We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel

61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
52
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

not much to look at however adequate for business night stay as has restaurant and clean rooms plus is near to the center of Whangarei town. Walking distance from the harbor. Close to supermarket. Will stay again for future visits

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed only 1 night and while there was no air conditioning, and cigarette smoke drifted in from the balcony, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. Good location for those passing through or business travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raelene, Sorry about the smokers, please inform reception as the balcony is a non-smoking area. Glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and location of the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Friendly and very accomodating staff. Close to all the shops and town. Very clean. Peaceful location. No complaints. Only thing I didnt try was the restaurant. (no time) Would definitely return with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Dargaville, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Well worth the money. 2 people for 2 nights in room including dinner & breakfast + late check out on Summer Package deal for $300-upgraded to premium room for another $20. Breakfast was anything from the menu (awesome variety) & dinner was 3selection of burgers(huge), fries & beverage- anything different just pay the difference between prices. Room was lovely &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kiri, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Like reviewer Linda9696 I had #51 & was a little surprised by it's size. The room & bathroom were spotless on arrival. The bed very comfortable. As hook for my toilet kit would be a welcome addition to the bathroom. Don't know how the ladies would manage with the lack of counter space in the bathroom. Not all Sky channels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The standard rooms are our smallest rooms, but we do have larger rooms available to book on our website. Please contact reception if any of the TV channels are not working, as we do not know this unless we are told. Fans are also available at... More 

Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Our room was really clean and nicely decorated. There were a few things that weren't so good. The night we stayed was hot and stuffy and the air con was totally useless. The service wasn't the best, at 10pm I rang reception to ask for an extra towel as they only give one per person so there are no extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi caw83, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do not have air con and the rooms do get hot sometimes but we do have fans available if needed. Reception does close at 10pm and after that after that it goes to a night service. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We walked into room 51 and thought, oh my gosh, what a small room and small bed (only a double size). I didn't think hotels had beds this small anymore!!! Had we have been staying for more than one night, we would have asked for a room with a larger bed. The bathroom basin is set into a recess with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, We do have rooms with queen or king beds available, so please do ask next time you are here. The sheer curtains are a great idea for these rooms. Rgds Chris More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

This was really only a one night stop over for us on our journey to Paihia. The room was really fresh and tidy and great value. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and overall a great place to stop for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dusty256, Thank you for your comments about your visit to Whangarei and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers Hotel. Rgds Chris More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This is a good base in Whangarei with comfortable rooms and friendly service. My check in was smooth and the team were extremely capable. Breakfast is very good and the town is close although probably not walking distance if you aren't too mobile. The room was clean and well serviced each day, there is a pool and other standard amenities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah E, I am happy too see you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers Whangarei, and we had all the amenities that hotels have to offer. Rgds Chris More 

Medan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I was stayed early of this year for 2 nights. Worthy money value. The hotel a bit far from city but its nice place. I love n enjoy walk along the street from city to hotel. Many people sell fresh fruit, strawberry, plum n etc. Try the breakfast from the cafe, so great taste. Will love to comeback again with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 134evatan, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Discovery Settlers in Whangarei. We are happy you had a good breakfast with us to start your day. We look forward to seeing you again if you ever come back to Whangarei. Rgds Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question