We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Palmerston North hotels

Harringtons Motor Lodge

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   301 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harringtons Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palmerston North
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014
cyberbob2097 Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
15
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Harringtons Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here before xmas as an inbetween for Auckland and Wellington. We had read previous reviews which suggested not getting the room beside the road, which we had requested, but ended up getting it anyway - but it wasn't as loud as another reviewer had said (barely a peep - just a low hum when a car/truck went passed) Quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry but as we cannot identify which guest you are we are not sure if your booking was made direct or online. If made direct and you requested not to be beside the road we would certainly not have allocated that unit to you, and all online booking sites state that this particular unit is beside the road. Pleased to... More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Harringtons Motor Lodge recently, for a few days. The hosts, Brony and Keith were most welcoming and made the stay enjoyable.The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The location is perfect, for either the corporate traveller or for families with a lovely big park just across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Diane, many thanks for taking the time to post your review and for your comments. Pleased that our location worked well for you and that it was a positive experience staying with us. Safe travels out there...... More

New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, and found the host extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Large room with all you need, and very clean. Parking fine, and location good just out of the bustle. Value for money and very comfortable. Will definitely be back when next in Palmy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Ivan, thanks for taking the time to post this review. Pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable time. Safe travels out there..... More

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this establishment for three consecutive weeks in July just prior to heading overseas for a vacation. I chose the motel because 1) it gets good reviews here and 2) I was working out towards Massey University (one of the weeks I was at the university) and this motel is very convenient by car.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chris, many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Your support and kind thoughts are really appreciated. At the end of the day - All we do is try to make each guest's visit an enjoyable experience. Pleased to hear that the overseas trip went well. Cheers. More

Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I travel to Palmerston North regularly for work and always look forward to staying with Bronny and Keith at Harringtons. Large, beautlfully presented rooms with great work stations in each for lap tops and papers. Bronny and Keith are always happy to help in anyway, with faxes, directions and restaurant selections. The motel is well situated near the town centre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Andrea many thanks for your A plus review. Sometimes 'life' works for you and you find just what is needed - Pleased that we can make your stay away from home an enjoyable one. More

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with friends, we had booked separately so when Brony & Keith realised that we were travelling together they went out of their way to make sure we had rooms side by side. The heaters were on so our rooms were nice and cosy. Breakfast was awesome, rooms were really clean and modern. Found Brony &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Marie, really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. Only too pleased to make your stay with your friends more convenient and enjoyable for you all. Your vehicles looked fantastic! Trust the day went well for you all. More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having stayed three nights did I find it value for money ??? Having landed three hours late and facing the worst storm Wellington had seen for many years and driving up to palmerston north in the early hours of the morning. On arriving found the heater and electric blanket on and the evening paper was great. Rooms were clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Sadly your family's 3am arrival did not allow for us to show you to your apartment and explain how things operated. It is a shame you didn't come and ask if you had a challenge with the spa. We have a full set of crockery and cutlery (six of everything) in the apartment catered for four persons and we have... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The service was great, the breakfast was HUGE!!!! We stayed there while our son attended a camp at Massey university which was a fab location. The couple running the hotel (Bronny and Keith) were great, friendly and helpful, which made our stay worth while. We stayed in a room that accommodated all 5 of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts - Keith does an excellent job and enjoys putting his 'chef's' hat on in the mornings. Safe travels out there... More

Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week while my daughter was playing hockey, so very handy to the turf. Had a one bedroom unit - lovely and clean and no complaints at all. The hosts, Keith and Bronwyn were great and nothing was a problem for them. So thank you both for a lovely stay and for really going out of your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased the One Bedroom 'home' worked well for you for the week. Was a pleasure having you stay with us. Trust you are on top of the 'paper war' catch up now... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here two nights. The motel is on the University end of Fitzherbert Avenue, rather than the town end, which suited me. The room was spotless and modern. The cooked breakfast I had was generous and delicious. The couple running the motel made a huge, positive difference to my stay with their careful and kind service - simple things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Feedback is always appreciated as this helps others to make informed decisions. Pleased you enjoyed the Brekkie. Keith does a great job with his 'Chef" hat on. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Harringtons Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harringtons Motor Lodge

Address: 301 Fitzherbert Ave, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harringtons Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harringtons Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay