We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Hokitika hotels

Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel Hokitika to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Seenabit1961 Canberra, Australia
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
78
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed February 2015. Having now stayed at a couple of Bella Vistas - you know what you are going to get. The rooms are not big but the quality is good. Comfortable beds good sized and clean bathrooms and free parking. Service was very personable and they really knew the local area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice room with good hard bed. Free WIFI without restriction. No real kitchen. Downtown 5 min. Walking distance. Street can by noisy for people that want to sleep longer. Some rooms are one stair up! Jogging to beach 8 min.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
61 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at the beginning of our three weeks across NZ. After the TranzAlpine, we picked up the car in Greymouth and head towards Hokitika. A surprising little town on the Western seaside. Compared to other motels we stayed in, even if this one was a "compact studio" which means basic cooking facilities (let's say a kettle and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We were thrilled to read your review about your stay with us, thank you so much for your great comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our motel and enjoyed your stopover in Hokitika. We hope you had a brilliant time in New Zealand taking in the many great sights. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night while passing through Hoki. Nice easy walking distance from town centre, perfectly clean and tidy and no problem at all with noise as per other reviews. Only problem was a rather large slug found in the shower the following morning ! No fault of the host, and quite easily sorted. Much quieter than the motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at Bella Vista Hokitika. We are so pleased you had a good nights sleep. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of your studio. Hope you enjoyed travelling around our amazing country. Kindest regards Gary and Glenys More 

Ringwood, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very comfortable Hotel, (Motel), BUT the room when my husband booked it said it had a kitchen, yes it has a microwave and frig and coffee plunger and toaster BUT that is it. Very disappointing for the price we paid. Compared to other places we have stayed in NZ even though it looks flash outside the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We only have two units that have cooking facilities and these are family rooms. Our standard queen studios are advertised as having a kitchenette with microwave, not a kitchen. However if a guest requests a hotplate in these studios we can put one in there. Our compact studios have no microwave,... More 

bolton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Full marks for location.Near high street Shops across road. Nice comfortable room with bathroom and shower. Unlimited free Wi-Fi 108 $ NZ, which we thought was great value and therefore highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our motel. Thank you very much for writing a review on Trip Advisor, your comments are much appreciated. Yes we have a great location, we are very close to the town centre for guests who want to walk there. Kindest regards Gary and Glenys More 

Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Stayed for one night on the way to Queenstown. We had a one bedroom unit, which was quite spacious. The room was very clean and the spa bath was wonderful! Didn't have much time to explore, but the hotel was located across from the Main Street. My only complaint was the traffic noise, located on the highway, so I guess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at our motel, we appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our place. Yes we are located on a main street but the traffic certainly quietens down at night. In our compendiums in the units we do advise guests that ear plugs are available if they are concerned about road noise.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Great location, close to the main street of town. Clean and spacious rooms. The bathroom was very clean as was the kitchen. We only stayed one night on a stopover on the way to Franz Josef but could have easily stayed here for longer. Hokitika is a great little place to explore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We are so pleased you were happy with your accommodation at our motel. We really appreciate your positive comments about the cleanliness and have passed these on to our staff. Glad you enjoyed Hokitika and hope you had a great time visiting other towns in New Zealand. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stopped in Holitika on a night when it was pouring rain so was stuck in our room...great place for a night in though. Unlimited internet, plenty of TV channels, comfy beds and a decent bathroom did the job on a rainy evening. Great value and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

A big thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor, we are pleased you had a comfortable stay even though the weather was lousy. We hope you enjoyed lots of days without rain during the rest of your trip around New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Great location - right in town. The owner was very helpful and told us about things to do like see the glow worms. Room was really good value and I'd stay there again. We had free wifi which was a great touch and the bathroom was very tidy. The room was incredibly clean which we noticed straight away. Owner gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our motel. We really appreciate your wonderful comments and thank you for writing a review. We hope you had an awesome time in our country taking in all the wonderful scenery and attractions New Zealand has to offer. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
#4 Family Hotel in Hokitika

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay