We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel

Hotel website
61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    57
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
30
55
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
kerikeri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I was among a business group of 6 booked into the hotel. We all had separate rooms. We enjoyed the clean rooms. The proximity to town was great as we could walk in. The light that had a bulb blown in the stairwell, I was told, was going to be fixed straight away. The restaurant was functional and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, Dinner was ok but nothing special better places to eat, room clean and tidy bed reasonable.Shower poor head kept falling down and temp wouldn't stay constant.Heat pump noisy.Overall ok but probably stay elsewhere next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thanks for letting me know about the shower, as there are things in the rooms that we need to be reported by guests as we do not stay in the rooms and may not notice if things are not working as they should. If you report these at the time we can fix a lot of issue right... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was small but adequately suited out needs. Everything was clean. Room had tea and coffee making, hair drier. No mini bar but glasses in room. Only thing lacking was a spare pillow. There was one spare in the cupboard but I did get it quickly enough :-) Free WIFI. We ate at the bar and food was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 2012km, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay and please contact reception if you do need any extra bedding for your stay. We do not have minibars in the rooms but do offer room service should you require food or drinks. Rgds Chris More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The check in experience was OK, but I felt they could have mentioned the availability of all the services eg free wifi (which is great) so I didn't have to do the guess work. I was also on the second floor, and I thought they could have asked whether I needed help with my bags. I don't think there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sandarstar, Thanks for your feedback and it is great to see you enjoy the rooms. The restaurant is a large hotel restaurant that does not fall into the intimacy catogory I agree. We are always trying to improve our food and offerings so please let us know what you would be looking for when you dine in the hotel.... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We stayed here on a Friday as a stopover to head to Kerikeri. The rooms are pleasantly surprising but don't stay for breakfast there are better places to eat than buffet in a dead quiet hotel. Good takeaway coffee. Apparently this is a weekday business hotel rather than a leisure hotel. Great location and easy walk to city cafes shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anita, Thank you for your comments re the rooms at the hotel. We are very busy through the week and some weekend we can be quiet, however on the day you were here, we did have over 60% occupancy in the hotel, so it is nice to see that with high numbers you had some peace and quiet. Rgds... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a few days ago and it was horrible! A young indian gentlemen was very rude and arrogant towards my family. What ever happend to hospitality? This was our first family trip in the north island and our last! Horrible disgusting service upon arrival. When I called for extra towels it took an hour for them to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jwell998, I have tied to ask you about your experience but you have not responded to any of my emails. I am very sorry if you did not receive the service that you, and I, expect the staff to extent to all guests at the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed 3 nights here as a couple. We had a very comfortable room up stairs overlooking the river. The bed was a super king and so very comfortable. The linen and towels were immaculate. The housekeeping was daily. We were impressed by the friendliness and prompt service we received when booking in at reception. Everything was clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MaddieAuckland, Great to see we meet your expectations and you enjoyed your time in Whangarei. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to the central city with walks along the river across the road. The room decor was calm and tasteful. Free wifi was very much appreciated do I could work at night. The staff were very helpful. The sheets were divinely crisp and the towels fluffy. The only things that spoiled it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jayne, We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Rgds Chris More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

My first time at your hotel. Rooms not ready on check in time and still not ready hour later. Then given another room to small for three people. Then given another room. Given different prices for breakfast and charge more than what was told. Go out for day come back to window left open by your staff. Leaving room insecure.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, I am very sorry your room was not ready at the time you arrived. This should have been sorted right there and then by giving you the correct room type you requested. As for housekeeping opening any windows in the room, they are instructed to leave windows as the guest has them, if closed they stay closed and... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business in Whangarei. It is an easy walk into town, was very quiet and the room was very clean and tidy. The onsite restaurant serves a great lamb shank but the squid was pretty average. No towel rail in room and towel was replaced every day which was not necessary. Had to move rooms as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Whangarei. Glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and the location to town. I have mention the food issues to the restaurant to ensure they improve the quality of the food and keep the levels of consistency high. The housekeeping team do change all the used... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Whangarei
Kingsgate Hotel Whangarei
#22 of 35 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#10 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#14 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay