We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Hokitika hotels

Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel Hokitika to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012
AndrewRolleston Rolleston
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
71
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
See the most recent reviews
Rolleston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

well what can one say every think was just spot on. the unit was spotless in fact would have to the cleanest unit we have ever stayed in.location fantastic the owners very friendly and helpfull the unit was lovely and warm and had every thing in it to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable we will be back in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Hi Andrew and Mary We were rapt to read your review of our motel. Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had a great time in Hokitika and look forward to seeing you when you are next in our great little town. Many... More 

Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business unexpectedly as bad weather changed travel plans. Bella Vista Hokitika has to be the most spotlessly clean room I have ever stayed in, this is a real credit to the owners as the complex is around 8 years old but you wouldn't know as everything is in good condition and so immaculately presented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing a review of our motel. Your comments are really appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to keep our motel in excellent condition. Hope to see you again when you are next in Hokitika. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just stayed the one night on business. The room was small but fine as a place to sleep. It was a cold night so needed the extra blankets as the bedroom heater wasn't powerful enough to warm up the room. The internet voucher system worked fine and very impressed with standard of cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel and your positive comments. We are sorry you were not warm enough in your room, we wish you had let us know so we could have tried to remedy the situation. It is our wish that all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our... More 

yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stayed here for one night and we were very pleased with the room, it wasn't the biggest we have had but it was very clean and had everything we needed. it is only a short walk to the "town" centre and even though it's on the main road, we were not affected by road noise. very good value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand. Gary and Glenys More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We spotted a small cockroach in the bathroom on the basin top and the tap in the pantry was leaking quite badly. Free wifi was only valid for 1hr for each access coupon. We will look for other accomodation choices if we will to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was certainly disappointing to hear that your experience was not quite right. We pride ourselves on cleanliness however it sounds like the bug has come through the bathroom window which we do leave open to vent the room prior to our guests arriving. The current internet system we use requires coupons to be issued... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This well located motel is right on the main road a 5 minute walk or 2 minute drive from all the cafes and shops. Although it is on the main road it is very quiet. I stayed on during a bitterly cold southerly and my unit was warm, and "toasty". Whilst my unit was not spacious it had one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

A huge thank you for writing a great review of our motel. Yes we are in a great location, so close to the town centre. We are glad your unit was warm and cosy and pleased you had a great nights sleep. Hope to see you next time you are in Hokitika. Gary and Glenys More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

this was the 3rd bella vista motel chain we checked in. as with other bella vista motels, it was near town center wthin walking distance to shops and restaurants. Room was clean and functional. But the waste bin had a sticker telling guests not to throw plastic and glass bottles into it. ????

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at our motel. The reason we have the instructions on the rubbish bin is because we are concerned about our environment and we recycle glass, plastic and paper. We encourage guests to place these items beside the rubbish bin. We have recycling bins for these articles near the guest laundry. We... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

On our second stay at Bella Vista, once again we found it to be modern and very clean, and ideal for our needs. Competitively priced and easily within walking distance of the local shops. The owner is always friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

A huge thank you for writing a great review of our motel. We really appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you soon when you are next on the coast. Gary and Glenys More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is an excellent motel which is efficiently run by capable and pleasant people. It is only a few minutes walk from the town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We really appreciate you writing a review of our motel, we always try to ensure people staying at our motel have an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again when you next visit Hokitika. Gary and Glenys More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We wanted to stay close to the glaciers, so that the trip in the morning would not be that long and we still had the whole afternoon at the glacier. This place is the perfect location for one night stopover. Room was very clean and functional with reasonable price. Perfect location in middle of town centre. Recommended for those who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of our motel complimenting us on the cleanliness of our complex. Hokitika is a great stopover for people heading towards the glaciers like yourselves. Hope you had a great time at the glaciers. Gary and Glenys More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
#4 Family Hotel in Hokitika

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay