We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Hotel website
175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4441, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    105
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
66
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip to Palmerston North. Very friendly and helpful staff, including Lia. The hotel is very handy to the CBD and has safe overnight gated parking facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely great value did not expect it to be to this level. Rooms were very clean and more than adequate. Lovely and warm. A quaint bar down stairs and restaurant however we did not use the restaurant on this occasion. On site secure parking a bonus Close to cafes and town Excellent value !

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi GoodyNZ, We love getting feedback as it helps as do a better job for our guests, so thank you for your review. Great to read we exceeded your expectations. I hope to see you back and next time try the Dinner menu it has been receiving very positive comments and I am sure we can surprise you again! Best... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Currently staying at this hotel and listening to the music coming from the bar right beside the hotel: not impressed with the noise to be honest. Hotel is old and well maintained, has a bar and restaurant but is only just ok. Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel up the road last Friday for the same price and was definitely much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read we did not exceed your expectations. We do not get a lot of complaints about noise as we have a pretty quiet hotel. I am sorry you experienced this. I hope you give as another chance - please make yourself known and we... More 

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the first of quite a few on a business road trip down nz. It has an old lift which gives the place character. There was no parking so we had to park on the street - probably the biggest downfall. The bedroom was clean and warm, bathroom was fine. We didn't have breakfast on site so can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Vjhandley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Good to hear that you would recommend our hotel. Kind Regards More 

Birkdale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good service, good value. Lovely old building well refurbished. Rooms were comfortable and well priced on a special. Check in and check out efficient. The restaurant serves a comprehensive cooked or continental breakfast and has a good set or a la carte menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi D Y, Great to hear you had a good stay. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Best Regards More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Palmerston North really lacks good quality accommodation and the Distinction is no exception. When we arrived we were informed that parking was available out the back, unfortunately there is only 15-20 spaces which were all full. The staff told us we could park "down the road" but the only parking we could find as visitors at 7pm was paid 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ant W, I was disappointed to read this review and have investigated what went wrong. As you say your air con unit broke down and we were unable to move rooms so we replaced it with a oil heater - we have used before and have had no issue with them working (expensive for us to run but give... More 

New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Close to town but not on the 'hotel mile' where very average budget hotels thrive this place is a hidden gem. Beautiful renovated old building and very reasonably priced compared to hotel mile with old fashioned bar and spacious restaurant with good food options. Rooms are clean and modern. We had free wifi and parking (secure) included. We will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Willisfromnz, Great to get this very positive review. The team here work very hard to try and help guests enjoy their stay and are always happy to get kind feedback. Thanks for taking time to review your stay and next time you are here please let us know if pillows not to liking as we have a range of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Stayed for a night on the way down the country in a room with two double beds. Beds not the most comfortable but the room was clean and staff members helpful. Reasonable priced. Didn't eat at the hotel as there are plenty of eateries close and the restaurant was very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Nicole K, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Staff always happy to get a mention - thank you. Hope we can see you back and why not try a tower superior room that has 1 Queen bed? Kind Regards Andrew More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Shared a twin room with my teenage daughter for a 2 night shopping trip. Room comfortable and roomy, with a good sized bathroom and bath. Beds comfortable. Secure car-park, on a first in first-served basis only. An easy walk to a good selection of close restaurants for meals. Unlimited free wifi a bonus. Would recommend and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi MargAdvisor, Thanks for the kind review. Our guests like yourself love our location and the tower twin rooms with 2 double beds are big enough for the family. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Andrew More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights over the weekend. Although we had a small domestic (and I apologize to the couple in the room next to us), over all its a nice place to relax and close enough to town to leave the car parked for the weekend. Would be nice if rooms had balconies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi 64Kiwi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope all is well with you and partner. Hope to see you back again. Kind Regards Andrew More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay