We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Certificate of Excellence
52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
DtheK Nottingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    61
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
87
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival, we were made very welcome by the owner. We were provided with milk for the room, which was very comfortable and equipped with basic cooking facilities. Free WiFi was available in the room. We were given a town map and given several recommendations as to where we might consider eating. The motel was only a very short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We were thrilled to read your comments about your stay, we are so pleased your stay was an enjoyable one. Yes the motel is in a great location, only a 4 minute walk to the town centre and not much further to the wild West Coast beach. We hope you had a fantastic holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards Gary... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1 night in a nice motel just a short walk into town, clean modern, good sleep would stay again worth a walk to the beach and the local chippy our room was a double smallish on the 1st floor, no lifts that I saw

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

A very big thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our motel. Our staff are brilliant and we will pass on your comment about the cleanliness of your room. Would love to have you stay with us if you are ever in Hokitika in the future. Kind regards Gary and Glenys (past owners) More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and i visited bella vista at hokitika and the rooms were small yet comfortable. It was super clean. We had just driven from christchurch to hokitika and were super exhausted so this room was good enough for a night. We did sleep well and the hot shower made our day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We thank you for all your positive comments in your review but are perplexed and disappointed to see you only gave us a rating of two. Your comments were your room was "super clean", you said "you slept well" and "had a hot shower". None of your comments were negative and that is why we don't understand the score you... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night prior to going on the transalpine train ride from Greymouth. We found this motel very clean and well equipped. Close walking distance to town and not far from the glow worm cave. We would use this motel again if we returned to New Zealand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We really appreciate your comments about your stay at our motel. Thank you for complimenting us on the cleanliness of your room. Yes we are in a great location, very close to the town centre. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and maybe we will see you next time you visit Hokitika. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a room on the second floor as we requested when we booked.Since we booked a basic room it was quite small but nice. Refrigerator and free wifi in the room. It was not far to walk to the city center. We recommend this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time touring New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean and comfortable room, good facililties and great location. Bed very comfortable and noise not a problem despite being near the road. Free wifi and good signal! I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our motel and thank you very much for your great comments, they are really appreciated. We do try hard to make sure our rooms are clean, thanks for acknowledging this. Maybe we will see you again in the future. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a luxury resort, it is Hokitika after all. What you will find is a clean, well maintained room at a reasonable price. Room was spacious, had a fridge and a microwave, perfect for heating up a "servo pie". Friendly staff, even though we arrived after office hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Hi Ed Many thanks for writing a review about your stay. Thank you for commenting your studio was clean. Yes you are right our motel is not a luxury motel but it is clean and comfortable. Hope you had a brilliant time in New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

It was a nice enough place for one night. We liked the shower a lot. We also appreciated how nice the lady at the reception was. We used the laundry, our clothes were not dry and the lady at the reception gave us some change to put the dryer on for longer. The bed was comfy, the motel was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at our motel. Yes many guests comment on what great showers we have and our great location being so close to the town centre. Thanks again Gary and Glenys More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Recently stayed here on a wee trip around the South Island with a mate on motorbikes. The lady behind the desk was very pleasant, but was rudely interrupted by what I can only guess was her husband, on the phone with a booking. He kind of pushed her to the side, no acknowledgment that we were even standing there, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our motel. I do not remember being pushed aside in reception when I was checking you in. It is very difficult to please everybody as regards to the beds, some guests tell us they had a great sleep as per previous reviews. We do not appreciate guests using our towels on their motorbikes... More 

Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after driving Arthur's Pass en route to Franz Joseph. Hokitika is a delightful little town and the Bella Vista is within easy walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants. We received a warm and friendly welcome and check in was smooth and efficient. We were given a map and advice on which (few)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We were thrilled to read your comments about you stay at our motel in Hokitika, thank you very much. We are so glad you were pleased with your accommodation. Hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand. Kindest regards Gary and Glenys More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question