We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Hotel website
175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    52
    107
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
67
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cold room,even we changed the AC setting,and Wifi os not free at all,housekeepers got attitude of a princess,what else should i say????room service is only from 6pm to 9:30 pm Monday to Saturday,Sunday till 9pm,so if you want to eat,you have to wait till 6pm,or walk to the shops,im glad my baby is not here

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Maryam, I was disappointed to read this review and have investigated what went wrong. I am very sorry you did not have a good stay and we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments on housekeeping have been noted. We track daily who cleans what rooms, so we are able to talk directly to the team involved. Our... More 

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay and found the room very much to our liking in the main a very comfortable bed and pillows, hate the big spongy ones. Friendly and helpful staff is always a good thing. Great to be able to walk to the concert venue in Broadway. Would have stayed longer had our schedule allowed

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good Morning Michele, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly and helpful service. I have passed your comments along to our team and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the the future. Kind regards, Cherie Crowther Front Office Manager More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are all very nice .The Modern rooms are warm and clean and roomy and there is an in room safe supplied which not a lot of hotels provide A free newspaper is available on request.The breakfast is average and the restaurant /bar has a nice ambience . I haven't tried the dinner menu but it does look ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good Morning Susie, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our housekeeping team works diligently to continue having the hotel looking its best each day and I have passed your comments along to the team. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary newspaper and we look forward to having you... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in May 2015 for an industry conference. The staff were very welcoming, and incredibly helpful. Service here is amongst the best I've experienced, anywhere! The hotel room in the tower (new block) was comfortable, clean and tidy, and the room was well equipped with everything I needed. The only downfall was the walls and floors were not very sound... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Good Morning Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of service and I am glad to hear that our staff were helpful and welcoming. I have passed your comments along to our team. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the older... More 

New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip to Palmerston North. Very friendly and helpful staff, including Lia. The hotel is very handy to the CBD and has safe overnight gated parking facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Palmerston North and for taking the time to write a review. We are all very pleased to read you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Best Regards More 

Tauranga
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Extremely great value did not expect it to be to this level. Rooms were very clean and more than adequate. Lovely and warm. A quaint bar down stairs and restaurant however we did not use the restaurant on this occasion. On site secure parking a bonus Close to cafes and town Excellent value !

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi GoodyNZ, We love getting feedback as it helps as do a better job for our guests, so thank you for your review. Great to read we exceeded your expectations. I hope to see you back and next time try the Dinner menu it has been receiving very positive comments and I am sure we can surprise you again! Best... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Currently staying at this hotel and listening to the music coming from the bar right beside the hotel: not impressed with the noise to be honest. Hotel is old and well maintained, has a bar and restaurant but is only just ok. Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel up the road last Friday for the same price and was definitely much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read we did not exceed your expectations. We do not get a lot of complaints about noise as we have a pretty quiet hotel. I am sorry you experienced this. I hope you give as another chance - please make yourself known and we... More 

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This hotel was the first of quite a few on a business road trip down nz. It has an old lift which gives the place character. There was no parking so we had to park on the street - probably the biggest downfall. The bedroom was clean and warm, bathroom was fine. We didn't have breakfast on site so can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Vjhandley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good to hear that you would recommend our hotel. Kind Regards More 

Birkdale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Good service, good value. Lovely old building well refurbished. Rooms were comfortable and well priced on a special. Check in and check out efficient. The restaurant serves a comprehensive cooked or continental breakfast and has a good set or a la carte menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi D Y, Great to hear you had a good stay. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Best Regards More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Palmerston North really lacks good quality accommodation and the Distinction is no exception. When we arrived we were informed that parking was available out the back, unfortunately there is only 15-20 spaces which were all full. The staff told us we could park "down the road" but the only parking we could find as visitors at 7pm was paid 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ant W, I was disappointed to read this review and have investigated what went wrong. As you say your air con unit broke down and we were unable to move rooms so we replaced it with a oil heater - we have used before and have had no issue with them working (expensive for us to run but give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay