We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fairways

Certificate of Excellence
1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairways
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fairways
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    56
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
147
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had this accommodation booked by our travel agent and after investigating it on line we asked to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment as were were staying for 2 nights. Very pleased that we did this as we had plenty of space to chill out both inside and outside. We had a very well equipped kitchen with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in a studio apartment for 2 nights. Would recommend upgrading to a 1 bed if staying for 2 or more nights. Check in was easy and efficient. Free Wifi, breakfast delivered to your room at your chosen time. A little out of town but not a problem if you have a car. Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra Brendan, We appreciate your honesty. Yes we do recommend the 1 bedroom apartment if staying for more then 1 night, however like yourselves you were happy in the studio. We are please though that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels. More 

Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

They were nice apartments, although not entirely ready upon check in. Rude manager. Far from 5 star. Under this management, I would never stay there again. I advise staying closer in town with better views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra, We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay here. Unfortunately when you check in prior to 2pm, (11am), no, your room would not be ready to accommodate you. We are also sorry if you thought that we were rude on your arrival. We endeavour to make sure that even if you are early & you are asked... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night and was very pleased with the overall accommodation and service levels. On entering you are greeted with a studio room and bathroom which is maintained to a very high standard. It's very comfortable and for one night it was perfect. My only advice though is to be aware that this is a little further out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra Steve Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty in writing a fair review. The studio rooms are lovely to stay in for a night, even two, however as you did state, you need transport. Even though we are only 4.5km or 5mins from town, it's a hike if walking & unfortunately we don't have a say on... More 

Winslow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, we had a studio apartment which on entering was beautifully clean and found to be equally comfortable. The host provided a cooked breakfast only problem here was only having one chair and a narrow table to sit at for us both, but the breakfast itself was substantial. If you stay here more than one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked in here by our travel company and planned to have a couple of days unwinding en route. We had a studio room which is in effect an ensuite bedroom off a larger apartment. High spec finish but no room for much other than the bed. No air con so we had to have the patio door open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra, As we have stated previously, if you check out the motels, apartments prior to accepting them with your travel agent, you would know precisely where we are situated & what sort of room you have & amenities. While there was no air con, there are windows in the studio & a fan. You would have been given the opportunity... More 

York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well equipped, clean and spacious, as well as comfortable. It is just outside Kaikura so you need a transport to get into town. Good cook cooking facilities and use of a BBQ. Lovely bathroom with a large bath and shower. The owner/manager was efficient and helpful but perhaps a little surly. We really enjoyed our relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My travel company booked my wife and I into this property amongst a dozen or so others for our trip from North to South over a month. I thought we were in the whole apartment and was impressed when our host showed us just this but was deflated when he said "but this is not yours, you are in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra Slight-Fade. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately you didn't want to upgrade - cost of an extra $65 a night. This would have given you a larger TV in the bedroom, & an even larger one in the lounge. Plus you would have had enough room to swing a few cats. The stunning... More 

Palermo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

2 nights staying in a quality villa which was very modern and fully equipped- it lacked nothing in the kitchen and even had a TV in the bedroom BBQ and outside table and chairs truly excellent and would definitely return if back to the area. Helpful owners even offered lifts into town !

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
37 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We were only staying one night in Kaikoura so booked a Studio room. Having done our research we knew it was slightly out of town, which was fine as we had a car. The complex is pretty and quiet, with ample parking. Check in was also easy. We found the Studio room perfect for our needs. No, they are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question