We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aotea Motor Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Aotea Motor Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TheAngryAnt
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
49
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A New 4Star Motor Lodge in the main street of Wanaganui down the west side of town. Close to Woollies, Coles, petrol, Pub across the road...easy walk into the centre of town maybe 10-15 minutes tops..close to getting in and out of the place in moving on...all round great area. The unit itself was 4plus star...as the room it self... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in April on this year and had just a fantastic time. Rooms are spacious, classy and well kept. Spa, large comfortable bed, balcony views and close to the centre of town, Aotea is the perfect place to stay in Wanganu! We loved the staff, who were always friendly and happy to help at anytime. Needless to say we'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner travels a lot for work so when I told him we were staying at a motor lodge he was skeptical but was he wrong. We absolutely loved our stay at the Aotea. Our room was warm, clean and fresh with better amenities than hotels! We even had a spa in our room which we thoroughly enjoyed! The Aotea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Aotea for just a little under a week during our wedding weekend along with 10 or so of our wedding guests. Everything was SPOTLESS, our bed was made daily, towels refreshed and room cleaned which is what is generally expected of a 5 star hotel. Staff were all smiles each time we met anyone on our way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

friendly service when checking in and out, room was great and there were 3 beds for us. Large bathroom and a nice deck to sit on outside. Hotel was on main road but was quite at night. would stay again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I arrived on a very cold and wet night and was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was nice and warm and check in was easy and fast. The room was large and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was okay, but for some reason there was an oversized spa in the bedroom. There was also free wifi. The stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

on first arriving at the motor lodge my husband checked us in. Service was 5/10 not the best start. then after being in our from for only 2hours I noticed that my feet were BLACK!! the floor was so dirty. I had my 14month old daughter and wouldn't let her take her shoes off after that. I had to scrub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am not sure why you have decided to post these lies, however we have asked trip advisor to trace this review and we suspect You are a friend of bridezilla Alaina More 

Porirua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Lets starts with the spacious double spa bath, what a treat for the grandchildren, This is what having a holiday is all about. Heat pumps were a plus due to a real bad cold snap. Asked for a room change, so down the site we went to more nice beds and sheets

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Discussing customer service from this Motor Lodge. We were locked out of our room on our wedding night as card key failed to work. No staff were on site to let us in and we had to ring a after hours number. This was a issue for a start as we had no credit on our phone. When we did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

This response is a follow up to the rude emails, abusive calls and social media attack Jackie has embarked on. The team feel there is nothing to gain by engaging further with her and we wish the newly weds a happy future. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Well positioned, very clean and tidy, large spa in each room, very comfortable. 3 supermarkets within a few metres, service station alongside. Sited in the main sreet, but at the quietest end. A drive up the Whanganui River is worh the effort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay