We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Greymouth hotels

Charles Court Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   350 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Charles Court Motel to your Saves list
Charles Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Greymouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Happy_Traveler161 Los Angeles, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We never made it to the Charles Court Motel! But how can it be rated as 5 stars? Let me tell you. We were traveling from Christchurch in May, and on reaching Arthur's Pass in the middle of a horrendous wind and rain storm, we were confronted with a glowing sign announcing that the road to Greymouth was closed. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a lovely little motel. The lady who checked us in was absolutely wonderful and very helpful. We had no idea of where to go to dinner so she said we should go to the hotel about 1 km down the road which we did, wow what a meal, a real country hotel meal. The motel was neat and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The owners of this motel were fantastic. Our travel agent booked this motel for us not considering that it is out of town and we didn't have a car. The owners drove us to a nearby restaurant for dinner and picked us up. They also dropped us off at the train station the next morning. It's a great place for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Did not book just Turned up. Check in was straight forward . We were offered to see the room before payment. Which we did. We stayed in room 23 which is a one bedroom apartment. Straight forward clean and tidy, a little on the old side but never the less the price reflects this. We paid $120 for two people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A comfortable, well equipped, no frills motel where your can park your car right by the front door. Its a 5 minute drive out of Greymouth and another 2 or 3 minute drive to the nearest restaurant. The staff were friendly and informative and the whole was reasonably priced. Our room was towards the back of the site and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived in Greymouth in the rain and were looking for our motel. We finally found it located a way from the town centre. Not a bad thing. The accommodation we were in backs onto the playground with the beach located just over the sand hill to this. The night was wild and woolly with strong winds and rain. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like the fact that you can park right outside your door so you dont have to lug all your suitcases and gear. Very convenient location if you have a car and easy to find. Good family spot with pool for summer, BBQS, games area and flying fox. we got upgraded to a room with spa bath as there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent one night here before our train ride at Greymouth the next day. The room had a double bed, with very flat pillows, and a single bed for the two of us. The kitchen facilities were great, so we cooked our own dinner that night after driving out to the supermarket which was about 5 minutes out. Greymouth itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late the previous night, at about 8.30pm. The next day, we couldn't finish packing our luggages on time, and called in the reception to ask for an extension which we were willing to pay. To our disappointment, the motel staff was NOT helpful at all. She insisted that we have to MOVE OUT this INSTANT as someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel466, Owner at Charles Court Motel, responded to this review

Our check out time is 10.00am you asked to stay longer and I gave you to 10.30am I came down at 10.40 and as I had previous stated to you that we were waiting to clean your room you said you would be out in 5min but you took a further 15min There was no hostility from me at all... More

india
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a long drive form Wellington through Punakaiki to Greymouth, on 10th Nov, as per plan and chose to stay there as it's part of the Golden chain of motels, usually good from our NZ experience. We checked in late by 6PM and they gave us a good room in the back of the building away form the road.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel466, Owner at Charles Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry we were away during your stay, we are not having anymore problems with the Haast pass, I didn't think to tell our minder this, normally we have all information on all roads to keep our guests well informed, hope to meet you next time. Kind... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Charles Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Charles Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Court Motel

Address: 350 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Court Motel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Charles Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Court Hotel

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer