We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel

Hotel website
61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
53
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business in Whangarei. It is an easy walk into town, was very quiet and the room was very clean and tidy. The onsite restaurant serves a great lamb shank but the squid was pretty average. No towel rail in room and towel was replaced every day which was not necessary. Had to move rooms as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed a place to stop over in from our way back from Ninety Mile Beach as we didn't want to travel all the way back to Auckland. The hotel did the job to serve these weary travelers. It's not luxury if that's what you are looking for but it was clean and comfy. There is a restaurant on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ladusky, We are glad we could be there for your short stop-over, and you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

not much to look at however adequate for business night stay as has restaurant and clean rooms plus is near to the center of Whangarei town. Walking distance from the harbor. Close to supermarket. Will stay again for future visits

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi janek2009, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed only 1 night and while there was no air conditioning, and cigarette smoke drifted in from the balcony, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. Good location for those passing through or business travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raelene, Sorry about the smokers, please inform reception as the balcony is a non-smoking area. Glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and location of the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Friendly and very accomodating staff. Close to all the shops and town. Very clean. Peaceful location. No complaints. Only thing I didnt try was the restaurant. (no time) Would definitely return with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Dargaville, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Well worth the money. 2 people for 2 nights in room including dinner & breakfast + late check out on Summer Package deal for $300-upgraded to premium room for another $20. Breakfast was anything from the menu (awesome variety) & dinner was 3selection of burgers(huge), fries & beverage- anything different just pay the difference between prices. Room was lovely &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kiri, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Like reviewer Linda9696 I had #51 & was a little surprised by it's size. The room & bathroom were spotless on arrival. The bed very comfortable. As hook for my toilet kit would be a welcome addition to the bathroom. Don't know how the ladies would manage with the lack of counter space in the bathroom. Not all Sky channels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The standard rooms are our smallest rooms, but we do have larger rooms available to book on our website. Please contact reception if any of the TV channels are not working, as we do not know this unless we are told. Fans are also available at... More 

Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Our room was really clean and nicely decorated. There were a few things that weren't so good. The night we stayed was hot and stuffy and the air con was totally useless. The service wasn't the best, at 10pm I rang reception to ask for an extra towel as they only give one per person so there are no extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi caw83, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do not have air con and the rooms do get hot sometimes but we do have fans available if needed. Reception does close at 10pm and after that after that it goes to a night service. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We walked into room 51 and thought, oh my gosh, what a small room and small bed (only a double size). I didn't think hotels had beds this small anymore!!! Had we have been staying for more than one night, we would have asked for a room with a larger bed. The bathroom basin is set into a recess with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, We do have rooms with queen or king beds available, so please do ask next time you are here. The sheer curtains are a great idea for these rooms. Rgds Chris More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

This was really only a one night stop over for us on our journey to Paihia. The room was really fresh and tidy and great value. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and overall a great place to stop for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dusty256, Thank you for your comments about your visit to Whangarei and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers Hotel. Rgds Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question