We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Habitat HQ

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Habitat HQ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Graydon R London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    154
    52
    20
    3
See reviews for
17
53
171
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (439)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a start to our journey, we got to the hq and managed to check in early grab some well earned sleep after a 32 hours journey. Hq was clean staff very friendly no complaints. The location was perfect in St Kilda with a lot of bars and restaurants close by. I recommend the Elephant and Wheelbarrow pub 10min walk

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hostel with clean rooms and very helpful staff. Although you can't BYO the alcohol at the bar is cheap and nice. Met some really lovely people there from England and New York. Only criticism is it's a bit out of the city - but there is easy transport in and St Kilda is lovely and has a nice beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at habitat hq for 6 nights whilst as a solo traveler and would definitely recommend it to others. The rooms were clean and decent in hostel standards, there was a large communal area including a Internet cafe, lockers, pool table, vending machines and even a movie room with comfortable sofas! Free daily wifi was really useful for making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a fantastic time at this hostel So close to everything and very modern. The people here were very helpful and the guests were very good people. I recommend a stay. The beach is very close, and the night life is very active

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in hostels around the world and I understand first-hand what it is like to stay in a budget accomodation, but I've never stayed in a place so dirty. We payed higher than the average price of most budget Melbourne motels/hostels, yet stayed in a room that wasn't even worth $1/night. I've attached photos - dirty bed sheets (FYI... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. I will pass onto the staff that you found them extremely friendly and helpful. All feedback is essential for us to address any issues and to continue our usual high standard of accommodation. It is deeply disappointing to hear that a guest has had such a disappointing time with us and I can assure... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only initially booked in Habitat for 1 week, and ended up staying there for around 6 months! Cannot recommend it enough. What makes this place especially great and better than the others is the following: - Internet included - kitchen open until 2 am - great tv room - super friendly and helpful staff - very clean - relaxed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Yasamino thank you so much for your fantastic review! We loved having you stay with us, thank you for being such a great guest. The Habitat team wish you safe and happy travels and we hope to see you back one day Simone More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for five nights and i really enjoyed it. It's a socialble hostel with a large common area. Dorms are clean and tidy and cleaned daily. however I found it a bit odd when there Was a staff member in the kitchen while people cooked ensuring that the place was kept cleaned and washing up was done which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback Laura! We like to think that our Kitchen Cop is your mum away from home, ensuring you all do your dishes and keep the kitchen clean for all to enjoy! It is definitely needed in the peak dinner time rush! We love having a clean hostel for all to enjoy. Wishing you safe and happy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at habitat for 4 nights. The beds were comfy and I did meet a few good folk. Some staff are very helpful, others can be quite blunt and rude. Also We weren't allowed to use their wifi until we checked in at 2pm, we were there since 4am and that seemed a bit petty. There are plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Callum, I am sorry about the Wifi. Our Free Wifi is connected to our reservation system and your account is activated when we check you in..we cannot alter this. We do offer all early arrivals FREE r internet time on our computers as we understand that people need to get access to their emails. I... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent stay over the F1 weekend - great rates, friendly people and cheap beer. The staff really could not have done more and I found the place on the whole clean and tidy. The hostel is 20 minutes walk from Albert Park, a short tram ride/ walk into South Yarra and convenient for the CBD, with the tram stop pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. The grand Prix is a fantastic event and we look forward to having you back next year! Simone and the Habitat Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not the worst hostel but certainly not the best! Most staff are friendly and helpful but not all. The showers are always dirty! The kitchen is a mess most of the time. The rooms don't get hoovered properly. The entertainment is rubbish. It does have a decent selection of films in the tv room (if that's what you really want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SimoneHabitatHQ, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Anonymous. We take all our feedback seriously. I am disappointed that your experience with us was not what the majority of of our guests have. Most people enjoy are free live music, trivia, Open Mic, Penguin guiding, Bar Crawl, free BBQ and we put a lot of effort into these events. I would have loved... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question