We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aotea Motor Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
390 Victoria Avenue, Wanganui 4500, New Zealand
Aotea Motor Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Wanganui
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ant W Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
45
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I arrived on a very cold and wet night and was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was nice and warm and check in was easy and fast. The room was large and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was okay, but for some reason there was an oversized spa in the bedroom. There was also free wifi. The stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

on first arriving at the motor lodge my husband checked us in. Service was 5/10 not the best start. then after being in our from for only 2hours I noticed that my feet were BLACK!! the floor was so dirty. I had my 14month old daughter and wouldn't let her take her shoes off after that. I had to scrub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there I am not sure why you have decided to post these lies, however we have asked trip advisor to trace this review and we suspect You are a friend of bridezilla Alaina More 

Porirua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lets starts with the spacious double spa bath, what a treat for the grandchildren, This is what having a holiday is all about. Heat pumps were a plus due to a real bad cold snap. Asked for a room change, so down the site we went to more nice beds and sheets

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Discussing customer service from this Motor Lodge. We were locked out of our room on our wedding night as card key failed to work. No staff were on site to let us in and we had to ring a after hours number. This was a issue for a start as we had no credit on our phone. When we did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alaina T, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

This response is a follow up to the rude emails, abusive calls and social media attack Jackie has embarked on. The team feel there is nothing to gain by engaging further with her and we wish the newly weds a happy future. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well positioned, very clean and tidy, large spa in each room, very comfortable. 3 supermarkets within a few metres, service station alongside. Sited in the main sreet, but at the quietest end. A drive up the Whanganui River is worh the effort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Aotea Motor Lodge has a good reputation and it’s easy to see why when you stay there. Yes it’s a motor lodge, but the rooms are very sophisticated, spacious and clean. We had a room with a spa in the main room near the bed and it was easily big enough for 2 people. It had pillows at one end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a room at the back so no trouble with road noise. It was a huge room, beautifully furnished with a double spa bath by the bed. As we were in late we didn't get to use it. Maybe next time. It was a little bit of a walk into town for dinner, so we got a taxi back.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Stayed for one night. In my booking I requested a room at the back, which were recommended by TripAdvisor reviews to be much quieter. On arrival, we were given room 1, which is right at the front & the closest to the road. I talked to the lady about TripAdvisor & my request for a room at the back, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I have stayed in many of the accommodation options and this is the best for comfort and service. Modern bonfire able rooms, though the oddity of a spa bath in the suite area rather than the bathroom always gives me a laugh! The larger units offer space and quiet at the back. It's handy to a good breakfast and lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

This is a great property, the units are modern and extremely well appointed with a large double spa bath. The back units are far enough off the road not to be noisy. Unfortunately for me that did not help when the people staying above me decided to have a loud party until 1.45am in the morning. Whilst this is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question