We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Habitat HQ

Certificate of Excellence
333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Habitat HQ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Yasamino London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    151
    52
    20
    2
See reviews for
17
53
169
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I only initially booked in Habitat for 1 week, and ended up staying there for around 6 months! Cannot recommend it enough. What makes this place especially great and better than the others is the following: - Internet included - kitchen open until 2 am - great tv room - super friendly and helpful staff - very clean - relaxed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Yasamino thank you so much for your fantastic review! We loved having you stay with us, thank you for being such a great guest. The Habitat team wish you safe and happy travels and we hope to see you back one day Simone More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for five nights and i really enjoyed it. It's a socialble hostel with a large common area. Dorms are clean and tidy and cleaned daily. however I found it a bit odd when there Was a staff member in the kitchen while people cooked ensuring that the place was kept cleaned and washing up was done which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback Laura! We like to think that our Kitchen Cop is your mum away from home, ensuring you all do your dishes and keep the kitchen clean for all to enjoy! It is definitely needed in the peak dinner time rush! We love having a clean hostel for all to enjoy. Wishing you safe and happy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at habitat for 4 nights. The beds were comfy and I did meet a few good folk. Some staff are very helpful, others can be quite blunt and rude. Also We weren't allowed to use their wifi until we checked in at 2pm, we were there since 4am and that seemed a bit petty. There are plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Callum, I am sorry about the Wifi. Our Free Wifi is connected to our reservation system and your account is activated when we check you in..we cannot alter this. We do offer all early arrivals FREE r internet time on our computers as we understand that people need to get access to their emails. I... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent stay over the F1 weekend - great rates, friendly people and cheap beer. The staff really could not have done more and I found the place on the whole clean and tidy. The hostel is 20 minutes walk from Albert Park, a short tram ride/ walk into South Yarra and convenient for the CBD, with the tram stop pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. The grand Prix is a fantastic event and we look forward to having you back next year! Simone and the Habitat Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not the worst hostel but certainly not the best! Most staff are friendly and helpful but not all. The showers are always dirty! The kitchen is a mess most of the time. The rooms don't get hoovered properly. The entertainment is rubbish. It does have a decent selection of films in the tv room (if that's what you really want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Anonymous. We take all our feedback seriously. I am disappointed that your experience with us was not what the majority of of our guests have. Most people enjoy are free live music, trivia, Open Mic, Penguin guiding, Bar Crawl, free BBQ and we put a lot of effort into these events. I would have loved... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over the formula one weekend, modern clean hostel with a great atmosphere, good location only a short walk to st kilda beach and bars and then also a short stroll to Albert park so would highly recommend this hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Orobert The Grand Prix is one of the busiest, most energetic times in Melbourne and I am so please to hear you enjoyed your stay. Happy and Safe travels Simone and the Habitat Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time! Room was clean with a private bathroom. Staff is friendly and helpful. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and a tram stop to get to the city is only a 2 minute walk away. You can walk to St. Kilda Beach as well and they have free wifi to stay in contact with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you Ellen, for your great review. We hope to see you again Simone and the Habitat Team More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing hostel. really nice and helpful stuff. A lot of common areas to meet other travelers. I was only here for one night but had a really good time. The free breakfast is really nice. they serve toadt abd cereal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We hope the next time you come and stay with us for more than one night! Happy and safe travels Simone and the Habitat Team More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend was planning to stay for a week or so and then move to an apartment, instead we stayed for 4 months here while we worked. The rooms are really good, clean and good air condition, the staff are amazing, they always know how to answer your questions, and the atmosphere is really good thanks to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! It is so pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed our free inhouse activities, staff and facilities! We wish you safe travels for your next adventure! Simone and the Habitat Team More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello future travellers, I have been staying at Habitat HQ for the last month (and concurrently) and have nothing but good things to say, especially when compared to the first hostel I stayed at in Melbourne, which will remain anonymous. After travelling for two years I feel I have a firm ground for opinion. Phenomenal staff that always wears a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Julian, thank you so much for your feedback! What a great review and you summed up everything me and the Habitat Staff work really hard to pull off! Our hostel would not be the same without the fantastic team that work here, but also the great guests we are lucky enough to meet! Happy and safe travels and we hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question