We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden B&B

Hotel website
136 Fitzherbert Street | Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden B&B
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Garden B&B
Add Photo

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Bangkok
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a road trip around the South Island. This was just what we needed after a bland hotel experience in Christchurch the previous night. The Garden B&B was a cosy 'home from home' and had everything a weary traveller would need. David and Glynnis were both amazing hosts and nothing was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, such a positive review from someone so well traveled and who has experienced the highs and lows of travel accommodation is really appreciated. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

David and Glenis are welcoming and gracious hosts . . . they made us feel right at home. Great location for walking into town. Cozy and comfortable room. Be sure to enjoy the fresh baked homemade breads (yum) with breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Wow, your positive affirmation is much appreciated. We think we are doing ok but working day to day in the same setting you can lose perspective a bit and of course there are always ways to improve. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Never stayed at a B&B before but this place was just how I imagined a good B&B should be. Friendly helpful hosts, cosy room, and great breakfast and coffee. There is nothing here to complain about. Well done Glenis and David.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

When we started we hadn't stayed in a B n B so we did some "field research", liked what we found and modeled ourselves on that. Since then we have looked to improve on the experience we provide. So glad you liked it. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great place! The owners of this bnb really put a lot of effort in it, with decorations, great service and unbelievably good breakfast (homemade ciabatta, jam and musli) Great value for money, also because Hokitika is not the most popular town in NZ but has its charm. I would recommend this place to all sorts of travellers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you. We do enjoy hosting travelers and we try to make their stay memorable for the right reasons. Having traveled ourselves we know that after life gets back to normal the thing that stands out in your memory is not the spectacular sights you see but the lovely and not so lovely people you meet. More 

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

What a warm welcome I recieved from Glenis and David. The room on the groundfloor was very comfortable and I slept as a rose. Breakfast was overwelming. Great hosts with a more than lovely dog. Sharing the bathroom between two rooms is not a problem what so ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

A pleasure to host you and share some interesting conversations around the breakfast table. It is always a pleasure when someone traveling alone treats our b and b like home and we are pleased to make you feel at home. More 

Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

David & Glenis were extremely welcoming and hospitable. The breakfast was amazing with homemade bread and fabulous pancakes. The garden is beautiful and the room was great. Thanks for taking the time to share some of your travel tips and some of your adventures ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Hey thanks, we enjoyed hosting you too! I get bored repeating the continental breakfast so after I have loaded up the fruit tray I do the pancake stack just to add a bit of variety. The fresh ciabatta were less than memorable. I suspect these warm nights make the yeast work too fast and the buns get past the optimum... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We arrived in town without a booking and discovered all of the motels booked solid. We were lucky to find the last room at The Garden B&B! The owners are very friendly, have a quirky collection of stuff that we loved, and have a lovely dog. The room (downstairs in the back corner) was very very small (fitting just the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for a fair review. We can't do much about the size of Rococo but it does have probably the most comfortable bed in the house. It works well for singles and 3s and 4s with Fleur de Lise. Whenever I can I give an upgrade but sometimes town is just too busy. Glad you enjoyed the gorge, we think... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We were a family of 3 adults and we we're given the 2 ground floor bedrooms with a shared bathroom and toilet which was ideal. Both myself and daughter had a lovely hot bath one after another and plenty of hot water. We were greeted with tea and cake which was lovely after a long car journey. The b&b is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for that, we like people to feel relaxed and comfortable and ensure they have the information they need to see the best of our wee town and the amazing scenery close by. We think Rococo and Fleur de Lise work well for 3s and 4s traveling together, nice to have it confirmed. It's a bit close for strangers so... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

If you like an old character home with warm personal touch, you must try the Garden B&B! The hosts, David and Glenis were so helpful and friendly, they welcomed us with hot cups of tea and home baking. For the price of a twin room, they upgraded us into 2 rooms (queen and double), at no extra cost. Their continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, we really enjoyed hosting you, sometimes people just click together and that is how we felt with you, more like family than guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you found time to go out to the Gorge. Such a lovely tranquil spot. More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our room was quite small, and we had to share a bathroom and WC with another couple. There was no way to lock the bathroom! The hosts were welcoming and helpful, and opened up the entire ground floor of the house to guests which meant there was plenty of room to relax in and we only needed to use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. I chiseled out and replaced all the 1930s lock mechanisms so bathrooms and bedrooms could be locked in our first winter here; so shock, horror! When I read this review I raced through and looked and sure enough the key has gone! Its not something I routinely check and we do have a spare, will get... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay