We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Whangarei B&Bs / inns

Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation

3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Paranui Cres | Mairtown, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation to your Saves list
Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
62%
Ranked #23 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014
Christine E Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

You need to stay here, facilities great and location close to everything. Mike & Shelley great to deal with friendly and informative, loved the location and the house. value for money. I would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The place is good value, tidy, and although we where nearly left stranded with no one to check us in, we where given a discount which was a lovely gesture. Good location, quiet area but easy drive into the main township. I would book this accommodation again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

. I was part of the group of 7 with Tracey R 'shocking' and I agree with Dani & Jay R that shelley was very friendly! and on arrival even presented us with a bag of strawberries which was a very nice gesture, I agree the house was in a nice location and although the house may have been left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Yes I would give this review a miss Just another ridiculous review from the same group of people from Leeds Give it a miss. Easy to right misleading ridiculous statements on trip advisor all because they couldn't mislead AA Travel into a refund after we held their reservation for over 11 months. Problem with this is we have been operating... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I recently stayed at whangarei holiday houses and i strongly disagree with the below comment "shocking". The hosts Mike and Shelley were friendly and easy to deal with. The house was lovely and clean. The facilities available were great. I Will be returning next holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 33
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Thanks for your response The problem with Trip Advisor is they allow these types reviews to be posted as you know they aren't factual, These people are unethical stirrers all because they expected us to take the loss because they changed there minds at the last minute. Maybe operators need to think twice about advertising on a website that tolerate... More

Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Six of us stayed here the weekend of our son's wedding. We were upstairs, our son downstairs, and daughter,husband and grand daughter in the self contained chalet. All in all it was a brilliant weekend. We stayed the Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and the venue perfectly accommodated all our needs and more. Mike and Shelley were very friendly, helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Nice to hear from you again Marion. Thank you for yours comments. All the best to the happily married couple. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have used this both these holiday homes on many occasions and have experienced nothing but outstanding service from Mike and Shelly. Both houses are always kept in a very tidy state and the surrounding property is a nice change from the city hussle I am used too. The pet sheep are friendly and are a nice addition to the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jay yes you are a real adventure person and in the middle of winter to, The Ruakaka spear fishing charter has been a great experience for a number of people, we would recommend it to future guests looking for a great adventure just contact us for information about this... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked this house from the UK for a 2 night stay whilst travelling around New Zealand for the trip of a life time that we had been planning as a group for nearly 2 years. On arrival the house was full of flies and smelt unpleasant “like a butchers” On closer inspection we discovered an old meal still left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Same person same review, but of a scratched record. Check out response on the other review. Brits abroad sorry we don't adhere to blackmail attempts. Problem with this site people can write whatever they like even though its grossly misleading. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We asked if we could arrive a bit earlier at this accommodation and was told by Mike around 12.30 was ok. When we arrived we were met by Shelly who showed us in : there were around 20 to 30 flies buzzing round the living room Shelly said because it's been warm, whilst shelly was helping sort the telly there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

I never dealt with this group directly. They phoned me as they wanted to arrive 2 hours early. I said I would try but we have just had a group of 20 people leave that morning. it would depend on whether the house was ready or not. When they arrived Shelly was just finishing off a few minor things in... More

Been to Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation

Address: Paranui Cres | Mairtown, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent alternative to a motel - 4 bdrm and 2 bthrm Holiday Houses in Whangarei on an acre property fully self-contained with outdoor entertaining BBQ. Great for single or couples even groups up to 30 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?