We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Motel Whangarei

4.5 of 5 322 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Masterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place and comfortable rooms. I stayed here on a business trip and so part of that having internet in the room is nice. Unfortunately the WiFi in the room I was in was pretty poor. I connected well enough but the connection was patchy. I work in IT so i knew what i was looking for also (just to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for business. Great room, wonderfully comfortable bed and a good rate. The staff were warm, welcoming and very helpful. Considering it is on the main road it was very quiet. Ten minute walk into town for breakfast and a stroll round the marina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The Bella Vista was easy to find, had plenty of off street parking, a quiet garden area to sit in the sun, and the units were well designed and appointed. The motel was in easy walking distance to the centre of the city and the owners were very helpful and friendly. I would happily stay here on my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Stayed here with my family at last minute on the weekend. Fitting in 5 was never a problem and we received wonderful hospitality! Would come back in a flash! Hosts were great for sourcing information. Thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Lovely service, clean facilities, free wifi, and fairly modern. The studio room was a little small with little space to put a full sized suitcase but this was only a minor thing. Would recommend for a quick stay in Whangerei.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Bella Vista Whangarei twice during the past month. What warm and welcoming hospitality! Over this past weekend, the weather was atrocious; cold, wet, & miserable. I returned to the motel very late in the afternoon to find the curtains drawn, lights and heating in my room were on and the room was welcoming and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This motel was spotless, with comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. The location on State Highway One was surprisingly quiet for our room at the back of the complex. The shower pressure was impressive, and the bathroom had a lot of space. Our host was very knowledgable and made some helpful recommendations about our trip further up north. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in a upstairs unit, bed was uncomfortable, shower was inconsistent hot then cold, the spa bath was great though ! location was great ! but traffic noise was annoying and unit was at the back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Very compact, comfortable room and bed. Rooms are nicely appointed with a good size tele on the wall! We were well back on the property and did not hear any road noise from SH1 and slept very well. While situated on SH1 it's only a short walk to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed there for one very long night. Unfortunately there was also a rally on the same day and half the drivers and their cars were also at the motel. After the crew stayed up most of the night drinking and being very loud at 6am they decided to start their rally cars and make sure they were warmed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BellaVistaWhangarei, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Regretfully as owners we were away from the property on this night and apologise for the lack of sleep you endured. A firm approach from management was exercised for the following evening but sadly we were disappointed with the noise level created by these guests. We had given very clear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella Vista Motel Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Whangarei

Address: 322 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Whangarei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whangarei
#4 Business Hotel in Whangarei

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay