We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BASE Backpackers St Kilda

17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Petta N
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    81
    68
    31
    23
See reviews for
2
50
101
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From: Petta Nelson [mailto:pettanelson@hotmail.com]  Sent: Wednesday, 22 July 2015 7:32 PM To: base stkilda Subject: feedback about stay   Hi I would like to say that as an older woman staying at Base is not always easy. I am a traveller from way back and its more my insecurities than any thing else. Adam at the desk over the 4 days we stayed 17th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravisdomini, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a private double room with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom. It was clean. Some of the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful, they can arrange for you pick up bus from the hostel to the airport when you leave and when we arrived in Melbourne the bus from the airport to the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of Base within St.Kilda was great, just on the outskirts close to the beach and pier with easy links to the city via tram. I was staying with a friend from 29th May to 1st June (3nights) and were put in a sanctuary room on 3rd floor. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly, including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a private double room with double bed and private en-suite bathroom. It was very clean. I have never stayed in such a cool backpackers! BASE is definitely meant for the younger crowd. There's ear plugs in the bedroom - they regularly announce activities by speaker phone! It's not too central, but you can easily enough travel by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Disgusting place to be, didn't feel welcome or at home. No control over excessively drunk and aggressive people leaving the venue. Not a place to party or to stay. Go elsewhere... Anywhere would be better than base in St Kilda. They give St kilda a bad name

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Probably the most social hostel that I've ever stayed at, in terms on the daily activities, and the fact that the staff are all backpackers makes it a lot better atmosphere as well. Lots of people who are working outside the hostel, too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I would recommend BASE to young people looking for affordable, fun and exciting accommodation! Was the cleanest and prettiest backpackers I've seen! My friends and I really enjoyed the activities that BASE was running through out our stay as they had different themed night, through this we made friends in BASE! It was a extremely enjoyable stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I would definitely recommend this hostel. Brilliant location in St. Kilda and close to everything you need. The hostel bar is really good throughout the week and the staff were extremely friendly and reliable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

After a long bus ride from Sydney we were greeted by kind and helpful staff who allowed us to check into our room early, since they had it available already. We had a private room which came with an ensuite bathroom and balcony. The kitchen is basic and the bar is full of gap-year-ers. In Auckland we stayed at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day Helen H! Crikey! What a fantastic review! We appreciate all reviews given but reading ones likes yours really make us smile. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia Guest Services Manager BASE ST KILDA More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Great location, could be cleaner but certainly not dirty. Stayed in a private room which was small but provided what I needed a bed and a bathroom. The room was above the bar so was loud however I was out or in the bar till the early hours anyway. It is a backpackers so should be judged as one and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there Ho23l! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay, which is fantastic and what we aim for! I did however notice that you stated the cleanliness of the hostel as average which is not so good news. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay