We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Whangarei accommodations

Tutukaka Holiday Park

285 Matapouri Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (27)
  • Photos (11)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Tutukaka Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I spent few days in this campground in a cabin. It's a very nice place very closed of the marina (5 min walking, 5 min to beautiful beaches). General store and a gas station are in front f the campground. It's the best place to stay for a week of scuba diving at the poor knights. The cabin and facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
208 hotel reviews
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Tutukaka Holiday Park is located north of Ngunguru on the winding coastal Matapouri Road just outside Tutukaka township. You find the marina with surf shops and café at walking distance. Here leave cruises for the Poor Knights Marine Reserve. By car the beaches of Tutukaka coast are reachable in 15 minutes. The park offers cabins, bunk-rooms and 60 powered sites... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The rooms were okiesh. .. the park was close to the Marina which was good. The quality of the accomodation was poor. Worst of all was the service of the owner Grant. I have travelled a lot and stayed in lots of holiday parks and I must say.. I have never dealt with a worst operator before. Never going back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
grant a, Owner at Tutukaka Holiday Park, responded to this review

This girl along with 2 others booked a two night stay in one of our cabins. At 6pm on the second night she wanted to leave and to be refunded (apparently she wanted to leave as she had a wet suit problem and at that point had had no problems with their accommodation ). Our check out policy is in... More

Manukau, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very clean campground, with a fair amount of different accommodation options. If you're tent camping, the power point is not your standard 3pin domestic socket. Across the street is the petrol station/dairy. This is joined to the main shopping area, and a large hotel. I think there's about 3 places to eat in the marina. You also leave from this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We chose Tutukaka Holiday Park because we wanted to do the day hikes around the Tutukaka coast. Its central location is ideal to discover the area. The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. The BBQ was also clean, it was wonderful to walk over and put our lamb steaks on the clean surface. The campground was very quiet and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband, my father-in-law and I had a converted caravan which had been made into a cottage. Loads of space. There was an initial problem with the fridge, which the owners replaced for us within a day. They were very helpful and accommodating. The holiday park is clean, well-run, and very convenient for the main harbour area of Tutukaka. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here overall, it was clean, with a good view over the fields (we were lucky with our pitch) and the facilities were good too - especially the kitchen which was the roomiest we used in the month we were travelling around NZ. Fantastically placed if you're visiting Dive Tututkaka. The only downside was the birds which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found this to be a well run spotlessly clean great place to camp with excellent facilities. Very close to the marina for all you divers/surfers/fishers. Many farm animals to look at over the fence were an added bonus for us.The people who have posted negatively do seem to be complaining about minor issues from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice flat site with excellent facilities, the only downside was that you had to pay for the showers. When you are paying $30 dollars per night this should be included. Owner was friendly. Great place to base yourself if you are diving

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I camped here on New Years Eve 2013. We hadn't booked and just turned up and were lucky enough to be given a camp site. Very friendly staff, great amenities. One recommendation would be some kind of lighting as you walk to the ablution block (even solar lights to guide your path) as there isn't any lighting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tutukaka Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tutukaka Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Holiday Park

Address: 285 Matapouri Rd, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Tutukaka Holiday Park to your Saves list