We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Garden B&B

136 Fitzherbert Street | Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Garden B&B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed just one night in this lovely place. We haven't booked it before, so we were lucky to get a room. We really appreciated the nice hospitality. for us very important is the breakfast. it was fresh and selfmade! we can recommend this place! it was perfect for us!

Helpful?
Thank Judith L
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to see how much people from many cultures enjoy our ciabatta, fruit, plain bread and for Chinese guests the half moon egg dumplings. More 

England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed just the one night which happened to be New Year's Eve, and was delayed due to Arthur's Pass being closed for four hours after a bus/car crash. David was good with communication at this time, and indeed had previously recommended a great place to stop en route to Hokitika which I appreciated. So a good start even before... More 

Helpful?
Thank rich45
Bangkok
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a road trip around the South Island. This was just what we needed after a bland hotel experience in Christchurch the previous night. The Garden B&B was a cosy 'home from home' and had everything a weary traveller would need. David and Glynnis were both amazing hosts and nothing was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokPhil
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, such a positive review from someone so well traveled and who has experienced the highs and lows of travel accommodation is really appreciated. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

David and Glenis are welcoming and gracious hosts . . . they made us feel right at home. Great location for walking into town. Cozy and comfortable room. Be sure to enjoy the fresh baked homemade breads (yum) with breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank pjkiwi99
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Wow, your positive affirmation is much appreciated. We think we are doing ok but working day to day in the same setting you can lose perspective a bit and of course there are always ways to improve. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Never stayed at a B&B before but this place was just how I imagined a good B&B should be. Friendly helpful hosts, cosy room, and great breakfast and coffee. There is nothing here to complain about. Well done Glenis and David.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive J
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

When we started we hadn't stayed in a B n B so we did some "field research", liked what we found and modeled ourselves on that. Since then we have looked to improve on the experience we provide. So glad you liked it. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

Great place! The owners of this bnb really put a lot of effort in it, with decorations, great service and unbelievably good breakfast (homemade ciabatta, jam and musli) Great value for money, also because Hokitika is not the most popular town in NZ but has its charm. I would recommend this place to all sorts of travellers!

Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe M
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you. We do enjoy hosting travelers and we try to make their stay memorable for the right reasons. Having traveled ourselves we know that after life gets back to normal the thing that stands out in your memory is not the spectacular sights you see but the lovely and not so lovely people you meet. More 

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

What a warm welcome I recieved from Glenis and David. The room on the groundfloor was very comfortable and I slept as a rose. Breakfast was overwelming. Great hosts with a more than lovely dog. Sharing the bathroom between two rooms is not a problem what so ever.

Helpful?
Thank Ben L
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

A pleasure to host you and share some interesting conversations around the breakfast table. It is always a pleasure when someone traveling alone treats our b and b like home and we are pleased to make you feel at home. More 

Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

David & Glenis were extremely welcoming and hospitable. The breakfast was amazing with homemade bread and fabulous pancakes. The garden is beautiful and the room was great. Thanks for taking the time to share some of your travel tips and some of your adventures ☺

Helpful?
Thank Jargie
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Hey thanks, we enjoyed hosting you too! I get bored repeating the continental breakfast so after I have loaded up the fruit tray I do the pancake stack just to add a bit of variety. The fresh ciabatta were less than memorable. I suspect these warm nights make the yeast work too fast and the buns get past the optimum... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We arrived in town without a booking and discovered all of the motels booked solid. We were lucky to find the last room at The Garden B&B! The owners are very friendly, have a quirky collection of stuff that we loved, and have a lovely dog. The room (downstairs in the back corner) was very very small (fitting just the... More 

Helpful?
Thank anaussiemusicfan
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for a fair review. We can't do much about the size of Rococo but it does have probably the most comfortable bed in the house. It works well for singles and 3s and 4s with Fleur de Lise. Whenever I can I give an upgrade but sometimes town is just too busy. Glad you enjoyed the gorge, we think... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We were a family of 3 adults and we we're given the 2 ground floor bedrooms with a shared bathroom and toilet which was ideal. Both myself and daughter had a lovely hot bath one after another and plenty of hot water. We were greeted with tea and cake which was lovely after a long car journey. The b&b is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucylou S
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for that, we like people to feel relaxed and comfortable and ensure they have the information they need to see the best of our wee town and the amazing scenery close by. We think Rococo and Fleur de Lise work well for 3s and 4s traveling together, nice to have it confirmed. It's a bit close for strangers so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.2 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodland Glen Lodge
Woodland Glen Lodge
#6 of 14 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay