We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehaven Motel

30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonehaven Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stonehaven Motel
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just spent a night at the Stonehaven and found it a very pleasant experience. It was spotlessly clean and the shower was awesome. The owners were very pleasant and it was very easy to get in and out of the entrance. Mores than happy to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

my name is Violet Schroder and I stayed at Stonehaven Motel on the 7-9th January 2015.I had a memorable time at this motel because one of the owners Elaine was friendly,helpful and hospitable and this for me made my stay super homely and super welcome.I pray Gods Blessing on Elaine and altho I didn't meet Mike Elaines husband God blesd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value. It is very close to town and a good price. Very quiet. Free wifi. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. We stayed four nights in a one bedroom unit. The bed in the livihg area was good too. We will be returning here next year as we felt it was just what we wanted at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here just one night before we did a dive trip the next day at Poor Knights. Room (unit 1) was large and clean and there was nice kitchen area even though we didn't use it. The location was close to the groceries/restaurants/etc and not too far of a walk from restaurants and bars. Free wi-fi also which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

If you are like me and around the 50 range, you'll remember decor growing up in 60's, 70's and 80's. This hotel reminded me of this time, the room to be fair was pretty clean, spacious and functional but the decor and appliances are perhaps in need of modernising. It's not a complaint as such, but I just felt in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, which we will take on board as we continue to upgrade the units as time and funds become available. We have only been here a short time and have re-carpeted most of the units, but in 8 new showers, 5 kitchens and removed all of the textured ceilings and repainted. More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in my old home town. Appreciated quiet location very handy to plenty of food places. We stayed in one bedroom upstairs unit - plenty of space and a well equipped full kitchen The bits I really liked - day two a new bottle of milk and a new internet log in code waiting for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Sometimes it is just the little things that make a difference. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

First off Mike is the bomb! Super friendly guy and very accommodating. Great person to chat with. Room was big and clean at a good rate. Has had a few things updated in the room and more is on the way. Nice and quiet and about 15-20min walk from most places. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank so much for your review and the rating you gave us, which is very much appreciated. Our staff do a wonderful job with the cleaning so we will pass on your comments to them. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were sleeping at the Stone haven motel for one night in the beginning of July 2014 because we were traveling north. Although the motel and the rooms were just fine, and the owners seemed to be nice people in the first place, this reservation turned into a huge disaster for us after all. After my two friends and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

It is hugely disappointing for us to have to respond to yet another posting from your group. The only cost paid by your group was for the accommodation. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were on our way north and needed a place that could accommodate three people. The Stonehaven motel seemed like good value for money. After a nights stay we checked out and went on with our trip. In the afternoon we received an email that we damaged the property and that it was our wrongdoing. We were really surprised as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a terrible stay. We were wrongfully accused of damage to the unit, and charged for it via creditcard. It ruined our mood during the next few days of our holiday, and the days after. Therefore, reconsider your stay at Stonehaven, it could happen to you as well, and it might costs you more than the booking-price only (extra charges... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gordon H, Manager at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was very disappointing that you and the other two people you were travelling with did not return to the motel after repeated requests to do so in order to sort this issue out. The damage was discovered after your departure and no other person had access to the unit you stayed in as you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Address: 30 Mill Rd., | Regent, Whangarei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

6 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay