We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehaven Motel

30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonehaven Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stonehaven Motel
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Hobart
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are like me and around the 50 range, you'll remember decor growing up in 60's, 70's and 80's. This hotel reminded me of this time, the room to be fair was pretty clean, spacious and functional but the decor and appliances are perhaps in need of modernising. It's not a complaint as such, but I just felt in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, which we will take on board as we continue to upgrade the units as time and funds become available. We have only been here a short time and have re-carpeted most of the units, but in 8 new showers, 5 kitchens and removed all of the textured ceilings and repainted. More

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights in my old home town. Appreciated quiet location very handy to plenty of food places. We stayed in one bedroom upstairs unit - plenty of space and a well equipped full kitchen The bits I really liked - day two a new bottle of milk and a new internet log in code waiting for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Sometimes it is just the little things that make a difference. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First off Mike is the bomb! Super friendly guy and very accommodating. Great person to chat with. Room was big and clean at a good rate. Has had a few things updated in the room and more is on the way. Nice and quiet and about 15-20min walk from most places. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank so much for your review and the rating you gave us, which is very much appreciated. Our staff do a wonderful job with the cleaning so we will pass on your comments to them. More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were sleeping at the Stone haven motel for one night in the beginning of July 2014 because we were traveling north. Although the motel and the rooms were just fine, and the owners seemed to be nice people in the first place, this reservation turned into a huge disaster for us after all. After my two friends and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

It is hugely disappointing for us to have to respond to yet another posting from your group. The only cost paid by your group was for the accommodation. More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were on our way north and needed a place that could accommodate three people. The Stonehaven motel seemed like good value for money. After a nights stay we checked out and went on with our trip. In the afternoon we received an email that we damaged the property and that it was our wrongdoing. We were really surprised as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a terrible stay. We were wrongfully accused of damage to the unit, and charged for it via creditcard. It ruined our mood during the next few days of our holiday, and the days after. Therefore, reconsider your stay at Stonehaven, it could happen to you as well, and it might costs you more than the booking-price only (extra charges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Manager at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Super helpful owner, can't speak highly enough of him. Accommodation decor was not what I expected, the decor is not current but rather retro. The quality of the decor was excellent which was truly amazing noting the age which to me showed just how much care is given to this motel by the owners. I would definitely recommend this accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Wow, what a review, we are so pleased almost everything was to your liking. We are not permitted to make structural changes to the building so there is no chance we can increase the size of the bathrooms - sorry. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early evening tough day. Later arrival than planned, wife sick, I hadn't eaten since breakfast. Met by friendly owner who helped with directions to local takeaway (deli for roast pork, Yum). Can definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our motel. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your meal after such a tough day. Hopefully the rest of your trip goes more smoothly. We try and treat all of our guests the way would like to be treated. More

Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here only one night, nice size size room, clean with a nice kitchenette. There is a grocery store just a couple blocks away as well as a pizza place. You get a little free wi-fi, just ask the front desk. Nice stay for a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and for your positive comments. We now have a second supermarket opened up opposite the existing one giving much more choice and we have also increased the amount of free Wifi Data we provide. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nothing flash about this Whangarei motel, but everything was good. Nice and clean, well furnished kitchen area. Very helpful owners and excellent location just outside of the central business district. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much very your very kind comments, we do really appreciate them. It is nice to know that we have meet your expectations and that you would come back to stay with us. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Address: 30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay