We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Kaikoura hotels

Heritage Court Motor Lodge

205 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Colonial Court Motel)
Hotel amenities
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Richard C Wellington, New Zealand
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The motel was comfortable with good beds and plenty of room in the living area, although the kitchen area was a bit small. There was a new modern shower but the other parts of the room and the motel in general were a little tired and needing an upgrade. Nevertheless less the stay was most acceptable and the staff were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in quick & easy, room was clean & tidy. A bit of road noise but not too much of a concern. Kitchen is dated but we didn't use it. Lovely shower. Parking outside motel room. Would stay again & recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Actually I didn't stay at the motel, as my friend and I booked a room with two beds, when we arrive there we found there is only a sofa bed and single bed. The sofa was still a sofa! When they opened it, it is quite short. It is fine if they can serve politely and explained it nicely. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ivan K, Manager at Heritage Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

There is actually a Queen bed and a sofa bed. As you are not a tall girl that sofa bed definitely is big enough for you. We had explained to you patiently for at least half an hour and you keep insisting that you wanted 2 separate beds in a studio. We have no choice but to suggest cancel the... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and tidy units however could do with a bit of modernising. Friendly staff and fixed issues we had quickly. You get what you pay for here which meant that we could stay for 2 nights and certainly helped with Booking.com offering a room upgrade. Kitchen was fully equipped but only really big enough for 1 person, could do with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Disappointing last night of our Mainland jaunt. The booking website wouldn't let me book for four people instead of two but I attached a message so the booking was clear. The manager made it sound as though the website couldn't be to blame because it worked for others. Run down, dilapidated. Single beds were too soft for an adolescent with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan K, Manager at Heritage Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I have merely stated my puzzlement as the same website work for one but not the other and I do apologize if you have taken it personally. Maybe I did not express myself well. Dilapilated is a bit strong to use on our motel. The motel is old but has been repainted a few times. Last year we have upgraded... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

As long you don't have high expectation it will do. Wouldn't go back. Could do with a make over. New paint and curtains. Bathroom facilities poor. Priced for what was an offer a bit on the high side. Stayed at the motel the next night in Hanmer for the same price so much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

At the time of pre booking my wife was told that our room would have full kitchen facilities rather what we found of a single portable hot plate beneath the bench and a microwave. Our ro was positioned close to the laundry which had a sign on the door not to be used after 8.30pm however we where awoken at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

no wifi signal at all in my room although they provide wifi password. the design of drainage in the bathroom is bad. sometimes if u r not careful, u could end up with lots of water on the floor around the toilet.and still quite noisy at night. not really a good motel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We as a family of 5 stayed here in a 2 bdrm room, was ok for the night, wouldn't want to stay there for a long time and its NOT really walking distance into town or the beach! Even though the beach looks so close but there is no nearby access. For the price (170 for 5 of us) it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan K, Manager at Heritage Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are a bit far from town but close to the beach. There is an access to the beach just behind New World Supermarket which is about 10 minutes walk from the motel. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This motel is among the line of hotels off the beach along the highway towards picton. The motel is not an easy walk from Kaikoura town or the Esplanade. There are supermarkets and eateries at walking distances though. The 2-bedroom unit we stayed in had spacious bedrooms but relatively crammed kitchen and average sized lounge cum dining room. Kitchenette consisted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivan K, Manager at Heritage Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a feedback. I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us. We have maintained the price for the last few years to make it affordable even though our expenses have increased. You have paid $180 for 4 so it is an average of $45 per person. It is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Court Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Colonial Court Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay