We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, P.O. Box 364, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the Grand Hotel, the 4th time visiting Vintage Weekend in Summer time. Whanganui is a superb destination, and we always enjoy our time here. The hosts of the Grand Hotel are always obliging and friendly, the room we have is clean and comfortable, the food in the bar is tasty, service is quick and efficient, the chef has... More 

Helpful?
Thank christinewbryce
Eudlo, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

When I write a TripAdvisor review on any accommodation establishment I do so being an owner/ operator of an accommodation establishment myself. After reading that the 'Grand' hotel had just completed a million dollar plus upgrade my partner and I booked into this hotel for a 2 nights stay while in Whanagnui. First impression on entering the establishment was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank hinterlandboyz2
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
215 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I would always choose the Grand Hotel while visiting Wanganui as it is both very conveniently-located and comfortable. The staff are pleasant and obliging as well. It's a particularly good option for a family of three as a combined double and single room can be hired economically.

Helpful?
1 Thank Perry B
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Interesting old Hotel. Room clean and tidy. Seemed to be recently renovated but unfortunately styling really let it down. We had a meal downstairs which was most enjoyable. Positioned well near the center of town.

Helpful?
Thank 1960Debra
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

I booked to stay there last minute and from then to when I checked out the staff were really friendly and helpful. Room is old style ensuite, a welcome change from the hostels I had stayed in for previous 2 weeks. Irish bar has nice vibe with very good live Irish music and really tasty food. However, the Guinness was... More 

Helpful?
Thank littleworldwanderer
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

I do a lot of traveling for work and the environment is important to me. I feel like I'm walking into a real live movie when I stay here. I love the fact I can arrive check in drop my bag in my room and shower ,walk downstairs to their Irish Pub with good beers on tap and have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank regor2
Neville G, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for talking the time to write such a lovely of the hotel, and yes we are very proud of our barista coffees. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel More 

Melton West
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We booked in for one night. Started off with previous guests leftovers still in fridge! Work was being done on refurbishing rooms two doors away from us. The odour from paint or glue was terrible. Thought it would disappear but overnight but it still lingered next morning. That morning workman decided to have a conversation outside our door, I opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvonnec902
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly, please accept our apology. The hotel is at the very end of a million dollar refurbishment which is almost at an end. The external contractors have been contacted and it has been made very clear that this behaviour is totally unacceptable. The hotel has taken great lengths throughtout these... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights, lovely cosy room with a nice restaurant and bar downstairs. Being an older building I was pleasantly surprised at the room which was warm, quiet and had a nice feel. Great staff who were very helpful. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Angie C
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We were organising a Probus group of 36 people, and the hotel staff and owner could not have been more helpful. They took a list of all the people and their room requirements prior to our arriving and had all the keys ready to hand out our arrival. We were given a group pricing which was much appreciated. An impromptu... More 

Helpful?
Thank GillhowardWellington
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for just two nights in the Director's Suite and wish it could have been longer. A real bargain! Two big rooms and a comfortable bed. Excellent. If it's available, our advice is - go for it! The Irish Bar reminded us of so many bars in Ireland. Not least because someone here knows how to keep and serve... More 

Helpful?
Thank ACM42
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#13 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
151 on London
151 on London
#3 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay