We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Governor Gipps Motor Inn

59 - 63 Argyle Street, Traralgon, Victoria 3844, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Governor Gipps Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dromana, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay. This establishment is in major need of a refurbishment both inside and outside. The bed and pillows in my room were extremely uncomfortable. The appearance of staff upon arrival and departure was very poor to the extent that he didn't even have shoes on. I expect more from a Best... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was just a short overnight stay but the staff were cheerful and happy to help. A pleasant experience. We would stay there again anytime we have the need to go to Traralgon or surrounding areas. We had a comfortable night sleep and not a single problem during our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mareeg30
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Least said the better, should be down graded & lose best western certification. It's old, tired, dirty & broken. My room was crawling with bugs, front door wouldn't shut properly & on second night stay came back to find door wide open. Broken window in bathroom, stains & graffiti on ceiling.

Helpful?
Thank Redrooster52
governorgipps, Manager at BEST WESTERN Governor Gipps Motor Inn, responded to this review

hi there, we checked every problem you mentioned, none of the room got bugs and every windows are fine, we do room service every day and after that we will check again we never allow the door opened after room service. i don't know why you wright this comment. if we do like you said that dirty and broken you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Traralgon hotels

Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Good value , friendly staff offered free WIFI service. The room is nice and clean and bed was comfortable . The heating was good for a cold night . Bathroom need updating , but shower is hot enough . There is a lot of road traffic during the day but it was ok at night , i got a good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank viviennnnne
Ringwood, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015 via mobile

Rated 3.5 stars really should be two. Bed comfortable and linen clean but that's about it. Bathroom had huge open crack in ceiling from obvious water damage, "spa" bath had someone's hair in it and half the jets didn't work. Very basic furniture. As the area has a lot of choices for accommodation, I really wouldn't stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Nurseontheroad1
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I must admit it's been a while since staying at this place and since last time the owners have changed. The motel is rather noisy because contractors stay there (especially very early in the morning when they leave). I had breakfast there the first morning and regreted it, the bacon and eggs where rubber like and terrible so would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dreamcatcher37
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

After missing the last train to Melbourne I needed a place to lay my head down after a few phone calls and getting a bum steers. I called governor gibs and the customer service was excellent. Room was good fresh linen a mini bar even though I did not use it was a nice touch. Room was perfect just for... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
act
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

A driver reviver stop to wash off the fatigue from driving this motel came in handy. The ground floor room was neat and clean. A bit noisy being next to the restaurant / conference room but I slept right through it without an issue. The bed was comfortable and the en suite clean and spacious.

Helpful?
Thank Justin C
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Check in was fairly lax, and the walls are very thin noise from other rooms was an issue, we heard guests partying through the night with no control from management. Rooms were fairly clean. The rooms are a good size. Wifi was very slow

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Easy to get to from Melbourne. Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it. Good size breakfast delivered to the rooms and reasonably priced. Restaurant is not open weekends which is a shame but plenty of places to eat in Traralgon. The only downside was the hotel is basically on Princes Highway and a few inconsiderate trucks drivers would insist on using... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Treane
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traralgon
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Latrobe Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Traralgon
Comfort Inn Traralgon
#6 of 8 in Traralgon
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
8.3 mi away
Morwell Motel
Morwell Motel
#2 of 4 in Morwell
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Connells Motel
Connells Motel
#1 of 8 in Traralgon
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
4.2 mi away
Century Inn
Century Inn
#2 of 8 in Traralgon
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Gardens Motel
City Gardens Motel
#4 of 8 in Traralgon
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay