We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Whangarei hotels

Stonehaven Motel

30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stonehaven Motel to your Saves list
Stonehaven Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #17 of 34 hotels in Whangarei
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Louby76 Brisbane, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on our way north and needed a place that could accommodate three people. The Stonehaven motel seemed like good value for money. After a nights stay we checked out and went on with our trip. In the afternoon we received an email that we damaged the property and that it was our wrongdoing. We were really surprised as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a terrible stay. We were wrongfully accused of damage to the unit, and charged for it via creditcard. It ruined our mood during the next few days of our holiday, and the days after. Therefore, reconsider your stay at Stonehaven, it could happen to you as well, and it might costs you more than the booking-price only (extra charges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Manager at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super helpful owner, can't speak highly enough of him. Accommodation decor was not what I expected, the decor is not current but rather retro. The quality of the decor was excellent which was truly amazing noting the age which to me showed just how much care is given to this motel by the owners. I would definitely recommend this accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Wow, what a review, we are so pleased almost everything was to your liking. We are not permitted to make structural changes to the building so there is no chance we can increase the size of the bathrooms - sorry. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived early evening tough day. Later arrival than planned, wife sick, I hadn't eaten since breakfast. Met by friendly owner who helped with directions to local takeaway (deli for roast pork, Yum). Can definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our motel. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your meal after such a tough day. Hopefully the rest of your trip goes more smoothly. We try and treat all of our guests the way would like to be treated. More

Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here only one night, nice size size room, clean with a nice kitchenette. There is a grocery store just a couple blocks away as well as a pizza place. You get a little free wi-fi, just ask the front desk. Nice stay for a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel and for your positive comments. We now have a second supermarket opened up opposite the existing one giving much more choice and we have also increased the amount of free Wifi Data we provide. More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nothing flash about this Whangarei motel, but everything was good. Nice and clean, well furnished kitchen area. Very helpful owners and excellent location just outside of the central business district. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much very your very kind comments, we do really appreciate them. It is nice to know that we have meet your expectations and that you would come back to stay with us. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This old girl was clean and tidy but the dated interior needs a serious overhaul which I think is underway. This was reflected in the $80 per-night price-tag which was a bargain, even for Whangarei. The host was obliging and gracious considering my late arrival and short notice booking. Their friendly and welcoming manner means a positive recommendation from me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We agree that the interior of our units need a serious makeover, as you say we are in the process of doing just that - we have re-carpeted 7 of the units, put in 5 new showers and modernised 5 of the kitchens so far. So if you are back this way... More

Katikati, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Old stile motel, but the owners are bring it into the 21st centenary. Very clean. Great Free Wi-Fi. Supermarkets not to far away. We stayed 2 nights Saturday & Sunday both nights it was very.Would recommend this motel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments they are really appreciated and they let other people know we are in the process of upgrading the units and the facilities available here. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The motel is placed just outside the city centre, close to ammenities and in walking distance of Mair Park and Parahaki mountain. The rooms were clean, quiet and well furnished and fitted out. Like most NZ motels the room included cooking facilities. The TV accessed both NZ terrestrial stations and SKY. Free Wi-Fi allowed one to keep in touch. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback, our goal when we purchased the motel was to provide clean comfortable accommodation at a price people can afford. It is great that this is reflected in your comments - so thank you. More

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My 1 brm apartment was very spacious with a well equipped kitchenette. The whole apartment was spotlessly clean. The linen & towels were new, clean & soft which contributed to the extra comfy bed. The new owners are wonderfully friendly and offer free secure wi-fi too. Excellent value for money and in a great location; near enough to walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Wow! What a great review. Thank you so much, it makes a huge difference to us in terms of how we are doing. We are working at upgrading each unit as we have the funds. So if you do come back you will be able to see what we have done. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stonehaven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Address: 30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer