We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BASE Backpackers St Kilda

17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Grace M Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    77
    63
    28
    21
See reviews for
2
47
91
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hostel is ok, we had a room right above the bar so was noisy but not as noisy as expected! Room stank of weed (this hostel is a complete drug den) Beds were TINY!!! cant sit down on them without smacking your head on the bed above, really irritating! No other Base hostel has beds this low? Kitchen is absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found the staff to be so rude and unhelpful with very few exceptions, not exactly what you want when you have just arrived on the other side of the world and don't know anyone! But met some great people in my room. Bit expensive considering you have to pay extra for wifi, tea/coffee etc. when other hostels offer these for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you want to stay at a party hostel then this is great for you! Very loud at night and can hear doors banging and drunk people outside in the corridors. Kitchen is great though sometimes left really messy. Rooms aren't that clean and I'm not sure if the bed sheets are ever freshly changed once someone leaves as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Backpackers hostel Base was awesome. I highly recommend it, we met some great people. They really helped us getting bank accounts sorted, Oz phones and helped us getting jobs ( we had the job pack ) ... It was really good nightlife in the hostel too. Would highly reccomend base hostel. Some amazing memories there. There is computers, TV lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We appreciate you taking the time to compete this review for us, and cheers for the 5 out of 5 star rating!! So, it sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. We hope to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived and asked the guy at reception where the nearest place to get currency was. Got sent to the city and then found one just down the road. Although I knew it was a party hostel it was really noisy. I had a room at the front and every night people ended up out on the street, making a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Kim, I'm sad to hear your stay was not to your standard, here at Base we pride ourselves on providing a fun and safe environment for all our guests and when it comes to RSA and the sale of alcohol over our bar, we uphold a standard of utmost care and attention to all patrons. Unfortunately however, there are... More 

Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and i must say, regretfully, I am not its "target audience". Let me explain - Base backpackers is catered to a seemingly "young" crowd who enjoy the lifestyle of drinking, dancing and basically partying the night away. With a really "hip & happening" atmosphere with loud music and random "announcements" of happy hour promo deals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there jaemyc! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Tripadvisor is an incredibly useful tool for travelers and your input will help other travelers on deciding if they wish to stay here. Although we weren't suited to you it does seem like you enjoyed our location and our facilities. We apologise for the TV not... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I recently stayed at the Base for a weekender in Melbourne last minute. I am from Sydney, have traveled a bit and recently returned from living/working in a hostel in California. I was nicely surprised on arriving at the Base around midday Friday, was offered an early check in and shown up to the Womens only quarters. I discovered that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there Antoinette G! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a pretty great stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne for a weekender you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes... More 

Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I really can't slate the hostel because that would be totally wrong and the place has plenty of positives. The place has a good feel about it, the bar on an evening is very loud and busy. I guess this depends if that's what you're into. Unfortunately I didn't want that as I had a couple of busy days seeing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day JackHardingUK! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. Although it seems that we weren't exactly what you were looking for in a Hostel, you still appreciated our Kitchen Facilities and our $5 breakfast. We do charge for our internet however we have received comments that our premium internet is the best some people have ever... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The location is great really close to the beach and the shops, rooms are clean as are the bathrooms. But one bathroom between 8 people just does not work, they'd be better off having the big communal ones in the hall., as you are spconstanly waiting to use the bathroom. Its also a massive party hostel which is all well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there 08Kates! Thanks for leaving us a review. It's a real hit and miss with the bathrooms! Some guests appreciate the ensuite bathroom but it doesn't suit everyone which we understand. For the guests that find it inconvenient, sometimes being in a smaller dorm suits them more. Although we have something going on in the bar every night we... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for 1 week in a 4 bed dorm room with my partner. Clean and beds were comfortable. They host nightly events and its a great way to meet others. In walking distance to the beach,shops and tram. Staff are super helpful and we even booked trips with them. Would recommend xbase and would stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there Darcy G! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a banging review! We appreciate all feed back given and it sounds like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We'll hopefully see you again the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question