We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Palmerston North B&Bs / inns

Ambassador Motel

167 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Do not stay here. After explaining to Petty the receptionist that we were really not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and were going to stay elsewhere (we did this in what I thought was a polite and respectful way, in no way rude and blaming her), she became rather spiteful and refused to refund us. She did explain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is the first time we have tried the Ambassador and we would happily stay again. We wanted a studio unit and were given a spa unit. The block of units we were in was right at the back and wonderfully quiet which is a real bonus when you are on Fitzherbert street. Unit had a wet floor shower and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

If have stayed in the lot of places but this one by a long shot earns the tittle of WORST MOTEL EVER. Photo's looked good, Price was good. But really it was bloody horrible. Don't trust the photo's they must be at least 10 years old. It once was probably a nice place but it is no longer. Was booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you're a student on a course at the University, this motel is one of your cheapest options. The theme of the motel is "Japanese". The motel is showing its age, but the owners are clearly working hard to improve it. The location is good. It's very close to the Uni and to town and supermarkets. My "studio" room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this motel for a week while on a course at the University. It was perfect for what I needed as it was extremely close to the Uni and also close to town and the supermarkets etc It had a fantastic heater which warmed up the room super fast and also had an electric blanket on the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A large group of us were in town for a family event and we found this motel to be perfect for us, staying in the family unit & studios. All we needed was a bed and a shower, but we ended up spending more time relaxing in the motel grounds as the weather was great. We ended up booking another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paul k, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review

thank you very much for your kind words ,it was a pleasure having you here as well More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this on line for its price.and stayed two nights.. It was showing its age but was well fitted out and clean and comfortable-the pool and playground were immaculate. The staff were friendly and helpful, The best touch was breakfast delivered to your room on request - value for money !! Would use it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul k, Owner at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your feed back-we have upgraded all our rooms and since some bad expierences with cleaners at the start of the year now have all new cleaners.all our bedding has been upgraded and rooms repainted. We have had over 15000 people stay since taking over and have had seven complaints (some justified) but we are working extremely hard... More

NZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked online. The unit had all the facilities we needed for an overnight stay. The unit was a bit tired and could do with some updating, but it was clean. The bed was too soft for us. Being on a main street, we were expecting a bit of traffic noise but it was fairly quiet. Prompt service at the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul k, Owner at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review

thanks for your feedback-we would love nothing more than to spend $200k upgrading the complex but it would be finacial suicide as it is a very tough time finacially for all motels, that is why we offer room prices at up to 50% lower than a lot of motel;s in palmerston- we have however spent a lot of money on... More

Matamata,New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dirty - soap or toothpaste on spa dirty marked flannel Filthy windows dirty cutlery drawer rundown state of motel lawns roughly mown - no weeding done Unkempt owner Booked 7 units for family and friends to attend wedding - had to move out - fortunately I arrived one night ahead of them and they did not have to endure a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul k, Manager at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review

this women booked seven rooms and over a period of three months organised her stay ,she arrived a day early and in the morning when i complained she had filled our bath with dirty flowers she said she was not going to stay here so i said as is all policies of motels she would have o pay for one... More

Ohakune, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Chose the Ambassador Motel online because it was among the cheaper ones available at the time - we were after a place to stay one night only. The place was tired, untidy and needs some TLC. Having stayed there I would have paid an extra $20 - $40 to go into a nicer motel. The place could be quite nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
paul k, Owner at Ambassador Motel, responded to this review

once again we find your reviews are only designed to destroy a persons business -Trip advisor is not an authentic review system as they have no way of knowing even if the people stayed and it is becoming increasingly common for other motels to get guest to write bad reviews about the competition More

Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
Free internet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#10 of 22 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Kitchenette, Wh...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Confere...
#6 of 38 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 22 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Palmerston North Motel
Palmerston North Motel
#5 of 22 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 22 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#6 of 22 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motel

Address: 167 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ambassador Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines