We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

506 Brown St, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I came across this hostel after a long day cycling in the sun and were looking forward to winding down. We called prior to arrival to check there was availability and then 'knock knock' on the door... For a hostel who calls themselves "stay bike n hike" this was incredibly biker unfriendly. As the owner reluctantly opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations, you rang prior, hung up when told the price with "no thank you." & would find something cheaper, then arrived Our door is permantly locked, we have an intercom system (you didn't use it) rms all had occupants, disturbing them wasn't an option, photo's usually acceptable but your main concern was taking... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've thought long and hard about this review. I obviously read all the super positive and also super negative reviews before I got to Thames. Here is what I experienced after several nights there. Overall, they aren't trying to be a low budget backpacker accommodation. Thus the experience is a little more upscale and includes some more rules that might... More 

Helpful?
Thank world_travels27
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

If I base the experience by our welcome experience I was going to leave the hotel straight away. The lady maybe wasn't in the good mood since we checked in almost at 8 pm. At the start she didn't want to owner the price booked, but in the end everything got sorted. She definitely don't like third part website like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maluca33
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

I have never been treated so badly while checking out at 10AM. Unwelcoming host did not even allow me to prepare a cup of tea in the common kitchen. I was just kicked out. The place is old but in general quite well maintained, toiltes are clean and rooms are fine. Kitchen is spacious, with a little garden. Wifi connection... More 

Helpful?
Thank HannaTravel4
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

10.00 am is our check out time. You had an early breakfast & left returning @ 10.00 am when you told me you'd be waiting for a friend later in the day. We have a day charge, you didn't want to pay. It was well after 10.00 am & you did not ask if it was ok to stay, You... More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

We booked for 2 nights a family room for $320. Arrived to the hotelier very grumpy and unwelcoming and barefoot...wouldn't even show us the room before we paid... The room stank so much and sheets clearly hadn't been washed before we had some... The place fell revolting and creepy. My children felt frightened... We explained we didn't want to stay...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harriet S

Travelers are raving about these Thames hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

I have been traveling around the world for nearly 3 years but this stay was the worst and most unpleasant experience i ever had. Its a beautiful, furnished place but the host made me feel very unwelcome being grumpy and verbal offensive from the beginning, telling me and my partner to go back to where we come from. We are a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tintin y
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

This couple has already had 1 review removed for their abusive name calling, the flu does not excuse disgusting behaviour coughing over kitchen benches & dishes for some time, throwing food scraps into the sink which causes expensive problems with blocked drains, it is not a waste disposal, a rubbish bin next to the sink is provided, washing dishes under... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

HIGHLY recommend this wonderful place. Beautifully furnished, very warm and cosy, has very large modern kitchen for the guests...lovely garden out back. GREAT coffee brewing when you enter the kitchen in the morning.Will return to this place. Thanks Craig for such an enjoyable stay. The market was wonderful (on a Sat morn). Regards Tobi and Lou

Helpful?
Thank BusGrl
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

the building is nice but it doesn t put away the smell. The gorgone who open this prison door doesnt know much more word than no, nope and niet... it is really not the best you could do, actually stay away

Helpful?
1 Thank raphael G
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Saddened by your response I felt I had to respond, you arrived in a campervan as a couple & mother-in-law requested the cheapest bed for M-I-L adding that you would be sleeping outside on the street in your van but coming in using all our facilities FOC as your M-I-L would be staying here??, I explained that it is illegal... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend a stay here, the woman behind the counter was very rude and lazy, couldn't be bothered to show us the rooms and just said if you want to know what the rooms look like, look at photo. Trapped me in the door in the way in and her yappy dog was jumping all over me. If you no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Embojane
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt you had a bad experience, I arrived back from getting coal to find a car parked in the middle of the road facing the wrong way with all lights on after closing time. On entering you immediatley wanted to negotiate a discount which as we are already budget we don't do. Wanting to see the... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Ladies and gentlemen you're on track to one of the best hostels in the Coromandel. Sunkist is a beautiful old hotel in a lovely quiet town of Thames. It's fantastically clean, the bunk beds are sturdy and don't shake around when people come and go, the kitchen is impeccable... but get this, the owners hate travelers. Expect to be reprimanded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your bad experience Our kitchen is open from 7.30 am til 11.00 pm so not sure how long you were wanting it for? Not being able to cook and burning the bottom out of pots & pans results in higher expences replacing them which will eventually be passed onto quests in rate rises. It also... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thames hotels
1.4 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#3 of 6 in Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#2 of 6 in Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
11.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#1 of 6 in Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 15 in Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay