We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fairways

Certificate of Excellence
1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairways
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fairways
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    57
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
151
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first impression was poor unfortunately. Having driven for five hours to get to Kaikoura and arriving at 1:30pm we were told by the owner, because "staff were on their lunch break we should come back in half an hour to check in". We now know the check in time was 2pm but feel this was very inflexible and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just left Fairways, reluctantly! A great clean and well equipped resort. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was very well appointed. Lovely outside seating area, very spacious apartment including a fully fitted kitchen, washer/dryer, iron and board etc, all you wanted for a very comfortable stay including very good free wi-for. Graham was very welcoming showing us the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Almanor, CA, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Contemporary apartments just south of Kaikoura. Well furnished, spacious, private and very comfortable. Lovely fireplace, large kitchen with oven and full fridge. Spa tub in master bath. King bed with heated mattress pad. Wish I could visit here twice a year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The two nights we spent here were wonderful, and we could easily have lived here for a month. Huge apartment - we had a two bedroom one which basically means they open up a one bedroom villa and studio apartment together, resulting in a place that has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a very well equipped and large kitchen and huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

Hi Moretravelplease What a great response for our apartments & studios. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in beautiful Kaikoura where the mountains meet the sea. We are proud of The Fairways & the facilities & peacefulness they offer our guests. We hope that some day you will return & stay with us for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Exactly what you need if you are staying 2 nights in Kaikoura for whale watching or Dolphin swimming (highly recommend the latter!). The rooms are very modern, clean and simple. My wife and I stayed in a studio apartment which was ideal. Whilst they are not huge, they are just the right size. Short distance to the town and should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

Hi SeasOned Traveller I'm pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. The studios are great aren't they for a short stay if you are busy with activities & out for meals. I too love the dolphin swimming & certainly recommend it. I hope that the rest of your holiday was just a good. Many thanks for your comments. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We had this accommodation booked by our travel agent and after investigating it on line we asked to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment as were were staying for 2 nights. Very pleased that we did this as we had plenty of space to chill out both inside and outside. We had a very well equipped kitchen with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Stayed in a studio apartment for 2 nights. Would recommend upgrading to a 1 bed if staying for 2 or more nights. Check in was easy and efficient. Free Wifi, breakfast delivered to your room at your chosen time. A little out of town but not a problem if you have a car. Enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra Brendan, We appreciate your honesty. Yes we do recommend the 1 bedroom apartment if staying for more then 1 night, however like yourselves you were happy in the studio. We are please though that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy travels. More 

Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

They were nice apartments, although not entirely ready upon check in. Rude manager. Far from 5 star. Under this management, I would never stay there again. I advise staying closer in town with better views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra, We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay here. Unfortunately when you check in prior to 2pm, (11am), no, your room would not be ready to accommodate you. We are also sorry if you thought that we were rude on your arrival. We endeavour to make sure that even if you are early & you are asked... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here for one night and was very pleased with the overall accommodation and service levels. On entering you are greeted with a studio room and bathroom which is maintained to a very high standard. It's very comfortable and for one night it was perfect. My only advice though is to be aware that this is a little further out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bigfella10, Manager at The Fairways, responded to this review

KiaOra Steve Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty in writing a fair review. The studio rooms are lovely to stay in for a night, even two, however as you did state, you need transport. Even though we are only 4.5km or 5mins from town, it's a hike if walking & unfortunately we don't have a say on... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed here for one night, we had a studio apartment which on entering was beautifully clean and found to be equally comfortable. The host provided a cooked breakfast only problem here was only having one chair and a narrow table to sit at for us both, but the breakfast itself was substantial. If you stay here more than one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities