We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Certificate of Excellence
52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
summerinhastings Hastings, United Kingdom
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    58
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
82
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very clean and comfortable room, good facililties and great location. Bed very comfortable and noise not a problem despite being near the road. Free wifi and good signal! I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is not a luxury resort, it is Hokitika after all. What you will find is a clean, well maintained room at a reasonable price. Room was spacious, had a fridge and a microwave, perfect for heating up a "servo pie". Friendly staff, even though we arrived after office hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Hi Ed Many thanks for writing a review about your stay. Thank you for commenting your studio was clean. Yes you are right our motel is not a luxury motel but it is clean and comfortable. Hope you had a brilliant time in New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a nice enough place for one night. We liked the shower a lot. We also appreciated how nice the lady at the reception was. We used the laundry, our clothes were not dry and the lady at the reception gave us some change to put the dryer on for longer. The bed was comfy, the motel was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at our motel. Yes many guests comment on what great showers we have and our great location being so close to the town centre. Thanks again Gary and Glenys More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed here on a wee trip around the South Island with a mate on motorbikes. The lady behind the desk was very pleasant, but was rudely interrupted by what I can only guess was her husband, on the phone with a booking. He kind of pushed her to the side, no acknowledgment that we were even standing there, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our motel. I do not remember being pushed aside in reception when I was checking you in. It is very difficult to please everybody as regards to the beds, some guests tell us they had a great sleep as per previous reviews. We do not appreciate guests using our towels on their motorbikes... More 

Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night after driving Arthur's Pass en route to Franz Joseph. Hokitika is a delightful little town and the Bella Vista is within easy walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants. We received a warm and friendly welcome and check in was smooth and efficient. We were given a map and advice on which (few)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We were thrilled to read your comments about you stay at our motel in Hokitika, thank you very much. We are so glad you were pleased with your accommodation. Hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand. Kindest regards Gary and Glenys More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Bella Vista is located on the highway through town and close to the town centre but with low levels of traffic. This is a two-story motel with a reasonable size clean room, microwave cooker and other cooking aids. We stayed in a standard Studio unit. The bathroom had an excellent powerful shower. Soap provided rather than shower gel. Free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay, they are appreciated. Yes our showers do have really good pressure and thank you for saying your studio was clean. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed February 2015. Having now stayed at a couple of Bella Vistas - you know what you are going to get. The rooms are not big but the quality is good. Comfortable beds good sized and clean bathrooms and free parking. Service was very personable and they really knew the local area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We really appreciate your great comments about your stay at our motel. It is great to receive positive feedback, thank you. As you say all Bella Vista motels are of the same standard and people know what they are getting once they have stayed in one. Hope you had a wonderful time in New Zealand. Regards Gary and Glenys More 

Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

Nice room with good hard bed. Free WIFI without restriction. No real kitchen. Downtown 5 min. Walking distance. Street can by noisy for people that want to sleep longer. Some rooms are one stair up! Jogging to beach 8 min.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for posting a review about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Hokitika. As you say we are located on the main road and the traffic does quieten down at night but Hokitika does come alive reasonably early in the morning. We do offer earplugs if required. Hope the rest of your holiday went... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
63 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed here at the beginning of our three weeks across NZ. After the TranzAlpine, we picked up the car in Greymouth and head towards Hokitika. A surprising little town on the Western seaside. Compared to other motels we stayed in, even if this one was a "compact studio" which means basic cooking facilities (let's say a kettle and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

We were thrilled to read your review about your stay with us, thank you so much for your great comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our motel and enjoyed your stopover in Hokitika. We hope you had a brilliant time in New Zealand taking in the many great sights. Kind regards Gary and Glenys More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed here for one night while passing through Hoki. Nice easy walking distance from town centre, perfectly clean and tidy and no problem at all with noise as per other reviews. Only problem was a rather large slug found in the shower the following morning ! No fault of the host, and quite easily sorted. Much quieter than the motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at Bella Vista Hokitika. We are so pleased you had a good nights sleep. Thank you for commenting on the cleanliness of your studio. Hope you enjoyed travelling around our amazing country. Kindest regards Gary and Glenys More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question