We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 St Kilda hotels

Barkly Apartments

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Barkly Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barkly Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St Kilda
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
ygale Whitley Bay, UK
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Whitley Bay, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartments themselves are nothing flash and in places dated but the location is fantastic. Within 5 mins walk are bars and restaurants, the beach, 3 tram stops and 2 supermarkets. Everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

Went there for three nights with perents. Even though its a one room apartment they put a single bed in main room/lounge room. Its mintues walk from shops, trams, resturants, luna park, and the beach. I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We I mean I and my partner stayed there for three nights a couple weeks ago. That is a serviced apartment which contains pretty much everything that tenants need. The check-in and check-out service was really quick. The room was clean and tidy. That apartment possesses a central location in St Kilda area which means you are able to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stay here every time we come to Melbourne, the added bonus for us is we can bring our dog. There is an additional fee for cleaning, but it is a one off no matter how long you stay, and for us it is almost as cheap as using a kennel.The new owners have done an outstanding job of refurbishment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Got no signal on wifi. 5 cable channels, 3 of them fox sports, one sky news and one national geographic which didn't even work. Main heater was terrible, you'd get more warmth from a hair dryer. Maybe because it was trying to battle the freezing draft that was coming through the 2cm gap around the door. Modern kitchen was far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barkly5000, Manager at Barkly Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedbacks. You leave the room so messy and full of smoking smell, our housekeep spend 3 times work to clean your room than other rooms, and we cannot put another guest in for a week, due to the strong smoking smell. The Wifi signal in our apartments is quite strong no matter where you stand. We have... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here in April 2011 for about 4 nights. The apartment was very tiny and smelt badly of smoke. It was very noisy and we could hear traffic and pedestrians all night. It's not far from pubs and seemed to have drunks walking past yelling out randomly through the night. On the plus side it was cheap and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

just spent the weekend in melbourne for my daughters 18th and this place made my trip fuss free ...well positioned, clean, well equipped apartment and lovely staff.will definately stay there again.tram across the road , best restaurants on your doorstep, the very best cakes and coffee on acland street ...again just 2 minute walk from your room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was shabby and in need of TLC. The kitchen facilities were less than basic :/ We stayed there for 3 nights during the October break and we were less than impressed with the facilities. It should really only be a 1 star apartment. Would not recommend to anybody and we will definitely never be going back there. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barkly5000, Front Office Manager at Barkly Apartments, responded to this review

hi, we can not find your name from our booking record, and also no sydney family stayed over 3 nights on October, if you think you reviewed the right place, please contact us with your booking ID. More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A perfect place to stay. Comfortable and great location - walking distance to dynamic Acland St and surrounds and to St Kilda Beach. A whisker away from Brighton and the city of Melbourne. Agreeable and helpful hosts. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barkly Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkly Apartments

Address: 180 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barkly Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Barkly Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkly Apartments St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay