We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Thames accommodations

Dickson Holiday Park

115 Victoria Street | PO Box 242, Thames, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Dickson Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Turned up to this site purely and simply because it advertised wifi and I had an important date with my granddaughter, and lo and behold, no wifi, apparently it hadn't worked since before Xmas, but, to give the guy his fair dues, he allowed me 10 minutes hopping on his own personal pc, so I did get to say hello!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beautiful site, on a stream, among trees. Slightly tired buildings and some impressively old and tatty 1960s caravans, presumably privately owned and not for hire. Well worth a visit if only for the amusingly wordy rules and regs, as well as the many and various notices posted all over. These refer often to customers as idiots - driving in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Location great, facilities good (didn't check out the butterfly and orchid area). Proper litte sun trap! Owner friendly. Downside - the various publications that you pick up for free all over NZ touted this site as having free wifi which it didn't. Not only that the printed up leaflets (from the camp office) stated it was broken and thus you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a quiet Holiday Park which is located North of Thames next to a small river. It is clean and contains all you desire (swimming pool, game room, book exchange, reading room, BBQ area, pizza oven, kitchen). Another plus is that the hot water of the shower is included in the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here last year in December and the boss helped us so much, because we had a little car accident during the day and something on the car was broken! It is a very nice place in Coromandel with a nice kitchen, clean facilities and the awesome Butterfly House :) Thank you again so much for your help!!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Dickson Holiday Park and we stayed in one of the cabins for 2 nights. I must say we were impressed...the cabin was clean, tidy and had everything you could possibly think of. The range of facilities such as a swimming pool, mini golf, playground, fish filleting bench, walks (just to name a few) are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks! The fish cleaning facility is getting LOTS of use recently. Pleased you had a nice stay and thanks for the great comments Geoff More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

O.K. some of the facilities may need a little upgrade, but fewTop-10 sites have such a range of facilities - tennis/ table tennis/ swimming pool etc. The location was pretty much idyllic with a stream and flora. Every facility that you need was available. A superb walk directly from the camp site and the host, Geoff went out of his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you...Glad you enjoyed your stay. The cycle trail is fun, and we try to get lots of people out to enjoy it. Thanks Geoff More

Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This small holiday park appears to have seen better days. There's a butterfly enclosure on site and the location, in a small valley in the mountains behind Thames, is lovely. Ripe plums on the trees. The makings of a positive experience... Things don't seem to be going so well for this park. Lots of small on-site caravans presumably to provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

paying 39 dollars a night to be treated like crap?? I might as well of been at work!! toilet locks breaking, rude staff and been told to be quiet on new years eve night. Really? I didn't know I was at the Thames retirement village!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. All those who did stay for New Year Eve enjoyed their celebrations. There were several parties, and the fireworks were popular (if a bit illegal) and the pool was still being used at 1:00am. Our only real policy for NYE is that our guests be safe while enjoying themselves. All other nights, including... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This campsite is located next to a small river and is a very pleasant location. The washroom and bathroom facilities were clean and looked like they had recently been updated. The wifi was only available if you camped yourself right by the office and was very slow. I had a small upload I wanted to do and finally gave up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Handy M, Manager at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi. Glad you enjoyed our Park. Sorry you found WiFi a challenge. We offer it FREE, no data cap, and we do not control speed. As with most places, all WiFi connections still run out thru one conduit. In our case copper wire at the limit of broadband performance from the local exchange, so, if everyone in camp connects at... More

Been to Dickson Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Address: 115 Victoria Street | PO Box 242, Thames, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > The Coromandel > Thames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty lodging in Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickson Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dickson Holiday Park to your Saves list