beach access from the back. However, adjacent to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is nice to get a review that appreciated our clean units. Most guests are happy with the allocation of 100MB as Wi-fi reception is difficult in Kaikoura with being so close to the mountains and the sea. Even our local volunteer fire service still relies on the old fashion sirens as mobile service is... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the sleeping, dining, kitchen, couch area is very spacious. The bathroom is a little smaller but still good. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and being close to a supermarket and a short drive into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a very nice review. As I have said to others it is greatly appreciated getting positive feedback. Regards Jenny More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We didn't arrive till late, around 9pm, but called while we were traveling to advise, the staff were really friendly from the first phone call, and on arrival they were equally pleasant. The room was abb older style motel unit, but was not old style decor, it was possibly the cleanest motel unit I have stayed in. Everything was spotless.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Guys. I really wish everybody was as kind as you have been with your review as it is greatly appreciated and makes what we do worth while. It is when we get this type of appreciation we do feel we are doing something right. Again what can I say but thank you and we would love you to... More

Dubbo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A very decent family accommodation. We are a family a four with two teenage kids and stayed in this motel for two nights recently. Kim was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Though the motel is old, the two room units are quite nice and well maintained. Kids were happy and we don't have any hesitation in recommending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as it is lovely to get a guest that would come back and recommend it to others. Again it is appreciated. Kind regards Jenny & Ken More

New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms here are very spacious and well equipped. We stayed two nights. Parking is outside the room. Good: - LCD flatscreen - spacious rooms - large fridge - microwave & hotplate - beds were pretty good - walking distance to the beach - friendly owners - shower is good Can be improved: - bathroom sink is a bit awkward... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your helpful and nice comments. Since we have been at Alpine View we have done up the living /bedding areas with almost everything and we have started on the bathrooms so hopefully next time you come we will have done some more :). Regards Jenny More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alpine View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer