We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Wanganui hotels

Acacia Park Motel

Save
You added Acacia Park Motel to your Saves list
140 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Acacia Park Motel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wanganui
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just stayed at this place , wellcoming host , very dated room and damp smell throughout , however the bed was very clean but not to comfortable to our personal taste . We paid $20 each for a full english breakfast that was delivered to our room , which arrived cold and was nothing like a Full english breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Worcestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Sonja is very welcoming and extremely helpful with local information and helping to book local services. Rooms are very clean and comfortable in quiet surroundings. Location is nicely on the outskirts of town, close to the river but within an easy stroll to the lively town centre. Rates are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Older style cabin-type accommodation. Spotlessly clean. Comfy beds. Nice doonas. Very handy location. Friendly and helpful owners. They also were happy to accommodate our Maltese dog who always travels with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ohakune
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very nice owners, we had 3 adults and 3 children stay in a family unit. Unit was outdated which we knew about, but comfortable. Nice pllows and duvets.There was quite a bit of road noise through the night especially heavy trucks. Children slept well though. Rates very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed it here! Large rooms next to river! Televisions upto date! Just recently read new fridges and ovens installed!! Good cleaners!! Park like surroundings! Warm!! Enjoyable!! Would highly recommend stay here also do long term also excellent!! Would defnitley stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

came across this motel at 11 PM, desperate for a place to stay for the night - and this was such a great find! great vibe in these little cottages, vintage radio, tiles, lots of space, and, uh, a trampoline and swingset in the yard? it's a really unique spot, affordable, and nice folks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Thanks guys great to have guest leave us happy and hope that you'll stop over again on ya way back up to Auckland. Was great to get your comment for this website. Hope you also enjoyed your hearty, healthy breakfast. Regards and safe trip further Sonja and Team More

Levin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed three nights at Acacia park and were blown away by the scenery and the helpfullness of the staff at the motel. Nothing was too much trouble. We went to Wanganui for bowls and were very comfortable. We had clean towlels and linen during our stay there. Wine glasses and extra towels were supplied at no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback much appreciated ...but then our happy guests don't have to spend their precious time surfing the net to bad mouth establishments, as they tell others verbally which is of much value to us. Unhappy guests make the time or have tooooo much time on their hands to bad mouth establishments on the net for personal reasons... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We booked this motel based on their own website information which turned out to be far from what we found.The units had potential to be made into acceptable accommodation but the owners of 4 years appeared not to want to upgrade from what our fellow guests described as " Back packer " standard.Their website quoted daily rates of $130 for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Hi and so sorry to hear now that you were unhappy. Trust me if you had brought it to my attention, I would have personally sorted it all out. I took over in March of 2011 and we have done so much already in re-vamping the units, furnishings, linen, gardens etc. You also don't mention sleeping on Pure White, Clean,... More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

From arrival until departure we had booked in 6 adults well in advance. The unit was tiny boasting 1 set of bunks, 2 beds pushed together, 1 queen in separate bedroom. Each bed had electric blankets but some couldn't reach the nearest plug. 300mls of milk per day - asked for a 2nd 1 consequently no milk on day 2.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

Management did inform you of the bed layout plan. You were wanting "As cheap as possible" accommodation and only wanted to pay $30-$35 per person per day. Please be advised that this would be more like a Backpackers rate or Student Group rate. Should you have paid for another unit and not wanted to go with budget - then your... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here with family to attend a combined function. Bookings were made by a family member who was organizing things. When we arrived at this motel, I first thought we had the wrong place..... the description of the place ( iphone while my Husband drove) was completely outrageous. Our local primary school can boast more beautiful and well cared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunshineSouthAfrica, Manager at Acacia Park Motel, responded to this review

All awful/Bad/Avoid Comments have been made from a Guest making a reservation and not wanting to pay more than $30 - $35 per person per night...There's no mention of what the Guest Requested...or of them not wanting to pay for extra units...so as to make their stay more comfortable. No mentioned either of the Pure White, Crisp & 100% Percale... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Acacia Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Park Motel

Address: 140 Anzac Parade, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Wanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay