We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel

Hotel website
61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    59
    55
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
29
54
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights here as a couple. We had a very comfortable room up stairs overlooking the river. The bed was a super king and so very comfortable. The linen and towels were immaculate. The housekeeping was daily. We were impressed by the friendliness and prompt service we received when booking in at reception. Everything was clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to the central city with walks along the river across the road. The room decor was calm and tasteful. Free wifi was very much appreciated do I could work at night. The staff were very helpful. The sheets were divinely crisp and the towels fluffy. The only things that spoiled it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first time at your hotel. Rooms not ready on check in time and still not ready hour later. Then given another room to small for three people. Then given another room. Given different prices for breakfast and charge more than what was told. Go out for day come back to window left open by your staff. Leaving room insecure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, I am very sorry your room was not ready at the time you arrived. This should have been sorted right there and then by giving you the correct room type you requested. As for housekeeping opening any windows in the room, they are instructed to leave windows as the guest has them, if closed they stay closed and... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business in Whangarei. It is an easy walk into town, was very quiet and the room was very clean and tidy. The onsite restaurant serves a great lamb shank but the squid was pretty average. No towel rail in room and towel was replaced every day which was not necessary. Had to move rooms as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Whangarei. Glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and the location to town. I have mention the food issues to the restaurant to ensure they improve the quality of the food and keep the levels of consistency high. The housekeeping team do change all the used... More 

Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We needed a place to stop over in from our way back from Ninety Mile Beach as we didn't want to travel all the way back to Auckland. The hotel did the job to serve these weary travelers. It's not luxury if that's what you are looking for but it was clean and comfy. There is a restaurant on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ladusky, We are glad we could be there for your short stop-over, and you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

not much to look at however adequate for business night stay as has restaurant and clean rooms plus is near to the center of Whangarei town. Walking distance from the harbor. Close to supermarket. Will stay again for future visits

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi janek2009, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed only 1 night and while there was no air conditioning, and cigarette smoke drifted in from the balcony, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. Good location for those passing through or business travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raelene, Sorry about the smokers, please inform reception as the balcony is a non-smoking area. Glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and location of the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Friendly and very accomodating staff. Close to all the shops and town. Very clean. Peaceful location. No complaints. Only thing I didnt try was the restaurant. (no time) Would definitely return with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Dargaville, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Well worth the money. 2 people for 2 nights in room including dinner & breakfast + late check out on Summer Package deal for $300-upgraded to premium room for another $20. Breakfast was anything from the menu (awesome variety) & dinner was 3selection of burgers(huge), fries & beverage- anything different just pay the difference between prices. Room was lovely &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kiri, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Like reviewer Linda9696 I had #51 & was a little surprised by it's size. The room & bathroom were spotless on arrival. The bed very comfortable. As hook for my toilet kit would be a welcome addition to the bathroom. Don't know how the ladies would manage with the lack of counter space in the bathroom. Not all Sky channels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The standard rooms are our smallest rooms, but we do have larger rooms available to book on our website. Please contact reception if any of the TV channels are not working, as we do not know this unless we are told. Fans are also available at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay